Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Vermilion High School

Public | 8-12 | 950 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Thursday, April 10, 2014

There is no recruiting for sports because the coaches are just ridiculous and stick with favorites, but what are they going to do when those favorites graduate? Oh yeah, complain. Because that's what they always do. Compare and complain.


Posted June 29, 2012

This school has no strong academic programs at all, inflated lunch prices, what else is there?


Posted November 30, 2010

BEWARE! My family moved here from Missouri and were not aware of the changes being made to the schools. K-2 are together in one building, which is fine.. but they combined 4th-7th in the middle school and put the 8th graders in the highschool. I was told it was because of "low attendance" and budget cuts, yet each child from 7th to 12th grade just received a Macbook laptop this year, which has proven to be NOTHING but a distraction to the children. My daughter who attends the highschool began to have some behavior/academic issues, and I was treated like a nuisance by the "guidance counselor" and I use that term loosely, and got very little response from the teachers and administration until I contacted the Board of Education. To make matters worse, my son needs some additional help with reading and the school did nothing but drag their feet on follow through and putting together a plan (at my initiation, NOT theirs). Now, because of the poor quality of the education we have experienced so far, we have to consider moving again after just moving cross country earlier this year. A complete tragedy of a school system. I would NOT recommend it for any family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2010

My children are very happy and educated students. I am very satisfied of what they are doing to the building also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

I graduated from VHS 5 years ago, and I am considering sending my children to Vermilion schools. I had an overall good experience in the Vermilion school system. Since it isnt a huge town or school, everyone pretty much knew everyone, which was nice. The main negative thing I can say is that when it comes to any kind of sports or extra curricular activity, the schools are very political. I saw a comment saying how good the soundsations etc are, and this is true. But its also true that it takes talent to get into these programs, as well as being part of a wealthy, known family. If you don't, you better cross your fingers to get past the tryout process.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 28, 2009

I believe the principal is very nice and careing. He is he rest why i am a great student and did so great all four years at this high school. He believes in all his students and you are just probly a parent who dont know much at all and your student probly gets in trouble and the principal did he job. unlike most prinicpal in our area
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 7, 2009

Could do better to get all kids involved in activities, much division and 'clicks' among students. I did well there but was introverted and never felt a part of anything, now my oldest is a student and feeling the same way and he is special needs to boot. Principal needs to learn to take kids aside to encourage them (not browbeat) to do well. My principal was a real 'buddy' type of person, much loved and respected, not like current principal who is hateful much of the time. He rules by intimidation and i worry my quiet kid could never go to a guy like that if he needed to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2008

I've been going to Vermilion since I was in kindergarden, i'm a freshman right now and i have loved the school system and the facuilty. Vermilion has a great choral program and extraciricular activites. Soundsation is one of the most exciting things i've done in my life. Thanks Vermilion keep supporting students like us
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 23, 2008

I have been going to Vermilion for 8 years now I have to say that all the teachers here are great they work hard for the success of the students. Their are a few bad kids in the school and they do have probloms its not perfect but what school is. The schools are wonderful Vermilion is a great town and Vermilion has some of of the best schools in the nation.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 30, 2008

Okay first off I'd like to say any subject which someone may bring up about this school that is bad would probably rather want their child going to a private school and thats a completely different matter. I participated in many activities while at VHS and have few complaints, and saying that the staff is mostly made up of teachers that don't know their own subject i just rediculous. Every teacher I had was marvelous with the exception of maybe one or two at most. If you don't like a teacher you can be asked to be placed in another ones class. The kids are great, and the 'bad apples' are few and far inbetween, even less os than one 'religious' school I'm going to keep myself from naming. Lots of opportunity :-)
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 24, 2007

vermilion high school has many advantages of being a small school with lots of involvement by the community. A daughter that is finishing her freshman year was very involved in all activities. Cheerleading, and the only freshman girl selected for soundsation has kept her quite busy. Honors classes have been outstanding. The school is what you make of it. The schoolboard attends most functions at the school. Basketball is packed for the games. Not a great football team but the students can pack in the crowds. Other towns in the area always enjoy the sports facilities we have to offer. We have lived in this town for 8 years and it was a great selection. Great home values,low taxes, and all the kids attend school together through the years/ class of 2010 will have approx 192 kids - If your kid wants to be involved they can.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2007

