Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Scioto Ridge Elementary School
Grateful to: Student

Posted October 26, 2015
- a parent
The only person I would thank at this school is daughter - for braving it out at this horrible school

Scioto Ridge Elementary School 1

Posted October 26, 2015
- a parent
I had to fight for my daughter to get the extra help she needed The principal, vice principal, counselor and my daughters 1st grade teacher were completely rude, unhelpful and unprofessional. Hated it! My kids hated it too.


Scioto Ridge Elementary School 1

Posted March 19, 2015
- a parent
One of the teachers here was absolutely instrumental in helping my daughter, who really needed an IEP, to get on the right track. The rest of them, that I encountered, at least, including the principal, vice principal, and counselor were absolutely deplorable.

Scioto Ridge Elementary School 5

Posted August 06, 2012
- a parent
I have been impressed with my son's education at SRES. He has had extremely dedicated teachers and has made incredible progress since he started kindergarten. I think the facilities are more than adequate for a public school; both outdoor and indoor spaces are well-maintained. I, too, would welcome an early-start foreign language program. That would be great! I am surpised by the comment stating that PA schools are superior. As a graduate of PA public education (K-12), I can say (at least in my opinion) that the education my son is receiving is far superior to the one I received. (I also question the superior value of PA education, given the commenter's use of "principles" vs. "principals" and the possessive form of "party" vs. the plural.)

Scioto Ridge Elementary School 1

Posted May 28, 2012
- a parent
We are really disappointed with Olentangy schools, in particular the principles and teachers are quite focused on everything but education. Leader in me is a great example - you'll get 30 pages and emails about it sent home, but good luck getting a printed report card . PTO wants money for party's they can't even have. Finally, if they ever knew how to discipline students it would be a miracle ! Everyone exaggarates and picks favorites. Most of all they can't teach to multiple student level in the same class. If you invest in programs like sylvan learning it's a waste as the teachers can't adapt the material to challenge your child they let him "hang out" and give him a good grade. I think the most embarrassing is that the gym teacher makes $107K a year and teaches 1 class. The superintendent gets a car and cell phone allowance of $950/month, and 3 weeks ago I was in Starbucks on Powell road listening to 2 teachers tell the Barista and everyone else in line how they were "done for the year"! No more home work or grading papers! They get too much time off as it is, and the US is too far behind others to waste 3 weeks. PA schools are much better and cost less!


Scioto Ridge Elementary School 5

Posted February 20, 2008
- a parent
Scioto Ridge is outstanding. Great teachers and staff. Definitely teaching what is right to our children.

Scioto Ridge Elementary School 5

Posted August 25, 2006
- a parent
I think Scioto Ridge does an excellent job academically. The teachers are incredibly dedicated. I would like to see an upgrade to some of the facilities, however. The elementary schools in Olentangy seem kind of cookie cutter and 'bare bones' to me, but this is probably one of the best elementary schools in the greater Columbus area. Additionally, I wish we could have a foreign language program that begins in kindergarten.

Scioto Ridge Elementary School 5

Posted August 10, 2006
- a parent
The acedemic programs are excellent. The staff are very attentive to even minor issues with the students. I've received staff calls regarding my childs 'positive behavior' on my cell phone. Top notch.


Scioto Ridge Elementary School 3

Posted May 30, 2006
- a parent
The accdemic program is strong The art program is wonderful Parents are involved in school

Scioto Ridge Elementary School 5

Posted April 18, 2006
- a parent
Scioto Ridge is a wonderful school. We have spent three years in this school, and we have had nothing but wonderful teachers. The one thing to worry about is redistricting. It happens a lot. We will be moved next year.

Nearby schools

Scioto Ridge Elementary School
8715 Big Bear Ave, Powell, OH  43065
(740) 657-4800
Last modified Scioto Ridge Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top