Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lakota West High School

Public | 9-12 | 2600 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 11, 2013

When i first entered Lakota West when i was in 10th grade, the energy was was wild! (in a good way.) the students were laughing, joking around and having fun in the hallways between classes and before/after school. The teachers are AWESOME!! teachers interacted with other students, they also come with a good attitude to school. the teachers are understandable and finding a way to make education fun not just for students, for other as well. the principle has wonderful leadership and goals for students and staff. i enjoy going to this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 15, 2012

Overall very good high school. Lots of offerings. Plenty of AP and Honors classes to challenge kids. Communication is excellent. The administration has done an OUTSTANDING job given the mediocre funding support from the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2011

I attended Lakota West For 10th-12th grade and was lucky enough to be enrolled in mostly AP and honors classes, which is where I think they assign the most dedicated teachers, and I feel that those teachers contributed the most to education. In areas where honors or AP classes weren't offered, my so-called "college prep" classes, the teachers seemed unmotivated and I felt that I learned very little. I got straight A's throughout high school without much effort-the vast majority of the school is on the honor roll. I was unprepared when I went to a university and actually had to study, since I had never learned how to do so. I believe many of the teachers are wonderful, but the school as a whole doesn't necessarily prepare students for a college environment, except for a few special cases. The program is better than many, but the good teachers are underpaid and as the district grows the system is becoming weaker and more strained for resources.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 12, 2010

I went to this school 10th through 12th grade. It was hit or miss with your classes. Some teachers were really great and did their best to really get to the students while others barley taught anything and you were lucky if you learned what you needed for the next class you were taking.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 20, 2009

Lakota West has the best women's soccer team and English department I have ever seen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

i think this is the best school in ohio a-1 on the kids learning
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2009

I loved everything about this school. The teachers, the students, and staff were all really great for my two years in public school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 30, 2007

What a wonderful environment and excellent teaching staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2007

We moved to the West Chester area from northern New Jersey in August. I have two sons attending this school, one junior and one sophomore. Since we moved here, I noticed them putting in very little effort and achieving A grades, a big grade difference from what they were recieving in their old public school. The school district has been raved about, but I'm just not seeing what the big deal is all about. It maybe be the fact that Jersey schools are more difficult, but I'm not seeing my sons getting the 'great education' I was promised.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2006

I was actually a student at Lakota West and graduated in 2005. I had many friends at other high schools (including Mason) and I must say that West is one of the best. The teachers definitely challenge the students to extend their thinking. It was always stressed to students to try to graduate with honors. Teachers try their hardest to help students achieve good grades and to reach their highest potential. At West, students are held to high behavioral expectations. Also, many of my teachers took an active role in getting to know their students. I had a great high school experience at West and would recommend to any parent sending their child to this excellent school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 23, 2006

Academics are strongly enforced here and everybody is encouraged to strive for honors in their top areas. Extracirricular activities are fantastic and abundant.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 1, 2005

Great Schools! My biggest issue with Lakota in general is their spending habits. Too many times have they asked for a levy and been turned down -- only to spend more dollars on new phone systems, land we don't need yet and other things that can wait. While kids and teachers do without. This did not sit well with us. We moved out of the district as soon as our son graduated this past year.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

558 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

559 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

559 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
87%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

559 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

559 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Graduation Test (OGT) to test students in grade 10 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. State averages displayed on public school profiles include public schools only. State averages displayed on private school profiles include private schools only. The OGT is a high school graduation requirement for public schools and chartered private schools. The OGT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students94%
Female95%
Male93%
Black, non-Hispanic79%
Asian or Pacific Islander94%
Hispanic87%
Multiracial91%
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabled53%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)75%

Reading

All Students95%
Female>=95%
Male94%
Black, non-Hispanic86%
Asian or Pacific Islander91%
Hispanic>=95%
Multiracial>=95%
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabled64%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)75%

Science

All Students91%
Female92%
Male89%
Black, non-Hispanic66%
Asian or Pacific Islander94%
Hispanic83%
Multiracial91%
White95%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Disabled50%
Non-disabled95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)69%

Social Studies

All Students90%
Female91%
Male89%
Black, non-Hispanic74%
Asian or Pacific Islander94%
Hispanic83%
Multiracial84%
White93%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Disabled54%
Non-disabled94%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)63%

Writing

All Students95%
Female>=95%
Male93%
Black, non-Hispanic86%
Asian or Pacific Islander94%
Hispanic>=95%
Multiracial>=95%
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabled64%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Graduation Test (OGT) to test students in grade 10 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. State averages displayed on public school profiles include public schools only. State averages displayed on private school profiles include private schools only. The OGT is a high school graduation requirement for public schools and chartered private schools. The OGT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
109 (2011)
 
106 (2010)
 
107 (2009)
 
105 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

No Value-Added data was reported for this school.

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

80%

Average ACT score

24

Graduation rate

95%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores, ACT participation (% of 11th graders taking the ACT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 74%
Black 12% 16%
Asian 6% 2%
Two or more races 5% 4%
Hispanic 4% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 15%N/A47%
Female 50%N/A49%
Male 51%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 9%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School psychologist
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Gary E. Card
Fax number
  • (513) 682-4134

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8940 Union Centre Blvd
West Chester, OH 45069
Phone: (513) 874-5699

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Scarlet Oaks CDC
Cincinnati, OH


Princeton High School
Cincinnati, OH


Fairfield High School
Fairfield, OH


Lakota East High School
Liberty Township, OH



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT