Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Wilder Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 538 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 27, 2014

The front office staff could not be more rude. I've been hung up on, rudely questioned why my child was out of school when she was sick, and the rif raff around the school can be scary. We are intentionally moving out of the area so my kid does not have to continue here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2012

Wilder, like most other public schools, has an unrealistic expectation that our children should fit within their mold of the ideal student. In reality, our children are more like snowflakes. Each one is different and has unique abilities and personalities to bring to not only Wilder, but to the world. Unfortunately, the administration and the teaching staff here is not equipped to deal with the non-traditional or non-ideal student. If your child is an independent thinker who needs consistent learning and stimulation, they will likely not thrive here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

My daughter has been struggling for quiet a while. I asked her teachers if there was anything we could do to her but they kept saying that she was getting some help from going to ESL(even though her primary language is English) just because I spoke Spanish at home. I continue to work with her from home but it gets frustrating at times. I also tried getting some help by tutoring after-school but I haven't seen much improvement. I asked the school to test her for special needs since she received IEP assistance while attending Pre-K, but they didn't think was necessary. They said that she doesn't have any disabilities for them to accommodate her at this time. I am not giving up on my child...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2009

My daughter struggled all through elementary school, every year I would ask her teachers if there was anything we could do to her not one of her teachers offerd me any guiedance. The only thing I knew to do was get her tutoring afterschool and in the summer. When she started middle school at Blendon she was so far behind she was just lost. within the first six weeks I had two teachers ask if she had ever been tested for special needs I had no clue what they were talking about., the guidance counselors explained the entire process to us and got her tested she was identified as special needs. She was not 'lazy' as one teacher put it, she just needed a little extra help and not one person at Wilder offered it to her. The teachers at wilder really failed her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2008

I find this school to on of the best in the area. The school is nice clean and the teachers are the most caring teachers I have seen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2006

good 'family based' school makes you feel very welcome. However, with my twins in kindergarten with 25 other students they absolutely do not get the attention they need!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students83%
Female79%
Male86%
Black, non-Hispanic53%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students84%
Female85%
Male83%
Black, non-Hispanic84%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students81%
Female75%
Male85%
Black, non-Hispanic53%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Disabled46%
Non-disabled87%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students89%
Female91%
Male87%
Black, non-Hispanic71%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Disabled73%
Non-disabled91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students69%
Female67%
Male73%
Black, non-Hispanic59%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Disabled56%
Non-disabled73%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)40%

Reading

All Students87%
Female87%
Male89%
Black, non-Hispanic79%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Disabled88%
Non-disabled87%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)70%

Science

All Students67%
Female64%
Male73%
Black, non-Hispanic45%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Disabled38%
Non-disabled74%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)20%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

In 2010-2011, this school received an Overall Rating of "Met Expected Growth".

Math

Reading

Grade 4AboveMet
Grade 5BelowMet

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
95 (2011)
 
94 (2010)
 
97 (2009)
 
96 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value-added estimates from the state of Ohio.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 74%
Black 26% 16%
Hispanic 7% 4%
Two or more races 7% 4%
Asian 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 41%N/A47%
Female 49%N/A49%
Male 51%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 19%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Victoria L. Hazlett
Fax number
  • (614) 797-7331

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6375 Goldfinch Dr
Westerville, OH 43081
Phone: (614) 797-7330

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Oakstone Academy
Westerville, OH


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT