Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Upper Arlington High School

Public | 9-12 | 1912 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

39 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 9, 2014

My family and I moved to UA from out of state. My children graduated from UAHS and I'm retired from the school system. There are many positives and some negatives about UA and the high school. First, On the positive side, UA values education and offers a wide range of experiences for its students. The proximity to OSU is wonderful (although more students need to take advantage of that). My own children received a wonderful education here and were successful in college because of it. However, they graduated in the early 2000s. The negatives: the community is insular and non-welcoming to outsiders. Parents coddle their children to a degree that holds them back from taking personal responsibility. Teachers are no longer supported by administrators. The high school building is a serious negative; it needs to be updated to keep UA competitive with the newer suburbans schools. People whose families have lived here for generations find the building "charming" because it's just like they remember. They need to get out of UA more. Academics are slipping as parents and students demand less rigor. Watch out for Dublin Jerome - it's "the new UA."


Posted February 21, 2014

I hate it here. Yes, there are a few teachers that are AMAZING... but the environment and the people are very judgmental. They like to pretend that UA is perfect, yet there are so many flaws in the system it's not even fuuny. For example,UAHS has been known to graduate people even when they have not met requirements, just so it's graduation rate doesn't get dinged. It's all about appearances here, don't trust what you see.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 12, 2013

I am a student and this school is definitely a great school for your child to go to.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 15, 2013

This is a challenging school with lots of opportunities. My adult child, several years into his career, found his HS education to be a great foundation for his out-of-state college and beyond. Even being in the arts, he weathered the recession much better than many of his colleagues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2013

The UA schools are one of the best school systems in the state. The schools are dedicated in children achieving the best grades that they could possibly get, and fulfilling the requirements of students moving on towards college. However, learning involves more than just grades and acceptance into a college. UA school's lack in area's of dedication to children who learn differently than most, & are considered normal, but need more time and attention in grasping certain subjects. When a child is starting to fail they pass them along anyway, as apposed to taking the time to help that child learn in a manner that he/she learns best in, so that the child has an understanding of what is being taught. Pushing a child into the next grade before they understand their material causes them to fall further behind, not only in academics but socially as well. The teachers here need to have a better understanding of teaching styles so that their students aren't just passing the standardized tests, but are actually enjoying their education and gaining knowledge at the same time. It's sad such a great community is more concerned about statistics than they are about the little people they educate!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2013

Being a non-legacy is difficult. The athletic code is extremely lax. Coaches should not be hired who cannot even spell or use proper grammar and they should not be permitted to hire their cronies. There is a huge doping problem across all economic levels. Bullying is a problem by students, teachers and coaches. There are excellent teachers in the system but not enough to merit the pay they receive. For the record, my child is an athlete, volunteer and "A" student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2013

Most people who go here never plan on trying anything different, and that immensely alters perceptions about the real world. Some people want to understand what's out in the world, and others are content with what they already understand (Especially when there's not much more to understand than the ways of UA). I attended Upper Arlington thru grades K-12. Once I got to college I realized all the things that were so easy to take for granted. However, I was one of the few kids who went out of state for college -- everyone else went to private schools or close by, like Miami of Ohio or Ohio State. I tell them it seems like they don't want things to ever change, but they just tell me to appreciate Upper Arlington, and lacrosse.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 19, 2012

I completely agree with the reviewer of October 7, 2011. I took my children out of the catholic system and put them into UAHS for the educational opportunities. I can't stress enough how great they are. But, as the October 7th reviewer said, unless you have lived in UA since it's incorporation, your child will struggle socially - especially with athletics. I find volunteering to be difficult as I have found that all of them know each other from when they went to school here and are not particularly friendly to newcomers (e.g., you go up and introduce yourself and they say hello and then walk over to their group of friends and do not include you in the conversation or give you any kind of pointers as to the task at hand.) I find it more rewarding to volunteer outside the UA district, and I now go to the inner city schools and help there. Come to UA for the IB and AP programs, the teachers, and the guidance staff. They know their stuff and will help your child get into a great college. I am on year 3 of my 10 year sentence in UA. They day they graduate is the day I put my house up for sale.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2012

It is hard for people who have never left the place they grew up to accuratley judge anything as there worldly experience is non existant.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2011

I graduated just a few years ago and I am now in college at OSU. I don't have enough good things to say about UAHS and the Upper Arlington district. In the four years that I attended UAHS I loved all of my teachers and are still in contact with many of them. Kip Greenhill was a great principal as well. I'm so thankful that my family made the move to this district when I was in elementary school because I don't think that I would have had the same amount of opportunities else ware.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 18, 2011

