Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Emmanuel Christian School

Private | K-12 | 380 students

Our school is best known for our Christian values and training.

 
 

Living in Toledo

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $82,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $600.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 26, 2010

The English department is outstanding. It is very creative, and academically sound. Students are well prepared for high scholl when attending three years of Middle scholl at Emmanuel.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 22, 2009

At first we were pleased with this school, but as the year continued, we were very disappointed with the behavior of the students and several of the teachers in this school. We alerted the ASCII of our concerns, and we feel it is right to warn other prospective parents of the bullying we have recorded evidence our daughter experienced in this school. Before you enroll your child, we would suggest you ask how they deal with bullying. Perhaps they have improved in this area and have fixed these problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2008

We moved to this area and were thrilled to find a quality Christian school for such an affordable price. True, some of the specific 'extras' are not offered but there is plenty to do for someone who truly wants to participate. The sports program is affiliated with a super competive league. Students have gone one to play their sport in college. The music program K-12 is superior. Adacemics are challenging. Students do well after graduating. I especially like the involvement of teachers in my student's life. They underline what is valued at home. The security of the campus is appreciated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2008

We have two kids at Emmanuel, and we love this school. The academics are excellent and prepare the students for challenging, accredited colleges, their standards as far as curriculum and dress are very high and Christ-centered, and the kids there really seem to enjoy being Christians. As a parent, I care who my kids spend time with. One way that I do this is by perusing the kids' Myspace and Facebook pages, since those are the kind of places where a person's true character will often be portrayed. I am thrilled with how many of our kids' friends from Emmanuel refrain from foul language, filthy music, etc. and instead display Scripture verses, proclaim their desire to serve God, and live a Christ-centered life. This was not the case with the kids at a different local Christian school that our kids used to attend. Emmanuel is a true gift from God!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2006

My son recently graduated from EBCS. He's attended there since the 5th grade. His experience, throughout the years at EBCS, have helped build my son into a Godly man. This was done through the education, committment, dedication, and Godly loving training that the entire faculty and administration show on a daily basis. The atheltic coaching staff is incredible. The music dept. is wonderful. I would encourage any parent looking for a school that incorporates biblically based training as well as a top notch academic education to seriously consider Emmanuel Baptist Christian School. I should also add it's one of the most economical for the Toledo area. Recently a huge renovation of the school has taken place. This has added a great dimension to keeping up with the 21st century.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2006

My daughter has attended this school for two years and it has given her a safe environment for learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2006

Emmanuel Baptist Elementary School is a wonderful, God centered Christian school. Our son is in first grade and started at Emmanuel in pre-school. The teachers and other staff members go out of their way to include us, as parents, in everything they do concerning our child. Our younger son will go to Emmanuel as well, and I would recommend it to any Christian (or non Christian) parent in Toledo or the surrounding area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2004

This school is a great example of steadfastness in a changing environment. We've seen schools all over Toledo, all over the state and country go through regression in morals and quality, but Emmanuel Baptist will forever remain a sweet and warm place to foster a love for God and country. The teachers are wonderfully selected and seem happy to spend time with each student without pressure, and the students themselves seem more set apart and more eager to shine in sports, academics and daily life. Although the rules are somewhat strict, you can be sure your child won't cross lines or mess around without you knowing about it. The parents aren't always as involved as the school would like them to be, but if you as a guardian want to be a part of Emmanuel Baptist, you are more than welcome. :)
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 77%
Black 25% 19%
Asian 5% N/A
Two or more races 2% N/A
Hispanic 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Greek
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Robert W. Flamm
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (419) 885-0139

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Greek
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Tutoring
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$4000 - $6000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4607 W Laskey Rd
Toledo, OH 43623
Website: Click here
Phone: (419) 885-3558

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT