Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-8
Public
Shaker Heights, OH
Students enrolled: 800
Before care: No
After care: No

4 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Shaker Heights Middle School 5

Posted November 21, 2012
- a parent
My daughter had a fabulous experience at Shaker Middle School. She is currently a freshman at Shaker Heights High School. Academically and socially, the middle school prepared her well for high school. She went from being rather shy and quiet in 6th grade to blossoming and thriving socially at the middle school. She participated in field hockey, lacrosse, swim team, flute choir, band and science olympiad. The classes at the middle school are quite rigorous- she earned Spanish 1 and Algebra 1 high school credits while at the middle school.
1 person found this helpful

Shaker Heights Middle School 5

Posted November 19, 2012
- a parent
My 8th grader is having a great experience at Shaker Middle School. Her teachers really seem to understand what kids need at this difficult age. They are truly compassionate, have a good sense of humor, and find ways to keep the students engaged by meeting them at their level, while challenging them to do their best work. My daughter has really enjoyed the band program, loves studying Latin, and has taken advantage of a lot of after school clubs - swimming (even though not a serious swimmer), Power of the Pen (creative writing), Flute choir, Latin club, and the fall play. There seems to be no limit to the amount of interest things the kids can do, and they are all encouraged to try something new.
1 person found this helpful


Shaker Heights Middle School 3

Posted March 29, 2011
- a community member
I am currently a 7th Grader at this school and this is the worst year i've had.......There have been so many fights and arguements and all they do is suspend the students, they need to EXPELL the students....And when there is a fight all the teachers do is get the sercurity guard......The kids are so mean....I probley have the best teachers in this school right now because they actually care about me getting out of this grade and passing the OAAs and yet the students here are disrepectful to these teachers i have. Other than that the Music Program is very excellent......and they give us very good study habits and work but the students are just........Terrible they make the scores go down thats why were not in the top ten anymore shaker has lost its motivation......Shaker can become the golden school again if they make the effort to try. I'm not trying to Bash Shaker....I love my City but....it's just falling apart now to me.

Shaker Heights Middle School 4

Posted April 23, 2010
- a parent
Great bands and music, good extra-cirricula activities yet still a middle school with hormone-challenged students. Instruction options are excellent if you can keep your child engaged and focused. I wish the office was a little more welcoming to parents and more responsive. Some great teachers who really engage students.
1 person found this helpful

Shaker Heights Middle School 5

Posted December 13, 2009
- a parent
Amazing! the music department is incredible. They play high school level songs in the band. I highly recommend it!
1 person found this helpful


Shaker Heights Middle School 5

Posted September 17, 2009
- a community member
The teachers are dedicated and truly interested in the students. They are there for the students and keep the parents involved as much as they can.

Shaker Heights Middle School 0
no rating

Posted May 01, 2009
- a parent
the Shaker Middle School is a great place for this age. They are given a lot of responsibilities and also a lot of freedoms. They are well prepared for high school.

Shaker Heights Middle School 5

Posted March 25, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Shaker Heights Middle School 1

Posted March 21, 2009
- a student
I am currently an eighth grader at the middle school and i am dissatisfied with my time spent here. The teachers stray off topic alot and aren't very creative or dedicated in their approach to teaching ; rather choosing to have us read a textbook and learn material ourselves. There are fights and problems all the time but the discipline is definitely there, so thats a plus in some ways, but punishments for rule beaks can often be over the top or plain inconsistent. While in the school, i feel a general attititude of little motivation.The new 'sweep' program, where if you're late to class you're stopped in the hallway and have to write a letter home explaining to your parents why you were late, just takes even more time from class and is a waste of paper. In all, the middle school is very weak compared to shaker's standards.
1 person found this helpful

Shaker Heights Middle School 0
no rating

Posted March 06, 2009
- a student
i have enjoyed the Shaker middle School, but it is very challenging and there could be more one-on-one sturent teacher help.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Shaker Heights Middle School
20600 Shaker Blvd, Shaker Heights, OH  44122
(216) 295-4100
Last modified Shaker Heights Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Shaker Heights Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top