I do not feel challenged at this school. Don't get me wrong, this school is an EXCELLENT public school. I feel very fortunate to be attending the school, however I happen to feel EXACTLY the same way as the previous student's comment: "Way too much homework and outside-of-school work assigned - the overburden of homework is counterproductive. I can learn that 2 + 2 = 4 once; I don't need to do 100 of 2 + 2 = 4 problems to understand it. It's unnecessary."
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 8, 2011

People who wrote previous reviews must either be paid school staff members or parents/teachers who have never seen what a *real* "good" public school looks like. This school is mainly full of supercilious, cookie-cutter kids. The predominant environment just has a very "clique-y" feel. Way too much homework and outside-of-school work assigned - the overburden of homework is counterproductive. I can learn that 2 + 2 = 4 once; I don't need to do 100 of 2 + 2 = 4 problems to understand it. It's unnecessary. SOME teachers are either a) extremely snobbish (won't name names here) or b) extremely boring and lack skill on how to teach EFFECTIVELY. The problem here is that "Arlingtonians" think they are too good for everyone, and that this public school is extraordinary; I beg to differ. I have been in several public schools, and this school is not horrible per se, but not that remarkable or extraordinary either. Art should not be necessary. Students should focus on areas *they* want to pursue in life, and the compulsory requirement for art is a waste of time. Also, public speaking IS an essential skill, however, there should be better public speaking teachers & syllabus. Not impressed.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 6, 2010

I graduated from UAHS in 2006, and like every one of mu friends, have continued on to college. The UA school system provides an amazing learning atmosphere with 32 highly successful division 1 sports. Endless teacher support, cutting edge technology, and progressive learning environment all add up to the best education available.


Posted July 25, 2009

I graduated from UA my 4 kids graduated from UA and my grandaughter will graduate from UA, enough said.


Posted May 8, 2009

I currently have one child in the high school and next year I will have two. This school prepares them so much for what is beyond high school. The competition and expectations are extremely high at UA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2008

I am currently a freshman at uahs. The new 'link' crews have made me feel so welcome and i'm glad i new some upperclassmen on the first day of school. No one was terribly mean like i expected and i definetly made a lot of friends. Every teacher was so kind and incredibly educated.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 22, 2008

Principal Kip Greenhill is a positive, committed and highly effective administrator, and is well-liked and respected by the students, teachers and staff for his positive leadership at the high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2008

UAHS is as near to being a private prep school as one can get in a public setting. My three children all agree their move to college was a seamless transition in terms of their academic preparation. The district-wide emphasis on the traditional '3-R's' coupled with a corps of teachers and administrators dedicated to being progressive in their pedagogy and use of technology is superb. The extracurricular opportunities for students is also top notch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2008

I am currently a student ar UAHS. This is truly an excellent school. It offers a great education to students of all ability levels and career inclinations. Th AP program is excellent, with amazing teachers and the majority of students getting great marks on the AP test. There also an IB program, which is also excellent. Many extracurricular activites are offered. The only are of improvement is the inclusion of realistic sports alternatives. The school teams are very successful, but they are extremely demanding, and the coaches have a particularly hard-headed attitudes as to 'commitment'. In other Columbus area schools, it is sometimes characterized as snobbish, but I am proud to say that from my experience these rumors are entirely false.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 31, 2008

First rate teachers, counselors and administrators. Decent facilities. The community support is outstanding. Fiscally, the Board is responsible.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

415 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

415 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

414 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

414 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

414 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Graduation Test (OGT) to test students in grade 10 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. State averages displayed on public school profiles include public schools only. State averages displayed on private school profiles include private schools only. The OGT is a high school graduation requirement for public schools and chartered private schools. The OGT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students98%
Female>=95%
Male>=95%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabled77%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students97%
Female>=95%
Male>=95%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabled74%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students96%
Female>=95%
Male95%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabled60%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Social Studies

All Students97%
Female>=95%
Male>=95%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabled69%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Writing

All Students98%
Female>=95%
Male>=95%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabled74%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Graduation Test (OGT) to test students in grade 10 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. State averages displayed on public school profiles include public schools only. State averages displayed on private school profiles include private schools only. The OGT is a high school graduation requirement for public schools and chartered private schools. The OGT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
111 (2011)
 
111 (2010)
 
112 (2009)
 
112 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

No Value-Added data was reported for this school.

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

86%

Average ACT score

25

Graduation rate

97%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores, ACT participation (% of 11th graders taking the ACT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 74%
Asian 6% 2%
Two or more races 2% 4%
Black 1% 16%
Hispanic 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 49%N/A49%
Male 51%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 9%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1650 Ridgeview Rd
Upper Arlington, OH 43221
Phone: (614) 487-5200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT