Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Shaker Heights, OH
Students enrolled: 1,735
Before care: No
After care: No

5 stars
Based on 37 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


42 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Shaker Heights High School 4

Posted June 21, 2013
- a student
I really like the high school. I feel like I fit in since everyone can fit in depending on what they do (music, theatre, sports, etc...) The teachers seem like they care (most). I think the work can be a lot but I know they're just preparing us for college. There are fights sometimes and it's a little obvious that there needs to be renovation but it's pretty good.

Shaker Heights High School 5

Posted November 14, 2012
- a student
This school offers a wide range of opportunities! Languages! Clubs! Classes! There is no school like it! The school loves to see students challenging themselves. The guidance department is also very strong. The teachers are almost always there after school and even if a student is struggling in a class, they're very open to helping them through. They also have the tutoring center and study circles open if you're teacher has to leave. It is a great school.


Shaker Heights High School 5

Posted June 04, 2011
- a community member
Shaker Heights High School has more AP classes (23) and foreign languages (6) than any other public school in Cuyahoga county. In addition, the school is the only public school in the county with the rigorous International Baccalaureate Programme.

Shaker Heights High School 2

Posted February 02, 2011
- a student
this school sucks. i just moved here from out of state and was exited to go here because everyone was telling me how amazing the school is, but it;s not. most teachers (or at least the ones i have) don't care they ether yell wt you because the class isn't doing very well or just give up. the students are ether in lower level classes and don't seem to care or in AP classes and are overwhelmed with everything they have to do (4hr of home work plus 5 hr of extracurricular activities) and think there life will end if they don't get at least a 4.0 and there is not much mixing of the two. they pride themselves on the variety of classes but it is not that good. at my old school i was exited to go to school but here i hate it. so don't make the same mistake i did and think this school is awesome; because if you have ever lived outside the are you will see just how bad it is.

Shaker Heights High School 0
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
We love this school. It offers a wide variety of courses at many levels. The music department is like none other. The student body reflects the real world with so much diversity. You won't find too many schools like this. It serves everyone.


Shaker Heights High School 5

Posted May 09, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Shaker Heights High School 3

Posted March 23, 2010
- a student
I really love the Extracurricular activities at this school. Some teachers though seem to care about the students while others don't. A lot of teachers are nice teachers but don't always teach well. I really like the Theatre Program is amazing! I don't really enjoy the student body. I've been to other schools and have seen better students.

Shaker Heights High School 5

Posted September 18, 2009
- a parent
They care about the students and their education while providing all the avenues for success, all the student has to do is show up and do their part toward gaining a great education. There has been many famous successful people who are Shaker graduates and I am proud that my child is a part of the Shaker Heights School System.


Shaker Heights High School 5

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
What's not to like ? Dedicated, experienced, award winning teachers, who are responsive to individual learning styles, individualized curriculum, 6+ foreign languages, 25 or so AP/IB classes (that the majority of students actually do take), nationally recognized fine arts programs, sports and clubs galore, leading National Merit/Achievement and Ivy League placement in the state (public or private), and a widely diverse and multifaceted student body. It's amazing, and a source of great pride for the community.

Shaker Heights High School 5

Posted June 07, 2009
- a parent
My three children have gotten an excellent education at this school. Sure, taxes are high but in our minds there is no place like Shaker. It prepares students for the real world with all types of pressures, situations and people. The administration is aware of problems. But what school doesn't have them? Keep doing what your doing, Shaker. We are pleased!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Shaker Heights High School
15911 Aldersyde Dr, Shaker Heights, OH  44120
(216) 295-4200
Last modified Shaker Heights High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Shaker Heights High School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. Top