Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Shaker Heights Middle School 2

Posted March 24, 2016
- a student
I dislike this school,because the system is really messed up and corrupt in my opinion.I got "accused" of throwing paper by a teacher when was no paper thrown and she threatend ATS!And another thing is if I make a report about a teacher nothing happens...but when a teacher writes me up it's an automactic punishment.Not to mention the school design is horrible stuff leaks everywhere,snow and ice grow through the windows,and there are repairmen everywhere shining lights around the classroom sometime "blinding" students.This school overall is horrible.

Shaker Heights Middle School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
Communication is key. Some teaching teams are great in leveraging homework, while in others it is apparent that the team teachers need to be aware who's giving homework when. The principal has been open to rectifying the situation.


Shaker Heights Middle School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
The school develops compassion and empathy in the community programs it offers to its students through various charitable fundraisers, participating in the community, and how to think from a global perspective, all a part of the IB Programme.

Shaker Heights Middle School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
The Middle School, like its counterparts within the district, uses the mission statements of the Interbaccalaureate program to promote honesty, integrity and fairness through its curriculum and the expectations it has towards its students.

Shaker Heights Middle School 4

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
My older daughter is in 8th grade, and doing very well. A normally introverted student, she is thriving academically and socially. For gifted students, the academic challenges are high. The music program is rigorous, and provides a great discipline and artistic outlet for students who participate. Unlike my own school district, Shaker Schools will even freely loan instruments to students who cannot afford instrument rentals. No system is perfect, and the Middle School has its challenges, but overall, the parents, and a new, engaging principal are making strides to improve the school's weaknesses. Teaching adolescents is tough, but Shaker is taking a proactive stance to make improvements.


Shaker Heights Middle School 5

Posted November 21, 2012
- a parent
My daughter had a fabulous experience at Shaker Middle School. She is currently a freshman at Shaker Heights High School. Academically and socially, the middle school prepared her well for high school. She went from being rather shy and quiet in 6th grade to blossoming and thriving socially at the middle school. She participated in field hockey, lacrosse, swim team, flute choir, band and science olympiad. The classes at the middle school are quite rigorous- she earned Spanish 1 and Algebra 1 high school credits while at the middle school.

Shaker Heights Middle School 5

Posted November 19, 2012
- a parent
My 8th grader is having a great experience at Shaker Middle School. Her teachers really seem to understand what kids need at this difficult age. They are truly compassionate, have a good sense of humor, and find ways to keep the students engaged by meeting them at their level, while challenging them to do their best work. My daughter has really enjoyed the band program, loves studying Latin, and has taken advantage of a lot of after school clubs - swimming (even though not a serious swimmer), Power of the Pen (creative writing), Flute choir, Latin club, and the fall play. There seems to be no limit to the amount of interest things the kids can do, and they are all encouraged to try something new.

Shaker Heights Middle School 3

Posted March 29, 2011
- a community member
I am currently a 7th Grader at this school and this is the worst year i've had.......There have been so many fights and arguements and all they do is suspend the students, they need to EXPELL the students....And when there is a fight all the teachers do is get the sercurity guard......The kids are so mean....I probley have the best teachers in this school right now because they actually care about me getting out of this grade and passing the OAAs and yet the students here are disrepectful to these teachers i have. Other than that the Music Program is very excellent......and they give us very good study habits and work but the students are just........Terrible they make the scores go down thats why were not in the top ten anymore shaker has lost its motivation......Shaker can become the golden school again if they make the effort to try. I'm not trying to Bash Shaker....I love my City but....it's just falling apart now to me.


Shaker Heights Middle School 4

Posted April 23, 2010
- a parent
Great bands and music, good extra-cirricula activities yet still a middle school with hormone-challenged students. Instruction options are excellent if you can keep your child engaged and focused. I wish the office was a little more welcoming to parents and more responsive. Some great teachers who really engage students.

Shaker Heights Middle School 5

Posted December 13, 2009
- a parent
Amazing! the music department is incredible. They play high school level songs in the band. I highly recommend it!

Nearby schools

Shaker Heights Middle School
20600 Shaker Blvd, Shaker Heights, OH  44122
(216) 295-4100
Last modified Shaker Heights Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top