Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Beechwood Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 488 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 27, 2013

Beechwood has been a wonderful school for my daughter. We were here K-5 and the teachers has watched her grow and has taken the time to share with me growth they have seen in her. I love, love, love all of her teachers and felt they genuinly cared about us. Mrs. Peters has gone above and beyond to reach out to our family in times of need and never felt like we were a bother or bothersome. Such a wonderful assett to the Beechwood community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2010

I am very happy about sending my grandson too beechwood, he came from another school canal winchester and they did nothing too help him with his ADHD, Beechwood was right on top of it; I am proud to send my grandson too beechwood
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2010

Very dissapointed with this school and as previosly said if your child as any type of problems be it ADHD or behavioral problems they will single them out and make life hard for them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2006

I attended the school from kindergarten through 5th grade. I loved the school. The teachers were great and focused on the students. There number 1 priority was the students and I felt I was special. (WHAT UP homies?)
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 14, 2006

Rate this school...that's interesting because just like everyday life, you will get out of it exactly what you put into it! I have had four kids attend Beechwood and I don't have any complaints toward the school. My wife and I know all of the teachers our kids have had because we made it a point to do so. The spoils of that involvement also lead parents to be familiar with other teachers as well as the administration and the office staff, and in our experience...school board members. 'No child left behind' is a wonderful concept, but fails miserably in practice. If a child gets 'left behind' there is usually a reason! Before you blame teachers,administration or standardized testing, maybe you should grab a mirror! I'm confident 'rookie teachers' and 'Tenured Educators' are'nt in it for the millions, otherwise, they would be second baseman!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2004

I attended Beechwood grades 4-6 and I am so happy I was able to experience such a wonderful place to learn. The teachers are dedicated to helping their children excell in education as well as people. The staff is so helpful and polite. You actually feel at home. Help is always provided to children who need extra help even if the teacher has to spend time after school tutoring children they are more than happy to help. The school provides parents with the resorces needed to help in thier childs education. The building is always clean and I felt safe while I was there. I came from west Virginia and it took some time for me to get used to a new enviroment and everyone was very helpful and patient while I adjusted. My Nephew and two nieces atend the school now and love it there. Bravo Beechwood!Great work!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 10, 2004

I went to Beechwood when I was growing up, that is why I decided to put my children through this school. My daughter is going into the second grade and I have nothing but great things to say about this school, my daughter needed some extra help with reading and they noticed it jumped right on it and now my child is reading everything she gets her hands on. The teachers and staff are wonderful they are all very friendly and very helping I love this school and my daughter also loves Beechwood. Keep up the great work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2004

I have had two children that have gone to school here and absolutely love the teachers and administrative staff. They love the children and are very family oriented. They encourage the children to be the best they can be and they also do this by being good role models. We absolutely love the school and the teachers. They are really dedicated to the children and use their resources as wisely as possible. My oldest son has graduated from Whitehall and has many wonderful memories of the school, staff, coaches and teachers. I wish all children had the opportunity to have such wonderful teachers and role models in their lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2004

This school system is overated and after moving to this district, I am so disappointed in the system. I contribute as much as possible, but it would seem the school doesn't do the same. There is very low tolorance for children with disabilities, my son has ADHD, and has been treated poorly.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students73%
Female63%
Male80%
Black, non-Hispanic43%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic87%
Multiracialn/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled77%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)90%

Reading

All Students62%
Female60%
Male64%
Black, non-Hispanic36%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled68%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students72%
Female64%
Male79%
Black, non-Hispanic64%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled79%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)92%

Reading

All Students72%
Female67%
Male77%
Black, non-Hispanic73%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled77%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students52%
Female50%
Male54%
Black, non-Hispanic40%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic46%
Multiracial50%
White61%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged52%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled55%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)42%

Reading

All Students63%
Female56%
Male70%
Black, non-Hispanic55%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracial60%
White66%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled66%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)83%

Science

All Students51%
Female44%
Male56%
Black, non-Hispanic30%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic55%
Multiracial40%
White63%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged52%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled53%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

In 2010-2011, this school received an Overall Rating of "Met Expected Growth".

Math

Reading

Grade 4MetMet
Grade 5BelowMet

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
81 (2011)
 
80 (2010)
 
79 (2009)
 
84 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value-added estimates from the state of Ohio.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 47% 74%
Black 27% 16%
Hispanic 16% 4%
Two or more races 8% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 2%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 62%N/A47%
Female 48%N/A49%
Male 53%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 9%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Cheryl A. Spain
Fax number
  • (614) 417-5304

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

455 Beechwood Rd
Whitehall, OH 43213
Phone: (614) 417-5300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Mater Dei Academy
Columbus, OH


A+ Arts Academy
Columbus, OH



Holy Spirit School
Columbus, OH




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT