Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Smoky Row Children's Center El

Private | K | 18 students

Our school is best known for producing good friends who love to learn.

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Extended care

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Living in Powell

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $258,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $810.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 11 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 9, 2014

Excellent school! My two daughters love going to Smoky Row everyday. The teachers are very attentive to each student and care for each child in their classes. The class sizes are just right(not too big), so each child gets the right amount of attention. The administrative staff is very helpful with any questions or concerns and are always on hand when needed. They have a wonderful outdoor space as well as indoor play area when the weather gets bad. If your a military family like we are, they also work with the NACCRRA program which is always a plus! The facilities are kept very clean and neat. I would highly recommend Smoky Row to any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

Smoky Row is without a doubt the BEST of its kind! 30 years and still going strong. A wonderful owner and leadership, and the best teachers in the city!!! Turnover is very low, and I know kids in their 20s who still go back to visit their kindergarten teacher! My son attended preschool for 2 years (both teachers had masters degrees), and is currently in kindergarten (with the BEST of the best educators). The education is top notch! And the care, love and concern for each child is amazing... communication with parents also earns 5 stars. My son and I have been greatly blessed by Smoky Row and I shout it throughout the land!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

My daughter has been attending Smoky Row Children's Center for 2 years. I am absolutely confident each day that she is getting the best care and education. Their reputation has been this way for years and that is why. Teachers are consistent stay.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

I can't say enough good things about this school. Low staff turnover and consistent leadership have been highlights in having my 4 children go through the program. I highly recommend to anyone considering daycare for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

Smoky Row Children's Center Was highly recommended by family. 2 of my girls spent ages 3 months-7 years of their lives LOVING this amazing school. Teachers are experienced, involved, connected. They learned so much! There was never a negative moment. God bless this institution, the teachers, and Judy, the founder/owner. Such a sweet team! You'd be lucky to get in!! :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

We have been with Smoky Row Children s Center for over 5 years and cannot say enough positive things about the staff, learning environment and the owner. We cannot thank them enough for all they have done for us and most importantly, our children. We all want the best for our children and this facility is simply the best, warmest, and most trustworthy environment. The staff and owner are always finding new ways for infants, toddlers, pre-schoolers and kindergartners to learn and develop. The staff values professional development, accreditation, low turnover and most importantly my child s development. Many of the staff that have worked together for over 20+ years in the same facility! The best part is that I do not worry throughout the day because I know they are safe, happy and taken care of. I recommend this place to all my friends and family. Thanks for everything you do SRCC.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

I had my daughter at Smoky Row Children's Center for two years prior to Kindergarten. The teachers were fantastic. The program was play based but my daughter sailed into Kindergarten with confidence and knowledge that she gained at Smoky Row. Her Kindergarten teacher remarked that she could tell where my daughter went to preschool, "Smoky Row, of course". The staff and administration are very helpful. I recommend Smoky Row to anyone that wants quality care and education for their child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

I could not have picked a better school to send my young children. Some parents think of the "early years" as daycare. This is not the case at all at Smoky Row. It is a full fledged school from day one. Both of my children started there as infants. I feel my children are better prepared, than most other children, as they transition from Smoky Row to their perspective schools. Most of the teachers have college degrees with specialization on child education and child psychology, etc... I would reccomend this school to any parent looking for that jump start for their kids!! It is really a great school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

We have 2 children that have been enrolled at Smoky Row since the infant room. We have been thrilled with the teachers and administration. The staff was willing to meet with us and accommodate our needs. It is not a brand new state of the art facility, but that is not why we are enrolled at Smoky Row. We love it because the teachers are outstanding and have been on staff for several years. Most importantly, our children love it there too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2014

I echo the concerns of a few previous reviewers. Despite waiting over a year to get into Smoky Row, I took my child out and enrolled him in another center in the area because of my concerns with management. The owner -- and anyone in charge, really -- is notoriously unavailable and unresponsive. Most times, the front desk and phones are unmanned and no one returns phone calls. The quickest response I ever received, from an email no less, was when I withdrew my child. Even in my communication with the teachers, I was disappointed in the lack of face-to-face contact, instead relying on a system of "notes." I was sold on Smoky Row's longstanding reputation and teacher tenure, but quickly found those same qualities as downsides when it came to progressiveness and flexibility/compromise. The facility and outdoor area needs refreshing, as well as the 30-year-old literature they distribute. The teachers are very willing to provide advice, and not so willing to listen to/carry out individual parenting wishes - resulting in an overall poor customer service experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2014

My child started at Smoky row at age 12 weeks and attended through 4 years old. The teachers are amazing at each level (infant/toddler/preschool) however, I agree with the other reviewer - administration is extremely poor. They struggle with properly communicating with their families and when they do it is sloppy and unprofessional. After many happy years at Smoky Row our child wasn't accepted into their kindergarten program, so we moved to another school immediately. There is NO loyalty given to families that have been with them for years for their kindergarten program (no matter what they tell you), no accommodations at all which to us is a horrible way to conduct business. Please take this into consideration before starting your child as an infant/toddler. If you are in the Olentangy school district you'll want to evaluate your kindergarten options due to the wonky schedule. In hindsight we are SO glad he didn't get into their school (even though we miss his friends/families) and was enrolled in the public school - Scioto Ridge Elem - because the staff are absolutely wonderful and nurturing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2013

I would have rated this as 5 star based on the teachers alone UNFORTUNATELY you have to work with the administration and they are horrible. They are unfriendly and not willing to assist with anything. I have called the center on several occasions only to receive a voicemail and never a return call. When the owner retires (should be any day now) this place is going to go to shambles with current admin. Stay away if possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2013

Smoky Row Children's Center is a great Center. Teachers have degree in ECD and have a long work history at the Center.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2009

I can't say enough about the school. My daughter attended the school for one school year. The teachers were fantastic! They were kind and nurturing with the children, and very attentive. There was focus on education and kindergarten preparation; kindness and tolerance; and safety and healthy habits. There were weekly 'cooking' projects, several field trips, and weekly sharing time. My daughter is now attending Kindergarten in Olentangy Schools and I can definately see the benefits of her Smoky Row time. Between my children, we have been involved in three preschools - Smoky Row was hands down the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2008

My daughter went there for a year. The staff was nice, but I found they weren't able to keep up with her needs. She's highly advanced for her age intellectually and had special emotional needs as a result. They passed her off as a difficult child with behavioral problems. She went on to Kindergarten in the Worthington School district and excelled with absolutely NO sign of any behavioral issues. She is now starting first grade with the possibility of testing out and going to 2nd. Smokey Row is a great school for 'normal' children. The price can't be beat either!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2008

The teachers are long term and they really care about the children. I feel they are like family. The summer program for the kids is a little less structured and needs more activities. The pre-school is amazing. I believe my son is the wonderful person he is because of the teachers. They teach getting along with people and that is the most important thing to learn when you are pre-school age rather then your academics, however, they do a great job with that too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2006

Awesome teachers and so much more than just learning academics....kids learn concepts and kindness in a most appropriate way. Teachers work with parents and children on an individual basis.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:00 am
School end time
  • 6:00 pm
School Leader's name
  • Lora C. Ackerman
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • Infant
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAEYC
Fax number
  • (614) 888-3599

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Hybrid
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Project-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Present special topics during curricular units
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


7 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
18
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
27

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$7000 - $8000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
No.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Tyler Run
Olde Sawmill
Liberty Park
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8615 Smoky Row Road
Powell, OH 43065
Website: Click here
Phone: (614) 766-2122

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT