Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kenwood Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 400 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 15, 2013

The principle at Kenwood is not very professional nor does she care about the well being of the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2012

My daughter loves Kenwood. I don't believe any school is perfect, but I believe most of the staff do there best. I appreciate the principal standing outside as the students are brought to school. To me it shows she cares. My daughter has only had one teacher that I wasn't impressed with, but she is getting good grades and seems to get the help she needs. Her dad and I are active in making sure she is getting the teaching she needs at school and at home. Some of her learning is up to us as parents. Thanks to all the staff at Kenwood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2009

My daughter loves Kenwood. Her teacher, Ms. Orwick is very helpful and has always talked with me when it is needed. Those in authority are not the only ones responsible for our children, we as parents need to accept our responsibility. I am glad I made the decision to send my daughter to Kenwood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2008

My son loves going to this school, he cant wait till the school year starts again. His teacher was great and seemed to really care about her students. We haven't had any problems with this school, in fact I am happy to say that my child is going to this school. He went to a county school for kindergarden and started Kenwood in the first grade and likes kenwood better. He has never gotten in trouble and always has outstanding grades. I dont really think it matters on the school or district that your child attends, but rather the amount of involvement the parent has in the child's education. You cant expect to send your kid to go to school and the teacher to do everything, you have to read to your child, listen to him read, and help with homework. Its called being a parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2005

I am not happy with school, when my daugther came home from school a couple of times stating that she was not allowed to go to the bathroom. She has had lunch money stolen from her, in which the school didn't do anything about. when my daugther got sick in school; I didn't get a call until the lady from the lunchroom called my cell. This is not Acceptable. My daugther has chronic Asmatha. and will be out during the school months so, I think this school needs to shape up; this is a school not a military base. Our children are left unattended And was not told of this until my daugther's grandmother told me of this. This should not continue.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2004

Favortism in the school and no extra help without a fight. Principal does not follow through with plans. Do not like the school system. New school with no leaders.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
35%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
31%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students70%
Female63%
Male82%
Black, non-Hispanic82%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled74%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students80%
Female75%
Male86%
Black, non-Hispanic73%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled84%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students37%
Female35%
Male40%
Black, non-Hispanic30%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White37%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled40%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students54%
Female58%
Male50%
Black, non-Hispanic30%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled56%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students37%
Female46%
Male28%
Black, non-Hispanic36%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White33%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled40%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students57%
Female58%
Male56%
Black, non-Hispanic64%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled61%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students43%
Female46%
Male40%
Black, non-Hispanic36%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White42%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled49%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students58%
Female58%
Male59%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled69%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students65%
Female74%
Male59%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled77%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

In 2010-2011, this school received an Overall Rating of "Met Expected Growth".

Math

Reading

Grade 4AboveMet
Grade 5MetBelow
Grade 6MetMet

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
80 (2011)
 
76 (2010)
 
73 (2009)
 
71 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value-added estimates from the state of Ohio.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 74%
Black 14% 16%
Two or more races 10% 4%
Hispanic 6% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 2%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 95%N/A47%
Female 48%N/A49%
Male 52%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 10%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Vicki L. Hudepohl
Fax number
  • (937) 324-9721

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1421 Nagley St
Springfield, OH 45505
Phone: (937) 505-4220

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Nightingale Montessori
Springfield, OH


Mann Elementary School
Springfield, OH



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT