Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
40 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 45 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Shaker Heights High School 5

Posted November 05, 2015
- a parent
My junior has been challenged and is excelling in her 4 AP classes so far. She loves the German coursework and the fantastic coaching on the cross country team! The facilities are great and staff are incredibly well educated! My freshman has found her niche in honors classes and the superb band program. Can't imagine a more well rounded, diverse high school than Shaker Heights HS. We have thought highly of the elementary and middle school, but the high school is fantastic!

Shaker Heights High School 1

Posted August 29, 2013
- a parent
The repuation that Shaker Heights has "excellent" schools is clearly a myth.The high school and middle school are prime examples of the failure of this school system. The small minority of good kids who want to succeed have to navigate daily fights and violence, crude and disrespecful behavior. Standards for behavior are very low. The teachers and administrators seem to be very unhappy and overwhelmed and are rarely helpful. Their advice to the parents is "stay involved" which is their way of saying "we can't really handle everything that's going on in this school, beware". When you try to get involved as a parent you are met with resistance every time. Homework is everything that they don't cover in class, so be prepared for at least 4-7 hours of homework (everynight) and to be a part time teacher. For a school system that receives approximately 80 percent of the highest city tax revenues in the state of Ohio, this should be an outstanding school. Residents are basically paying private school tuition for 3rd rate inner city education. One has to question the financial integrity of this school system. Poor school quality is the number one reason for people moving OUT of Shaker.


Shaker Heights High School 4

Posted June 21, 2013
- a student
I really like the high school. I feel like I fit in since everyone can fit in depending on what they do (music, theatre, sports, etc...) The teachers seem like they care (most). I think the work can be a lot but I know they're just preparing us for college. There are fights sometimes and it's a little obvious that there needs to be renovation but it's pretty good.

Shaker Heights High School 5

Posted November 14, 2012
- a student
This school offers a wide range of opportunities! Languages! Clubs! Classes! There is no school like it! The school loves to see students challenging themselves. The guidance department is also very strong. The teachers are almost always there after school and even if a student is struggling in a class, they're very open to helping them through. They also have the tutoring center and study circles open if you're teacher has to leave. It is a great school.

Shaker Heights High School 5

Posted June 04, 2011
- a community member
Shaker Heights High School has more AP classes (23) and foreign languages (6) than any other public school in Cuyahoga county. In addition, the school is the only public school in the county with the rigorous International Baccalaureate Programme.


Shaker Heights High School 2

Posted February 02, 2011
- a student
this school sucks. i just moved here from out of state and was exited to go here because everyone was telling me how amazing the school is, but it;s not. most teachers (or at least the ones i have) don't care they ether yell wt you because the class isn't doing very well or just give up. the students are ether in lower level classes and don't seem to care or in AP classes and are overwhelmed with everything they have to do (4hr of home work plus 5 hr of extracurricular activities) and think there life will end if they don't get at least a 4.0 and there is not much mixing of the two. they pride themselves on the variety of classes but it is not that good. at my old school i was exited to go to school but here i hate it. so don't make the same mistake i did and think this school is awesome; because if you have ever lived outside the are you will see just how bad it is.

Shaker Heights High School
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
We love this school. It offers a wide variety of courses at many levels. The music department is like none other. The student body reflects the real world with so much diversity. You won't find too many schools like this. It serves everyone.

Shaker Heights High School 3

Posted March 23, 2010
- a student
I really love the Extracurricular activities at this school. Some teachers though seem to care about the students while others don't. A lot of teachers are nice teachers but don't always teach well. I really like the Theatre Program is amazing! I don't really enjoy the student body. I've been to other schools and have seen better students.


Shaker Heights High School 5

Posted September 18, 2009
- a parent
They care about the students and their education while providing all the avenues for success, all the student has to do is show up and do their part toward gaining a great education. There has been many famous successful people who are Shaker graduates and I am proud that my child is a part of the Shaker Heights School System.

Shaker Heights High School 5

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
What's not to like ? Dedicated, experienced, award winning teachers, who are responsive to individual learning styles, individualized curriculum, 6+ foreign languages, 25 or so AP/IB classes (that the majority of students actually do take), nationally recognized fine arts programs, sports and clubs galore, leading National Merit/Achievement and Ivy League placement in the state (public or private), and a widely diverse and multifaceted student body. It's amazing, and a source of great pride for the community.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Shaker Heights High School
15911 Aldersyde Dr, Shaker Heights, OH  44120
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 45 reviews. (216) 295-4200
Last modified Shaker Heights High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top