Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Ridgewood School

Private | K-8 | 104 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Springfield

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $83,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $700.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 27, 2013

Ridgewood School is an excellent private school for those looking for a close-knit and family-like school. The academic standards at Ridgewood are outstanding, particularly in math, social studies, music, and art.


Posted January 24, 2010

I have been atending ridgewood for 6 years my time here has been great! they have a wide veriety of extra curricular activities such as chess club science olmpiad skating ect.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 26, 2009

The family support at Ridgewood School is what makes our school so special. Students come to school prepared to learn. Small class sise and a safe enviroment sets Ridgewood apart from all the rest. It is a wonderful beginning for students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2009

We have had one child attend Ridgewood from Kindergarten to 8th grade and would not consider another school in the area. An excellent curriculum; a qualified, capable, compassionate, and challenging faculty; and the partnership that is fostered between parents and teachers and students and teachers creates an overwhelmingly positive environment for students to thrive and advance. Our second child is currently at the school and we feel the same now that we did with our first child. There is no better, safer, more intellectually stimulating school in our area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2009

Excellent. Best school inarea. Great teachers and conducive atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2009

Ridgewood provides an excellent environmet for children to reach their potential. With great teachers, small class sizes and an excellent administration, Ridgewood stands out above all the rest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2009

My children have been attending Ridgewood for a few years. I have seen a change over in staff that caused some turmoil in the school. I believe change can be a good thing. This school is just awesome! My children love it and so do I. The winter play put on by the upper level students is better than anything you will ever see at a high school. The great thing about it is students participating probably never would get the chance to do this in a public school. At Ridgewood, they can really be themselves without fear of anyone making fun of them. Ridgewood offers far more than just a great curriculum and small class room sizes. At this school, your child really has a chance to develop, to broaden his or her horizon by trying different things like acting or singing in front of everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2009

At Ridgewood, my children have had a chance to grow, excel and be accepted in a safe and academically challenging learning environment. The small class sizes have allowed them more one on one time with teachers and a chance to participate and shine in activities that maybe only a few could participate in larger schools. I know when my children graduate from Ridgewood they will be very prepared for highschool.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2008

It is the best school available in Clark County. It has excellent academic and extra-curricular activities. The emphasis is on the total development of children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2008

Ridgewood provides an outstanding learning environment with caring teachers and staff. The classroom size allows for more personal attention to the invividual needs of each student. The experience has been so positive that our children love going to school everyday!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2008

Very good school. High academic standards. Family like atmosphere. Small class size-17 pupils max. Soft on discipline, but usually not needed with the type of student that attends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2007

Ridgewood is the oldest private elementary day school in Ohio. The teachers are dedicated and the classes are quite small. The children are in an a special place that is conducive to learning. The parents are really involved with the school. A number of children have gone on to very selective schools all over the country. The Ridgewood graduates are at the very top of the local high schools too. Given the situation with the local public schools, some Ridgewood classes are full. There is an emphasis on writing and speaking which serves the students well the rest of their academic careers. Ridgewood is not for everyone, but for those children and their parents who really understand the value of education and who are willing to work hard, Ridgewood is the stepping stone to excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2007

The quality of the academic programs at Ridgewood are above and beyond any other programs which I have been a part of at other schools. Teachers strive for goals not met by public schools. Music, art, and other programs are on hand for the children which include chess, computer classes, science clubs, and more. I would however like to see sports and other clubs offered to the children. Parents are very involved with our children. Ridgewood is a wonderful environment for children, the parents, and the staff.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 7, 2007

Overall superior to the city schools, but academic quality has declined in recent years as some senior staff have left. Strenghts: math, music, science. Other subjects are adequate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2007

While academic quality is , I believe higher than the city schools, the emphasis on image and competition sometimes impedes genuine learning. Programs remaining strong -- math, science and art. Significant parental involvement is a strength in extracururiculars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2007

I find it interesting a review of this school would be so negative. There are so many afterschool activities and events that my second grader enjoys from computer to chess club to afterschool gym games. The five star rating is correct. This school is terrific. Every single parent cares about their children's education and it's nice to be surrounded by that. Also, I really enjoy how welcoming the environment is to parents. You are encouraged to attend and be a part of this school. And if you don't have time, it's okay, too. The diversity, both economic and social, makes for a well-rounded child. You will love it here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2007

This school is the best private school in Springfield. They have a high level of participation in parents and teachers. The teachers are of the highest quality. The programs are unmatched (foreign language for all, starting in 4th grade; also daily science and social studies, hands-on science, biweekly art/music/computer/phys.ed./library for all (even in Kdgtn.); excellence in Science Fairs, Spelling Bees, Geography Bees, Power of the Pen, and Science Olympiad. Ridgewood turns out the top students for all area high schools (including 7 out of the last 10 valedictorians at NHS alone). SAT scores consistently indicate Ridgewood students place well ahead of grade level (grades 1-4 test 2 to 3 years ahead of level and grades 5-8 perform 4 to 5 yrs. ahead of level on average). This school also encourages music and public speaking skills. It is unmatched in Springfield!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2007

The extracurricualar activites are miniscule. The only extracurricualr activites that they have are Science Olympiad. The discipline is miniscule.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 49% 77%
Asian 35% N/A
Black 12% 19%
Hispanic 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Jeanne Kunay
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (937) 399-8173

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2420 Saint Paris Pike
Springfield, OH 45504
Website: Click here
Phone: (937) 399-8900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Kenton Elementary School
Springfield, OH


Maiden Lane Educare
Springfield, OH





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT