Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Wells Academy 5

Posted November 01, 2014
- a parent
Outstanding staff. I was blown away the first day my kids attended. Teachers that LOVE what they do and honestly want what's best for their students even after the school year is over. Teachers collaborate what worked for them with returning students. We have had 4 kids attend and we couldn't be happier.

Wells Academy 5

Posted January 01, 2013
- a parent
Any school is a community aimed at learning and cultural, moral and (in some cases religious) formation of children. Parents alone are ultimately accountable for the learning and formation (education) of their children. As a public school, Wells offers no religious formation, but in the years our child has been there (2009, Pre-School to 2013, 2nd Grade) Wells has had a Character education program and used appropriate behavior management tools to foster individual accountability (attendance, homework completion, focus in class) and responsibility to others (helping another learn, positive regard for others). One of the keys to the school success is the SFA Curriculum with Scott Forsmann Reading Street. The block schedule allows all students to progress as fast and far as they are able in reading, which also allows focused smaller group attention on students behind. As others have said, Wells still fosters the Arts with Music and Visual Art education for all students. In 2012 the Governor spoke at Wells (in part) because each and every child scored above grade level on the standardized tests. That "outcome" is good, but better is the professionalism of staff enabling it.


Wells Academy 5

Posted October 28, 2012
- a parent
Wonderful school, great staff including a competent principal. All the staff seem to be well qualified and caring. The school as a good academic program, music and arts also. Good structure and discipline for the students and most importantly my child loves it there!

Wells Academy 5

Posted April 08, 2010
- a parent
Great school I wish every child could go to a school like Wells.

Wells Academy 5

Posted November 11, 2007
- a parent
I am teacher at Wells. I also have two children who attend Wells. I have never woke up and felt like I did not want to go to work. It is an honor to work there and have my children attend. Our students receive the best education from all of the 'highly qualified' staff members in our building. Our Fine Arts program can't be beat! You can feel the happiness from students and staff the minute you walk in the door. Our principal truly cares about the students and does whatever she can to get us what we need to create the most positive learning environment for our students. I would not have my children there if I didn't think it was the best place to be!


Wells Academy 5

Posted May 15, 2007
- a parent
Im shocked to see the negative reviews posted here about Steubenville City Schools and Wells Elem. specifically. Wells was awarded the Blue Ribbon of Excellence , two years in a row, from the Federal Dept. of Education. They were one of a few in the Nation to be given this distinction. The academic quality is outstanding. All of the teachers in this building hold a Master's Degree in Education. Providing a quality education is their first priority. The fine arts department is the best in the city and I would say in the area! All students learn to read music and play a recorder. Band begins in 4th grade here, one year earlier then anywhere in the city. The winter and spring theatrical performance that the children take part in is sensational! My son went to Wells and because of the rigorous curriculum at Wells was more than prepared for Jr.High

Wells Academy 5

Posted May 15, 2007
- a parent
The fine arts at Wells is phenomonal! My child is in 3rd grade and knows how to play a recorder by reading music! These kids perform on stage in front of hundreds as early as preschool! The school report card shows that students do really great on the state test as well. I highly recommend Wells School. Roll Red Roll

Wells Academy 5

Posted May 15, 2007
- a parent
Wells School was awarded the Blue Ribbon School of Excellence by the Federal Department of Education two years in a row. This is a distinction that only a few schools in the nation received. The academics, fine arts, and extra curricular activities are the best in the city and in the area. Im shocked at the negative reviews. You are certainly in the minority.


Wells Academy 5

Posted May 11, 2007
- a teacher
I am a teacher at Wells Elementary School. It is such a pleasure to go to work everyday and to be part of such a fine school. Every staff member is highly qualified and every one of them goes above and beyond their duties to make sure the students are successful.Standards are set high for every student and the teachers have high expectations for all of their students. The principal is the rock of the school.She is very encouraging and extremely supportive. The school offers a Fine Arts program that the students all enjoy. It is the best elementary school in this area. I grew up in Steubenville, but I did not attend Steubenville Schools.You can bet that my children will be attending Wells Elementary! It's the best school around!

Wells Academy 5

Posted February 10, 2007
- a parent
Wells is a great school. The staff is highly qualified and caring. They strive to bring out the very best in each student. Both of my children attend Wells School and love it. I wish every child could go to a school like Wells.

Nearby schools

Wells Academy
420 North 4th St, Steubenville, OH  43952
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. (740) 282-1651
Last modified Wells Academy is a Public school that serves grades PK-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top