My kids went to Vermilion schools from k-12. It's definitely a mixed bag. The high school now is not particularly challenging. Ya gotta wonder where the administration's head is at with some faculty hirings. There are still a few good teachers at the high school, and my daughter got into a good college(that was probably because she took most of her senior classes at the community college)but there are other teachers that just don't to seem to have a grasp of their subject matter. It was kind of a running joke that the kids knew more than some of their teachers. Their couselor was great. Compared to the schools in the area it is considered one of the heavy weights, crazy about sports(that means football) schools in the area. Keep your eyes on your kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2006

I've been going to vermilion since i was in kindergarden. Im a senior now, and very excited to be graduating. Im pleased with the teachers I have had, minus a few, but overall satisfied with the school. They way the school was 'governed' was possibly the worst part about it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 22, 2006

Vermilion is a GREAT school district. My daughter has been attending since kindergarten and is now a senior. She has had great teachers and great opportunities. She is an honor roll student and I hold her teachers and counselors accountable for this. She is involved in many clubs and activities plus varsity sports. With all the activities at school for children to be involved in, you do not have to worry about where your children are. THANK YOU FOR ALL YOUR DEDICATION!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2006

This school is a very great school. I in joy attending it and I'm not a parent. I'm a student but both my parents attend vermilion and agree with me and i think the staduim was in great need of a make over. The extracurricular activities are very great we have great coaches and excellent teacher that in includes math teacher. So no body has the full right to make fun of vermilion schools. They have better choice then any other school around just becuase all the parent don't get involed doesn't mean we are a bad school. -Rachael
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 20, 2006

This high school is a fun loving place for a growing child to attend.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 18, 2004

The school is overly paranoid about things such as Columbine. The Principal is a nitwit and the Vice Principal follows suit. The math department is horrible and the head of it can't teach at all. The rules are overly strict for the size of the school, and they don't have a wide variety of extracurricular activates. Another thing is that it is apparently more important to build a new football grandstand for a D3 team that wins on average 1 game a year. This is of course instead of spending money on more important things...like better math teachers.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

169 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2013.

169 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

169 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students70%
Female68%
Male73%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Disabled48%
Non-disabled75%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students82%
Female87%
Male77%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Disabled52%
Non-disabled88%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students72%
Female68%
Male75%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Disabled52%
Non-disabled76%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

In 2010-2011, this school received an Overall Rating of "Below Expected Growth".

Math

Reading

Grade 8BelowBelow

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

171 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

171 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

171 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
77%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

170 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
87%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

171 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Graduation Test (OGT) to test students in grade 10 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. State averages displayed on public school profiles include public schools only. State averages displayed on private school profiles include private schools only. The OGT is a high school graduation requirement for public schools and chartered private schools. The OGT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students90%
Female88%
Male91%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Disabled57%
Non-disabled95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students92%
Female89%
Male>=95%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Disabled70%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students81%
Female79%
Male84%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Disabled44%
Non-disabled87%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Social Studies

All Students86%
Female84%
Male88%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Disabled52%
Non-disabled91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Writing

All Students84%
Female88%
Male80%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Disabled39%
Non-disabled91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Graduation Test (OGT) to test students in grade 10 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. State averages displayed on public school profiles include public schools only. State averages displayed on private school profiles include private schools only. The OGT is a high school graduation requirement for public schools and chartered private schools. The OGT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
98 (2011)
 
98 (2010)
 
100 (2009)
 
98 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

44%

Average ACT score

23

Graduation rate

93%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value-added estimates from the state of Ohio.

3 This rating is based on composite ACT scores, ACT participation (% of 11th graders taking the ACT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 74%
Hispanic 3% 4%
Two or more races 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 2%
Black N/A 16%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 31%N/A47%
Female 49%N/A49%
Male 51%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 17%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Heidi Riddle
Fax number
  • (440) 204-1781

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1250 Sanford St
Vermilion, OH 44089
Phone: (440) 204-1700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





South Amherst Middle School
South Amherst, OH



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT