Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Powell, OH
Students enrolled: 630

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Scioto Ridge Elementary School 5

Posted August 06, 2012
- a parent
I have been impressed with my son's education at SRES. He has had extremely dedicated teachers and has made incredible progress since he started kindergarten. I think the facilities are more than adequate for a public school; both outdoor and indoor spaces are well-maintained. I, too, would welcome an early-start foreign language program. That would be great! I am surpised by the comment stating that PA schools are superior. As a graduate of PA public education (K-12), I can say (at least in my opinion) that the education my son is receiving is far superior to the one I received. (I also question the superior value of PA education, given the commenter's use of "principles" vs. "principals" and the possessive form of "party" vs. the plural.)

Scioto Ridge Elementary School 1

Posted May 28, 2012
- a parent
We are really disappointed with Olentangy schools, in particular the principles and teachers are quite focused on everything but education. Leader in me is a great example - you'll get 30 pages and emails about it sent home, but good luck getting a printed report card . PTO wants money for party's they can't even have. Finally, if they ever knew how to discipline students it would be a miracle ! Everyone exaggarates and picks favorites. Most of all they can't teach to multiple student level in the same class. If you invest in programs like sylvan learning it's a waste as the teachers can't adapt the material to challenge your child they let him "hang out" and give him a good grade. I think the most embarrassing is that the gym teacher makes $107K a year and teaches 1 class. The superintendent gets a car and cell phone allowance of $950/month, and 3 weeks ago I was in Starbucks on Powell road listening to 2 teachers tell the Barista and everyone else in line how they were "done for the year"! No more home work or grading papers! They get too much time off as it is, and the US is too far behind others to waste 3 weeks. PA schools are much better and cost less!


Scioto Ridge Elementary School 5

Posted February 20, 2008
- a parent
Scioto Ridge is outstanding. Great teachers and staff. Definitely teaching what is right to our children.

Scioto Ridge Elementary School 5

Posted August 25, 2006
- a parent
I think Scioto Ridge does an excellent job academically. The teachers are incredibly dedicated. I would like to see an upgrade to some of the facilities, however. The elementary schools in Olentangy seem kind of cookie cutter and 'bare bones' to me, but this is probably one of the best elementary schools in the greater Columbus area. Additionally, I wish we could have a foreign language program that begins in kindergarten.

Scioto Ridge Elementary School 5

Posted August 10, 2006
- a parent
The acedemic programs are excellent. The staff are very attentive to even minor issues with the students. I've received staff calls regarding my childs 'positive behavior' on my cell phone. Top notch.


Scioto Ridge Elementary School 3

Posted May 30, 2006
- a parent
The accdemic program is strong The art program is wonderful Parents are involved in school

Scioto Ridge Elementary School 5

Posted April 18, 2006
- a parent
Scioto Ridge is a wonderful school. We have spent three years in this school, and we have had nothing but wonderful teachers. The one thing to worry about is redistricting. It happens a lot. We will be moved next year.

Scioto Ridge Elementary School 3

Posted August 22, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Scioto Ridge Elementary School 5

Posted July 14, 2004
- a parent
This is a outstanding school. The principal and staff are so caring and the academic standards are very high.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Scioto Ridge Elementary School
8715 Big Bear Ave, Powell, OH  43065
(740) 657-4800
Last modified Scioto Ridge Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Scioto Ridge Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top