Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Catholic Central High School

Private | 7-12 | 358 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Springfield

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $47,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $630.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 20, 2010

I have two children that have graduated from Central. Central is absolutely the best choice in the Springfield area. Pay no attention to the negative comments posted here. Come see for yourself!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2010

Catholic Central is one of the best schools in the region and state. After just moving into the area, I can honestly say that Catholic Central is the best school that my children have been a part of. The teachers and administration are doing wonderful things. Why would their enrollment grow at rates not seen in most other schools unless they were committeed to doing things well. Problems? What school doesn't? But the positive, challenging environment allows all students to be prepared for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2010

Catholic Central emphasizes sports over academics, does not offer a variety of classes, especially in the arts, and overlooks underage drinking at both school-sponsored and private events. For example, at one school-sponsored fund raiser, students were taken out of class to unload beer trucks for the event! Students coming from wealthy families (i.e., donors to the school or church) were regularly overlooked for disciplinary action due to their families financial influence. The school leadership is also close-minded and bigoted toward minorities and any persons not conforming to its idea of racial, ethnic, and religious ideals. It may be the best high school is Springfield, Ohio, but that's not saying much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2008

I go to catholic central . The simple presence of the lord is enough to make you want to never leave.Our small classes allow us one on one. At south vienna school you were afraid of being to smart to nice or under dressed.Thats why theres uniforms. I feel comfertable asking questions in class and getting good grades. The teaching staff is very helpful i have many friends and ge in petty fights over guys and teachers help. The mass we attened is special and a time to relax. I very strongly reccomend this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 12, 2008

As a graduate of Catholic Central I think I got a better education than if I attended a public school. I was ahead of the other students when I attended college. Education was a much higher than the public schools at the time I attended.


Posted May 22, 2008

This school is not up to par with what it claims. Yes the smaller size of the school could and should lend and be an advantage but it actually is a negative. Because of the small size the school cannot offer the higher level classes and the ones they do are more open to people who are underachievers. The administrative section of the school is SEVERELY lacking and the discipline and school culture is atrocious. While a student there I experianced several strange events that I will not cite here but that were extreme enough to warrent me switching schools. Overall I had a very bad experiance at Catholic Central and would NOT recommend it to anyone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 9, 2007

Great school, education is the top priority and it's very small so every student gets the attention they need
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 77%
Black 7% 19%
Hispanic 7% 3%
Asian 1% N/A
Two or more races 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Patrick L. Finneran
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (937) 328-7426

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Cincinnati
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1200 E High St
Springfield, OH 45505
Phone: (937) 325-9204

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Nightingale Montessori
Springfield, OH




Schaefer Middle School
Springfield, OH



Springfield-Clark County
Springfield, OH


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT