Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Piqua High School

Public | 9-12 | 1232 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 9, 2014

I graduated from Piqua High School In May 2013. After reading some reviews I asked myself, 'are they talking about the school I went to?' Sadly most parents think the school is declining in every aspect. In reality it's not. I absolutely LOVED my 3 years at PHS (spent one year at UVJVS) I was challenged academically but I also enjoyed going to school. I never witnessed someone being bullied. Most students interact with people who aren't in the same social group. If people think Piqua is worse than Troy, Sidney, Covington, etc. then they need to open up their eyes. Yes, Piqua has some edges that need smoothed out but every school does. It's not just Piqua. By the way- I gave PHS 4/5 stars because the cafeteria food sucks. Haha.


Posted December 20, 2012

PHS is a great place which offers many experiences for students. Our son is involved in many activities which are not offered at other local high schools. Through dual enrollment students can even take Ohio Northern University courses tuition free because the district pays for it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2012

This school is going downhill fast. I have had more than one child come through this school, and frankly, it is not what it used to be. Administration runs this school like a prison - students are guilty until proven innocent, and they often talk to the kids in a demeaning way - some of the teachers do this too. Aren't they supposed to be the examples and models of respect for these kids? Programs cater to the very high or to the very low, there is little for the student who is a B-C student, all they care about are the very intelligent students and graduation rates. If they get a really great teacher, that teacher doesn't stick around too long. Ditto on the counselors, last year my child's counselor was the best counselor my child ever had, and now we find out this counselor has been replaced. I am seriously thinking about sending my child to Troy or ECOT this coming year. If things continue the way they have been at this school, we will.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2009

i just recently enrolled in piqua high school, ive been there for two days and already love it:D ..theres always someone you can stand beside to make the day go a little faster and the teachers are awesome!! if you read this mom..i broke your vase...sorry..
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 7, 2008

After reading through the reviews by many parents, I've drawn the conlusion that they have no clue what is going on in Piqua Schools. Complaints about the language of the students? Go to Troy, Covington, Sidney. Its just as bad, if not worse. Acedemically, the schools have continued to get better and better. The Science Olympiad Team from Piqua is one of the best developed, not to mentioned one that is known country-wide. The teachers in Piqua are great. Not only can they teach, but they are very easy to talk to. Everything about Piqua has gotten a lot better in the past few years, and continue to get better. So for those of you 'parents' who feel the need to criticize, get up and go see what's going on- your stereotypical responses are 'mediocre,' as some of you have said.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 23, 2008

I went to Piqua about 4 years ago. It was a great place to be, but only if you wanted it to be. The biggest problem with PHS is that if you wanted to slip between the cracks and do nothing, it was easy to do so. And I think that has only gotten worse as time has progressed. I am now a happily employed personal assisstant. I can honestly say that it was the education I received from Piqua that motivated me. However, that did come mostly from my extra-curricular activites. This is really a great school. The teachers do wonderfully with what they are provided, and with what they have to put up with daily.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 1, 2007

The academics are very good. AP classes are available. There are more activities than a student has time to participate in, if you are looking for this, come to Piqua! The NJROTC program is the most overlooked program. This is an area I feel the district could build on and provide a win win situation. This program could provide for PE credits if the district would approve it. It's a great way to work towards college. Our daughter just got $300,000 in scholarships and is not a 4.0 student! Leadership from NJROTC helped. Naval Science Rocks! As for parent involvement, I feel this is where our schools lack the most. Parents should be required to give an hour a grading period I feel there would be a huge improvement in all areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2007

I am a student at PHS. The school has come a long way since my Freshman year. The school has decent extra-curricular activities such as Science Olympiad and Show Choir. The sports teams have faired much better this academic year than in previous years. The problem with Piqua is that its citizens have accepted mediocrity for years and very few are willing to adapt to any changes that are made within the school system. Any changes are usually met with disapproval from the community. However, I have had a decent education at PHS and I believe I am prepared for college. Many of the teachers are top notch. Hopefully the schools continue to improve...
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 3, 2007

I am writing this for my student at PHS. He is a senior this year. The school has improved greatly since his Freshman year. Extra-curriculars at PHS are decent: Science Olympiad, Show Choir, NHS, Spanish Club, among others, keep students busy. The sports teams have also faired much better this academic year than in years past. However, the city of Piqua has accepted mediocrity for a long time, and few people like to adjust to change. Any change is met with disapproval from the community. The administrators need to continue to do what they know is best even if it is not popular to those in the community. Overall, he has enjoyed his time at PHS, and we hope that school Continues to improve. There are some fantastic teachers at the school though...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2006

I am not a parent of a student but.my name is sara hines and i went to piqua schools since 5th grade i pretty much failed and was a bad student my time at piqua has made me a better person.Especially the military classes it provides for the high school.I think piqua city schools are very good and will be sending my daughter there when she starts school. warmly, Sara Hines
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 17, 2006

My daughter just loves the school system of Piqua, Ohio. She loves the Piqua J. H. school. Thanks to all the staff.A dad of a proud school system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2006

To many students to teacher ratio. Not enough attention.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2005

After working as a sub at this school I decided to NEVER send my children here. There is absolutely no respect for staff the language is terrible. I read the dress code but found it funny that no one followed it. Something needs to be done about this school!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 5, 2004

This school is terrible. I just to go there and it has just gotten out of hand. This school is not safe and the teenagers here have major problems along with some of the staff. They need to realize that they aren't any better than anyone else so face it.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

262 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

263 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

261 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
75%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

260 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

258 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Graduation Test (OGT) to test students in grade 10 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. State averages displayed on public school profiles include public schools only. State averages displayed on private school profiles include private schools only. The OGT is a high school graduation requirement for public schools and chartered private schools. The OGT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
Female79%
Male84%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial67%
White83%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Disabled35%
Non-disabled92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students87%
Female84%
Male89%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial79%
White87%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabled63%
Non-disabled92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students76%
Female72%
Male78%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial70%
White76%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Disabled33%
Non-disabled85%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Social Studies

All Students79%
Female78%
Male80%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial78%
White79%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Disabled50%
Non-disabled86%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Writing

All Students78%
Female82%
Male74%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial71%
White79%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Disabled37%
Non-disabled87%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Graduation Test (OGT) to test students in grade 10 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. State averages displayed on public school profiles include public schools only. State averages displayed on private school profiles include private schools only. The OGT is a high school graduation requirement for public schools and chartered private schools. The OGT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
100 (2011)
 
96 (2010)
 
96 (2009)
 
94 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

No Value-Added data was reported for this school.

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

57%

Average ACT score

21

Graduation rate

88%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores, ACT participation (% of 11th graders taking the ACT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 74%
Two or more races 6% 4%
Black 3% 16%
Hispanic 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 2%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/A47%
Female 47%N/A49%
Male 53%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 16%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1 Indian Trl
Piqua, OH 45356
Phone: (937) 773-6314

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Covington High School
Covington, OH






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT