Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hanby Building Elementary School

Public | PK, 1-5 | 231 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 26, 2014

My son loves this school and we couldn't be happier with his growth there. Everyone is great ,we feel very lucky to have our son here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2013

i went there myself and i was in the all girls class its a wonderful school u should send your kids there because it is a great plave to learn


Posted April 22, 2013

Hanby is a unique school and should be recognized as such. I have two children and both have attended Hanby. The first was in the gifted program, which was Fantastic! My second child attended the standard program at Hanby and has had a very fulfilling education. The principal is outstanding and the majority of the teachers are as well. No, it's not a science and math magnet school, but it does take an individual approach to each child and really focuses on preparing a thinking, self-aware and self-confident student. I am glad my children attended Hanby and would gladly recommend it to other parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2012

We are disappointed as well with the lack of academic rigour. It has been a very disappointing year for our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2012

My daughter is a 1st grader here. After coming to the conclusion that our local elementary school was not going to give her the attention or education that she needs, my wife and I decided to try and get into the Magnet program here. My wife is an artist and our daughter has a love for art. Selecting Hanby Magnet was a no-brainer. Since the time she has been there her reading has moved up 5 levels since the start of the school year. She absolutely adores her teacher, and the principal. She has even joined a few of the extracurricular activities. The staff here are awesome, and the communication is open and direct. I have no words for how involved the parents are here. I would almost describe the PTA here as rabid for their school. Unfortunately, it looks like the Magnet program will be ended soon due to budget constraints. That said, it looks like we will need to find another option for our daughters continuing education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2011

Our 3 children have all received an outstanding education at Hanby. We have a gifted child, a child with physical disabilities, and a child with reading difficulties. All our children's need have not only been met but each has been individually addressed and have had tremendous growth. The teachers are confident, compassionate, and caring and are more than willing to provide what's best for our children. They communicate well and welcome parent input and involvement. Art integration is superior and enhances the curriculum. The atmosphere is one of community, support, encouragement, and challenge. We are more than pleased with our children's experience at Hanby.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2011

Hanby sells itself as a funky and fun learning environment for kids. It might be both, but it lacks leadership and academic rigor. There is little structure and discipline in this building and 1st grade is packed with 26 kids in tiny classrooms with weak teachers. I know someone who worked there as a lunch duty aide who was pushed to the ground by two fifth graders who were given a stern verbal warning! This school has some major discipline problems and I heard there was a child who was expelled from Whittier for behavior problems who now attends Hanby. My daughter went to Hanby for two months (after being admitted from another Magnet school wait list) and after two months of very low academics and lots of "enrichment," her only comment was "at Hanby, they treat the kids like rats." There are plenty of involved parents at Hanby, and they seem enthusiastic about the building.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

It is by far the coolest, most fun, and educational schools that a child could attend. (In my opinion)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2007

My son is in his second year at Hanby, and I have been very impressed by the dedication of the teachers and the caring, but firm, actions of the principal. I believe that my son is receiving an excellent academic 'base', as well as a good start in organizational skills needed for middle school. Emphasis on cooperation, teamwork, and social skills has also been a big plus.Parent involvement appears high.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students92%
Female85%
Male>=95%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabled70%
Non-disabled95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students91%
Female88%
Male95%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabled70%
Non-disabled94%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students88%
Female83%
Male94%
Black, non-Hispanic79%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students94%
Female93%
Male95%
Black, non-Hispanic79%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled93%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students86%
Female83%
Male93%
Black, non-Hispanic50%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Disabled80%
Non-disabled86%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students87%
Female86%
Male92%
Black, non-Hispanic42%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Disabled80%
Non-disabled88%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students84%
Female84%
Male83%
Black, non-Hispanic25%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Disabled70%
Non-disabled86%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

In 2010-2011, this school received an Overall Rating of "Met Expected Growth".

Math

Reading

Grade 4BelowMet
Grade 5MetMet

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
102 (2011)
 
105 (2010)
 
102 (2009)
 
97 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value-added estimates from the state of Ohio.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 74%
Black 14% 16%
Two or more races 6% 4%
Hispanic 4% 4%
Asian 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 17%N/A47%
Female 53%N/A49%
Male 47%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 9%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

56 South State St
Westerville, OH 43081
Phone: (614) 797-7100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




St. Paul School
Westerville, OH



Oakstone Academy
Westerville, OH


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT