Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 45 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cornerstone Academy Community
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted April 14, 2016
- a community member
The teachers constant yelling has taught my kindergartener to hate school. He cries every morning when it's time for school and it breaks my heart.

Cornerstone Academy Community
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted April 14, 2016
- a community member
Large homework packets and constant testing leaves little time for play. My kindergarten student is miserable.


Cornerstone Academy Community
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted April 14, 2016
- a community member
The school controls the students with the fear of being sent to see Mr Leon who is the schools disciplinarian.

Cornerstone Academy Community
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted April 14, 2016
- a community member
My son told me that his kindergarten teacher is always stressed out and yelling at the class.

Cornerstone Academy Community
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted April 14, 2016
- a community member
The administrators and front office staff, especially Mr Leon, are rude and unprofessional to the parents. I hate to imagine how they treat the children.


Cornerstone Academy Community 1

Posted April 14, 2016
- a community member
My kindergartener cries every morning when it's time for school. He says that his teacher is always stressed out and yelling at his class. When I confronted her about this she replied that she had a lot of boys in her class. My son will not be attending next year.

Cornerstone Academy Community 4

Posted March 03, 2016
- a parent
Great school! Would highly recommend it to anyone! My son has learned and advanced a lot! The only thing I would like to see different would be for the teachers to be more friendly or have a softer approach. Not all but some just look to serious.

Cornerstone Academy Community 2

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
My son has attended this school since kindergarten; I have been less than pleased. Teachers send weekly emails requesting donations for projects or supplies needed in the class room. The front office staff is extremely rude (especially Julie). Playground is under equipped and near the main side parking lot. Bus schedules can only be found posted inside of the building outside of school hours (which is not ideal for parents who work full time and may live over 30mins away). Staff is not willing to go above or beyond. Lunch including breakfast is $5/day. Your child WILL be refused the right to eat if the lunch balance reaches $30 (my son was refused lunch due to this) also refused lunch for not having a lunch room password. Amount of donation request, lack of compassion, amount of nightly homework, strict dress code (including no winter boots with any kind of color, ect), unrealistic bus times such as 6:00 am for kindergarten students and the lack of empathy or desire to hear the parents has really changed my opinion of this school. I'd rather invest in a local school then a Charter such as this. Unacceptable practices occurring here.


Cornerstone Academy Community 5

Posted March 31, 2015
- a parent
Cornerstone Academy is and has been a fantastic school for my son. We initially sent him there for all day kindergarten, but quickly realized the high quality education he was receiving. The staff has always went above and beyond to make sure that my son was receiving a great education. They even have a program for those children who excel in school, similar to a gifted program at other schools. We loved Cornerstone some much that we kept our son at Cornerstone for First Grade instead of sending him to Westerville Schools. The principal is an exceptional leader and knows how to get the best out of her teachers. The staff has always been gracious with their time and always seem to have the children's best interests at heart. We have even seen individualized work for students who are having a hard time in class or excelling to help or challenge them above the usual work. Being that it is a charter school, there is some turnover, but when this has happened they quickly replaced the staff with another very qualified teacher. We will undoubtedly be sending our younger twins to Cornerstone Academy in another 3 years.

Cornerstone Academy Community 1

Posted December 09, 2014
- a parent
If your child has behavior problems at all , this is not a school to go to. I asked for help and never got it. My son got suspended.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cornerstone Academy Community
6015 East Walnut St, Westerville, OH  43081
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 45 reviews. (614) 775-0615
Last modified Cornerstone Academy Community is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top