Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


Poland Seminary High School 4

Posted October 21, 2008
- a student
I graduated from PSHS last year and overall it was a good experience. The school is very, very safe. There are a lot of students with money, but there is a group for everyone to fit in with. One thing I didn't like was the lack of extracurricular classes. There isn't a wide variety of them and most students have a few study hall periods. The band program is excellent and the best in the area. About 1/3 of the student body is in the band and it is an excellent experience.

Poland Seminary High School 5

Posted August 28, 2008
- a parent
I have really watched my child flourish here. There is a lot of opportunity to be involved. The teachers give the students responsibility for themselves; don't treat them like children. I speak for the honors teachers. They challenge the students and encourage them to be individuals. The band program is exceptional because of the directors, students and parents. It is truly a joint effort and it shows. As for the other extra curricular activities... there are so many opportunities to be involved. The kids really support one another. When attending a game, concert or play, you'll find the non-participating students there supporting, watching and cheering on their classmates. If they win or lose a game, they join together at the end to share the win or loss and sing their alma mater. It is very touching and very encouraging. We wouldn't consider moving away.


Poland Seminary High School 0
no rating

Posted June 09, 2008
- a student
Poland isnt all it is made-out to be. I am switching this year to a catholic school because it doesn't care about the students. Poland cares about money.

Poland Seminary High School 0
no rating

Posted May 27, 2008
- a parent
Don't believe the hype this school cares more about appearance than education. The teachers do not care about teaching a paycheck is more important. My child came from a catholic school background and what a shocker. The value system is non existent and is accepted. This school is run by politics and good old boy mentality. I love the elementary schools up to 4th grade after that they go down hill. The cover ups are numerous just read 2008 vindicator and when you do bring a serious problem up they play it down. They are into protecting the school and their teachers. Do not ever think Poland Seminary school is out to help you. They did teach us one thing they can't be trusted.

Poland Seminary High School 5

Posted March 23, 2008
- a parent
Coming from a Catholic school background, i wasn't sure what to expect of a public school. Poland schools are everything their reputation says they are and more. Kids flourish here, whether their interest is in the arts, music, or sports. A true community environment.


Poland Seminary High School 1

Posted March 17, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Poland Seminary High School 5

Posted February 05, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Poland Seminary High School 1

Posted January 02, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Poland Seminary High School 5

Posted December 12, 2007
- a student
This is a great school I go there right now and I love it. Great technology and football program.

Poland Seminary High School 1

Posted September 17, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Poland Seminary High School
3199 Dobbins Rd, Poland, OH  44514
(330) 757-7018
Last modified Poland Seminary High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Poland Seminary High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 17 reviews.