Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Whitehouse, OH
Students enrolled: 1,350
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Anthony Wayne High School 2

Posted July 09, 2012
- a student
Anthony Wayne is many things, but a great school is not one of them. While there are some decent teachers, there are also a lot of teachers only there for a paycheck. Teachers not actually teaching and finding excuses to waste time in class (ie movies, chatting up the 'popular' kids or showing up 10 minutes into the period) are just some of the issues with the faculty. Even the 'better' teachers are often less than knowledgable about what they are supposedly teaching. As a graduate this past year, I could teach half the classes I took better than these so called 'professionals.' Honors and AP classes generally have better teachers and students who actually want to learn, but AP test prep is somewhat lacking at times and the focus is not always on academics. Regular classes are plagued by students who couldn't care less about school and interrupt class, and teachers who will not discipline them so others can learn. Teaching is blank memorization, with no focus on critical thinking. The administration is a joke. They are only interested in school spirit and community involvement, while academics are put on the back burner. If you are looking for a great education, look elsewhere.

Anthony Wayne High School
no rating

Posted September 21, 2009
- a parent
The teachers and staff are wonderful and do everything they can to help their students succeed.


Anthony Wayne High School
no rating

Posted September 20, 2009
- a community member

Anthony Wayne High School
no rating

Posted September 20, 2009
- a parent
Teachers and administration seem to really care about the kids.

Anthony Wayne High School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
They Have The Best Teachers and Administrators!! Go AW!!!


Anthony Wayne High School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
We are a great school district. We are in need of new buildings but we still maintain our excellent status with great families, teacher, and administrators.

Anthony Wayne High School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a community member
Great teachers, great staff, wonderful administrators, awesome kids! having financial issues, several levies turned down in recent months because of economy.

Anthony Wayne High School 5

Posted May 12, 2008
- a parent
Both of our children graduated from AWHS (daughter 05, son 08). We were always pleased with the teachers and culture of the school. AWHS has high academic standards for its students and is willing to all it can to help each student reach those standards.


Anthony Wayne High School 2

Posted May 21, 2007
- a parent
Not enough focus on real education, solely driven by OGT test results. Not providing rounded education for students. Too many fog days for ridiculous reasons. Failed to aduequately financially plan and control cost. Built unneeded 'gold plated' administration building. Very irresponsible with the tax payers money.

Anthony Wayne High School 5

Posted September 28, 2006
- a student
When I was a student at Anthony Wayne, I considered the academics slightly above average. However, after four years of college with a major in education, I have come to understand how privileged I was to graduate at this fine school. The teachers are most certainly AWHS's greatest asset, especially those who teach the Honors and AP courses. If parents continue to care about their children's education and support levies, this district will continue to equip students with the tools, passion and discipline necessary to succeed in college and in life. Don't take this extraordinary district for granted.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Anthony Wayne High School
5967 Finzel Rd, Whitehouse, OH  43571
(419) 877-0466
Last modified Anthony Wayne High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Anthony Wayne High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top