Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Emerson Elementary School

Public | 1-5 | 168 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 30, 2012

I love Emerson, my middle child started here in the 1st while my oldest didn't get into Emerson until 4th grade. It was incredible the amount of knowledge that my 1st grader had already and how much my 4th grader had to catch up to the Emerson children that had been there all along. The teachers and staff are outstanding, they truly care about the children and the needs of them. Not only does the Emerson teachers and staff care about the children but also the parents of those children. While my husband was deployed to Afganistan, I knew that if I needed anything they would help and they sent packages to my husband which was totally appreciated. The school goes above and beyond teaching, it's like a family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2011

I currently have 2 children at Emerson and I can't begin to express just how wonderful the entire school is. They had to attend our home school for kindergarten, and I found there to be a lack of parent involvement and a lack of community. I've been so thrilled that we have been able to take advantage of the magnet school program. The principal is very involved, in fact, she is usually outdoors every day directing the parent traffic. When the teachers ask for parent volunteers, they always have way more than they need. The kids are NICE KIDS, even to kids with differences. After having had a child there for 2.5 years now, I can say that when I go to school functions, I know so many parents, it's like visiting with your friends. And the teachers work hard to challenge the students, even the really bright kids are met with challenging work. The only bad things are the parking (there is only street parking), the before & after school traffic jams (you have to wait until all the busses leave, or you have to park & walk up to the school). The school has no gym, so they hold school functions at other schools, and are bussed for gym class. The good far outweighs the bad!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2011

I am also baffled at the review about the first grade teachers being classified as "the very popluler one" and "the one that nobody wanted"! My 2 children attend Emerson and one of them had one first grade teacher and the other child had the other. Both were fabulous! My son still goes in every morning and hugs the teacher he had in first grade! We love Emerson--especially the level of parental involvement and the way the teachers embrace it and appreciate it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2010

I am sad that the previous reviewer had a painful experience with this school. I honestly do not know what they were referring to regarding the good vs. bad teacher. My son's first grade teacher was wonderful, and I heard nothing but praise for the other. I have had two children go through Emerson, and from our experience it has been a caring, inclusive environment with creative teachers and staff who meet children where they are and build upon their strengths. As far as the facilities go, that is part of the magic of the magnets: they achieve amazing results even without state of the art facilities, which goes to show that people matter more than the building. Although, I don't know, I'm sort of partial to a beautiful 1890's building that looks like a castle!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2010

Emerson is a school with many involved families. These families seem to have a lot of influence over decisions. For instance, when my son went to first grade at Emerson, he was placed the the teacher no body wanted. All the kids with older siblings in the school were in the very popular teacher's class. We struggled enormously with getting a point across to this teacher, her communication skills were at best unhelpful and probably unprofessional. We were very unhappy with this school. Watch out for the hype involved with Westerville Magnet schools. The class sizes are very large and facilities are poor. If you want your kid to get bussed to gym class, attend a local church for assemblies and eat in a tiny room instead of a cafeteria, Emerson might be for you. We have never regretted our decision to attend our attendance area school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Emerson is a jewel of a school. How fortunate we have been to have our two children attend Emerson. There is an emphasis on student growth no matter where they are academically. They meet the child where they are and move them forward. The global focus is really what every school needs right now to get our kids ready for the larger world. Emerson is wonderful and a terrific investment in our school system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2009

Emerson is an amazing school that focuses on the whole child. The children are taught to think outside of themselves and about the global community, while still achieving academic excellence. They even hold fundraising activities which benefit those less fortunate. The principal and teachers are very open to new ideas and embrace parent involvement at the school. Our child learns at an accelerated level and that need was quickly recognized and met within the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2006

Emerson is a truly outstanding school. My daughter has attended for three years and we have found the instruction as well as the parent involvement to be exemplary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2006

My son went to another Westerville school and was tested to 'skip a grade' of which he passed with flying colors. However, the principle did not allow him to move. He said that despite his obvious academic ability, he thought that it would not benefit him 'socially' to be with older students. My husband and I immediately took him out of that school and took him to Emerson and we couldn't be happier. He is challenged, happy, and working w/peers of his calibur and accomplishments. Emerson is a wonderful school that allows kids to work to their potential and does not stagnante his/her growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2006

I would consider Emerson Magnet to be a below average school. Educationally, it's not any better or worse than other Westerville elementaries. That said, the facilities are horrible. Okay, so it's a historic building, but is it really worth all the upkeep costs when we're having to pay operating levies? Students are bused for gym, bused for Able & Talented, lunches are brought in ... need I go on. The magnet schools are a gaint waste of taxpayer dollars!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2004

My child has been at Emerson now for four years and it has gone very, very well. She excells in all areas and I give alot of that credit to her teachers who do care about each and every child. Sending your child to Emerson would be very beneficial for their education needs and the ability to make good friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2004

My son's first year was a very good experience for him. He had an awesome teacher and the staff was very concerned about the kids. He goes back again this year and we are looking forward to another great year.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students95%
Female>=95%
Male91%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students98%
Female>=95%
Male>=95%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students98%
Female>=95%
Male94%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students98%
Female>=95%
Male94%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students91%
Female>=95%
Male87%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students98%
Female>=95%
Male>=95%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students96%
Female>=95%
Male91%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

In 2010-2011, this school received an Overall Rating of "Above Expected Growth".

Math

Reading

Grade 4MetAbove
Grade 5MetAbove

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
109 (2011)
 
108 (2010)
 
106 (2009)
 
105 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value-added estimates from the state of Ohio.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 74%
Black 10% 16%
Two or more races 7% 4%
Hispanic 5% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 2%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 11%N/A47%
Female 50%N/A49%
Male 50%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 11%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

44 North Vine St
Westerville, OH 43081
Phone: (614) 797-7080

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St. Paul School
Westerville, OH





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT