Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kae Avenue Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 440 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 13, 2010

The techers, staff, and principal go above and beyond the call of duty each day. The effort that it put forth to inspire and motivate learning for each student is amazing. I am so impressed with the effort and activities that are planned for students and family. I have never had any issue receiving a courteous and timely response from anyone on the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2010

It's not surprising that reviews of this school are inconsistent- that is a perfect match for how the school is operated. Sadly, many great teachers have fled this school to get away from the craziness. Those who are left are not permitted to say a negative word about anything, for fear of retribution. New teachers are more concerned about texting and chit-chat on their cell phones, than building the students self esteem and motivation. I agree- it's like a prison, for both students and staff.


Posted July 8, 2010

Kae Avenue is not a great school. A few of the teachers are very nice and dedicated to student achievement but, the majority could care less about those kids. As a parent, I feel that they spent more time teaching students how to take a test instead of skills that will actually be useful in life. School should be productive and challenging for students not uninviting and dull. Teachers should be motivated and inspiring. Not at Kae Avenue!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2010

Kae Avenue is a very good school. The teachers work very hard to nurture and develop all of their students and constantly encourage them to be the best learners they can be. The principal encourages the teachers to stimulate and challenge all of the students so they can develop into responsible life-long learners. There are a lot of activities and opportunities for students to obtain additional support if deemed necessary. Parent involvment in welcome and encouraged. I have never seen so many teachers that are this dedicated to the advancement of their students. The faculty and staff at Kae Avenue go above and beyond their job requirements to assist students and their parents when there is an issue. I admire my co-workers for their dedication to the students at Kae Avenue and the community of Whitehall.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 17, 2010

I enjoy working at Kae Avenue Elementary. I believe that the teachers and office staff work really hard and in the best interest of students/families. I acknowledge that the staff is not perfect, however, I know that we go above and beyond everyday to ensure student success and learning. As far as comments regarding the principal, I find it interesting that people have a problem with her never being in her office. Often that is because she is out in the building positively interacting with students and staff. She is very involved and cares a great deal for students and staff in this community. Any time I have ever approached her, she has been willing to listen and take my feelings under consideration. I have also witnessed her do the same thing with students, parents and other staff as well. I applaud her daily efforts in spite of the critics.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 24, 2010

Teachers have an endless caring attitude. My sons were students at Kae Avenue Elementary. They were a challenge many days. But the teachers helped them learn not just academics, but also how to be students in the community of the school. They complimented all the work I was doing with my sons outside of school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2010

I feel this school is outstanding and makes sure that children feel supported and are able to take advantage of every opportunity the school and the staff has to offer. It is disappointing that one or two people are able to use the greats schools site to perpetuate untruths about the school. The principal, teachers and support staff are among the finest individuals I have ever met in a school setting. We are is fortunate to have them in our school serving our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2010

I believe that the Principal and staff members work very hard to make sure the students are learning in a safe environment. I have always been greeted warmly and feel I can get all my questions answered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2010

Let me start by saying the majority of the teachers at Kae Avenue are fabulous! However, the principal is horrible and that is the nicest thing I can say. You can not call her on the phone and speak with her (I had to call the administration building before I could get a response from her). You can not walk into the building and speak with her
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2010

I feel as a parent with a student in Kae Avenue that the school has went downhill in the past 4 years. I blame the Principle. She is very degrading to others. She has ruined the PTA involvement. In the past the PTA would reward the 5th Grade Students with a trip to Kings Island which she stopped about 3 years ago. She has ruined the welcoming atmosphere tha the school use to have. The school feel more like a prison then a school. Its sad when You have kids that love school but don; want to go because of her.. The ONLY good thing about Kae Avenue is the TEACHERS!Kae Avenue need a new and better Principal and Office Staff
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Kae Avenue sends home a monthly newsletter with a calendar of school events. Kae Avenue has had an afterschool tutoring program which include instructional time, enrichment activities and a light dinner until almost 6 PM. There are scout troops in the community as well as sports through the city's Parks and Rec programs. There is a summer school program at the beginning of the summer also. Kae Avenue has at least 2 Music programs per year, we have a Cultural Festival which is a big event, Ice Cream social the day before school starts, just to name a few events. Our district has limited funds and the staff always gives more than they are required. I am proud to teach at Kae!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 15, 2008

The teachers at Kae Avenue really care about their students. I have seen the put in a lot of extra time and effort for their students' learning
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2008

As a busy working parent it is diffitcult to stay informed about after school programs.It would be better for busy parents like myself to recive a monthly news letter regarding this and other subjects of interest for other parents.My son has attened this school for 2 years and I am disapointed to say that I dont not know of any afterschool activites provided by the school if they have any at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
50%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
30%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students65%
Female68%
Male62%
Black, non-Hispanic55%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled70%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)83%

Reading

All Students69%
Female74%
Male65%
Black, non-Hispanic68%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled76%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students69%
Female73%
Male65%
Black, non-Hispanic66%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracial70%
White79%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled73%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)77%

Reading

All Students77%
Female77%
Male77%
Black, non-Hispanic66%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracial80%
White93%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled76%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students55%
Female50%
Male59%
Black, non-Hispanic49%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged52%
Disabled55%
Non-disabled56%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)57%

Reading

All Students48%
Female54%
Male44%
Black, non-Hispanic42%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged52%
Disabled46%
Non-disabled49%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)43%

Science

All Students39%
Female33%
Male44%
Black, non-Hispanic36%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic30%
Multiracialn/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged38%
Disabled46%
Non-disabled38%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)29%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

In 2010-2011, this school received an Overall Rating of "Below Expected Growth".

Math

Reading

Grade 4BelowMet
Grade 5BelowBelow

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
73 (2011)
 
76 (2010)
 
80 (2009)
 
79 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value-added estimates from the state of Ohio.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 46% 16%
White 26% 74%
Hispanic 18% 4%
Two or more races 9% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 2%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 66%N/A47%
Female 46%N/A49%
Male 54%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 12%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (614) 417-5607

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4738 Kae Ave
Whitehall, OH 43213
Phone: (614) 417-5600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Holy Spirit School
Columbus, OH






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT