Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Vermilion High School 2

Posted April 10, 2014
- a community member
There is no recruiting for sports because the coaches are just ridiculous and stick with favorites, but what are they going to do when those favorites graduate? Oh yeah, complain. Because that's what they always do. Compare and complain.

Vermilion High School 1

Posted June 29, 2012
- a community member
This school has no strong academic programs at all, inflated lunch prices, what else is there?


Vermilion High School 2

Posted November 30, 2010
- a parent
BEWARE! My family moved here from Missouri and were not aware of the changes being made to the schools. K-2 are together in one building, which is fine.. but they combined 4th-7th in the middle school and put the 8th graders in the highschool. I was told it was because of "low attendance" and budget cuts, yet each child from 7th to 12th grade just received a Macbook laptop this year, which has proven to be NOTHING but a distraction to the children. My daughter who attends the highschool began to have some behavior/academic issues, and I was treated like a nuisance by the "guidance counselor" and I use that term loosely, and got very little response from the teachers and administration until I contacted the Board of Education. To make matters worse, my son needs some additional help with reading and the school did nothing but drag their feet on follow through and putting together a plan (at my initiation, NOT theirs). Now, because of the poor quality of the education we have experienced so far, we have to consider moving again after just moving cross country earlier this year. A complete tragedy of a school system. I would NOT recommend it for any family.

Vermilion High School 5

Posted July 02, 2010
- a parent
My children are very happy and educated students. I am very satisfied of what they are doing to the building also.

Vermilion High School 0
no rating

Posted April 15, 2010
- a student
I graduated from VHS 5 years ago, and I am considering sending my children to Vermilion schools. I had an overall good experience in the Vermilion school system. Since it isnt a huge town or school, everyone pretty much knew everyone, which was nice. The main negative thing I can say is that when it comes to any kind of sports or extra curricular activity, the schools are very political. I saw a comment saying how good the soundsations etc are, and this is true. But its also true that it takes talent to get into these programs, as well as being part of a wealthy, known family. If you don't, you better cross your fingers to get past the tryout process.


Vermilion High School 5

Posted February 01, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Vermilion High School 0
no rating

Posted September 28, 2009
- a student
I believe the principal is very nice and careing. He is he rest why i am a great student and did so great all four years at this high school. He believes in all his students and you are just probly a parent who dont know much at all and your student probly gets in trouble and the principal did he job. unlike most prinicpal in our area

Vermilion High School 0
no rating

Posted September 07, 2009
- a parent
Could do better to get all kids involved in activities, much division and 'clicks' among students. I did well there but was introverted and never felt a part of anything, now my oldest is a student and feeling the same way and he is special needs to boot. Principal needs to learn to take kids aside to encourage them (not browbeat) to do well. My principal was a real 'buddy' type of person, much loved and respected, not like current principal who is hateful much of the time. He rules by intimidation and i worry my quiet kid could never go to a guy like that if he needed to.


Vermilion High School 2

Posted November 03, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Vermilion High School 5

Posted October 22, 2008
- a student
I've been going to Vermilion since I was in kindergarden, i'm a freshman right now and i have loved the school system and the facuilty. Vermilion has a great choral program and extraciricular activites. Soundsation is one of the most exciting things i've done in my life. Thanks Vermilion keep supporting students like us

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Vermilion High School
1250 Sanford St, Vermilion, OH  44089
(440) 204-1701
Last modified Vermilion High School is a Public school that serves grades 8-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Vermilion High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 22 reviews.