Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hawthorne Elementary School 5

Posted June 02, 2016
- a parent
Both of my boys attended Hawthorne Elementary, kindergarten through fifth grade. They both had great teachers and built a solid foundation for their education, middle school through college.

Hawthorne Elementary School 1

Posted April 09, 2016
- a community member
Hawthorne lacks a very apparent grasp on dealing with behavioral problems. Bullying is acceptable and exceptionally brutal within its walls and the staff has the inability to hold children accountable for their actions. This is an extremely dangerous recipe and enrolling children here is almost negligent if you're aware of the problems.


Hawthorne Elementary School 5

Posted September 18, 2015
- a community member
My son went to Gahannà until 5th grade. He has Mrs Halls and Reed. I can't say enough about what has been done for his self confidence. He has an IEP in place and it works so much better here. It's an awesome school with awesome teachers. Life is better at Hawthorne!:)

Hawthorne Elementary School 5

Posted February 25, 2014
- a teacher
Hawthorne is an amazing school! The teachers go above and beyond to meet the needs of every student by differentiating instruction. We work hard to find new strategies and new ways of teaching that are engaging and encourage the students to be active participants in the learning process. Our students discuss, debate, create and add to the learning daily. We are so proud of our students and our school family!

Hawthorne Elementary School 5

Posted September 04, 2013
- a parent
Hawthorne came under new leadership for the 2012-2013 and now this year (2013-2014) things are really sailing along in the right direction. Teachers are great, administrative support is enthusiastic, and parental involvement is on the rise. The PTO is rebuilding and able to support more activities and extras at the school. The music teacher has a strings program for the older students. There is an in-building gifted program. Because there are several classrooms of each grade, teachers work together and sometimes co-teach, or divide all the first graders among the first grade teachers for math in groups by ability, as well as other innovative strategies. The school has a classroom garden and composting program, and teacher creativity is rewarded. The school also has beautiful grounds where students sometimes can eat lunch outside or walk along the paths.


Hawthorne Elementary School 5

Posted June 02, 2013
- a parent
my child has attended hawthorne elementary for 4 years now and I am very pleased with the school, e.i. teacher/ principal involvement with my child's education. my child is considered "special needs" and needs more one on one teaching. instead of singling my child out and making my child feel different from others, my child's teachers (every year) have made a profound effort to be supportive. my child is getting an excellent education and I am very proud to say my child attends hawthorne. the school is diverse believing EVERY child deserves an education regardless of their background e.i. financial situations. I am very involved in my child's learning and success and it is 100% reassuring that my child's teachers and principal are too!

Hawthorne Elementary School 1

Posted October 08, 2012
- a community member
Hawthorne used to be an amazing school. Dr. Klein's leadership was phenomenal and the school prospered. But under Mr. Tombaugh's guidance the school crumbled, the school became a prison. They are currently unable to teach students and instead are handling misbehaving students 24/7

Hawthorne Elementary School 2

Posted November 10, 2011
- a parent
My kids attended Hawthorne for Kindergarten, and then we lotteried them in to the magnet school program for 1st grade. The teachers at Hawthorne are wonderful, but Hawthorne draws from a low income area and parental involvement isn't very high. It did not feel like a community, it felt very fragmented, with parents acting stand-offish and keeping to themselves. When they do have events, it isn't a place where everyone knows each other. It is very easy for your above-average child to be top of their class, and I'm not sure that gives them adequate motivation. I am really happy that we only did kindergarten there. I have spent a decent amount of time there, and rarely saw the principal (whereas at the magnet school, the principal is very visible and involved).


Hawthorne Elementary School 5

Posted April 24, 2008
- a parent
I have only GREAT things to say about Hawthorne. From the Principal (Dr. Kline is just outstanding), to the teachers and staff, everyone is beyond helpful, courtous, kind and truely concerned for your children and their education. I'm more than pleased with the school and the activities that are given, and the facility is always clean. Most importantely, is that my son loves going to school and loves his teachers.

Hawthorne Elementary School 5

Posted February 11, 2008
- a parent
My boy is in 2nd grade at Hawthorne and really seems to enjoy going every day. The principal (Dr. Kline) does an outstanding job as well as the teachers and staff. Great job!

Nearby schools

Hawthorne Elementary School
5001 Farview Dr, Westerville, OH  43231
(614) 797-7130
Last modified Hawthorne Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top