Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hanby Building Elementary School 5

Posted April 18, 2016
- a community member
Her teachers and the staff have worked hard to help my daughter succeed. She was pretty far behind before attending school here due to her ADD problems. They have all kinds of extra things for the kids to learn as well throughout the year. This year was crochet and oragami. My daughter loves that art has been incorporated into her everyday schedule. She will definitely be attending next year. Such a fantastic program.

Hanby Building Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 20, 2015
- a parent
Taught my child how to organize her time with enough and sometimes a lot of homework. But that's a good thing.


Hanby Building Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted November 20, 2015
- a parent
I have found that most of the kids that come out of Hanby are respectful, kind, and courteous.

Hanby Building Elementary School 5

Posted November 20, 2015
- a parent
Great teachers, great PTA,and curriculum is fantastic. I like how lol classes/grades prepared kids for speaking in front of the class. Such confidence in the Hanby kids!

Hanby Building Elementary School 5

Posted January 26, 2014
- a parent
My son loves this school and we couldn't be happier with his growth there. Everyone is great ,we feel very lucky to have our son here.


Hanby Building Elementary School 5

Posted November 20, 2013
- a community member
i went there myself and i was in the all girls class its a wonderful school u should send your kids there because it is a great plave to learn

Hanby Building Elementary School 5

Posted April 22, 2013
- a parent
Hanby is a unique school and should be recognized as such. I have two children and both have attended Hanby. The first was in the gifted program, which was Fantastic! My second child attended the standard program at Hanby and has had a very fulfilling education. The principal is outstanding and the majority of the teachers are as well. No, it's not a science and math magnet school, but it does take an individual approach to each child and really focuses on preparing a thinking, self-aware and self-confident student. I am glad my children attended Hanby and would gladly recommend it to other parents.

Hanby Building Elementary School 1

Posted May 06, 2012
- a parent
We are disappointed as well with the lack of academic rigour. It has been a very disappointing year for our family.


Hanby Building Elementary School 5

Posted March 21, 2012
- a parent
My daughter is a 1st grader here. After coming to the conclusion that our local elementary school was not going to give her the attention or education that she needs, my wife and I decided to try and get into the Magnet program here. My wife is an artist and our daughter has a love for art. Selecting Hanby Magnet was a no-brainer. Since the time she has been there her reading has moved up 5 levels since the start of the school year. She absolutely adores her teacher, and the principal. She has even joined a few of the extracurricular activities. The staff here are awesome, and the communication is open and direct. I have no words for how involved the parents are here. I would almost describe the PTA here as rabid for their school. Unfortunately, it looks like the Magnet program will be ended soon due to budget constraints. That said, it looks like we will need to find another option for our daughters continuing education.

Hanby Building Elementary School 5

Posted June 03, 2011
- a parent
Our 3 children have all received an outstanding education at Hanby. We have a gifted child, a child with physical disabilities, and a child with reading difficulties. All our children's need have not only been met but each has been individually addressed and have had tremendous growth. The teachers are confident, compassionate, and caring and are more than willing to provide what's best for our children. They communicate well and welcome parent input and involvement. Art integration is superior and enhances the curriculum. The atmosphere is one of community, support, encouragement, and challenge. We are more than pleased with our children's experience at Hanby.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hanby Building Elementary School
56 South State St, Westerville, OH  43081
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. (614) 797-7100
Last modified Hanby Building Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK, 1-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top