Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-12
Private
Willoughby, OH
Students enrolled: 385
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 32 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


36 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cornerstone Christian Academy 1

Posted December 11, 2014
- a parent
This school is an elitist sest pool. They classify and separate students by race, social class, gender, ect. Then build them up or break them down accordingly. They're so openly discriminate its illegal and they should be sued for the mental pain and anguish they've caused so many students and parents.
5 people found this helpful

Cornerstone Christian Academy 1

Posted November 07, 2014
- a parent
My child attended CCA for a short time. I quickly learned how this school gives undeserving students good grades to make them feel better about themselves, and in turn, parents believe it is a great school because their child is receiving high marks. Particularly in the Math classes. Beware. Seek out a better school if you truly care about your student's education.
6 people found this helpful


Cornerstone Christian Academy 1

Posted April 01, 2014
- a community member
I've attended Cornerstone several years and every year it's become more and more apparent to me that I made a big mistake attending. Its the education and student life that lack completely. The English and History departments are ran by great teachers and I have really enjoyed their classes. They've challenged me to become a better writer and literature scholar. The Math department, however, lacks greatly and is apparently 'a year ahead of the other public/private schools'. There are hardly any extracurriculars. No clubs, no student ministry, nothing. Basketball is God at this school and if you play any other sport or activity, you take a back seat. The school doesn't even own it's own facilities, yet they have enough money to fund basketball tournaments across the country and plenty of CCA basketball t-shirt sales. Students aren't living their faith, many are very clicky and unChrist-like. The majority of the students have a commute mentality, they get their classes done at CCA and then move on with their lives. No hanging out after school, no study groups, nothing. I wish I could have my freshmen and sophomore years back and had spent them at a real school instead.
10 people found this helpful

Cornerstone Christian Academy 1

Posted March 24, 2014
- a teacher
Great school. Average academics. No AP classes so a little silly. Terrible to work at the school. Low pay, no promotions, and overbearing administration.
8 people found this helpful

Cornerstone Christian Academy 5

Posted January 29, 2014
- a teacher
Cornerstone is a unique school dedicated to quality education in a Christian Environment where each child is considered a unique creation of God with a unique purpose.
1 person found this helpful


Cornerstone Christian Academy 5

Posted October 22, 2013
- a parent
Our son has attended CCA for the past four years, having transferred in from a public school. Although struggling with English for the first part of his freshman year (CCA was greatly ahead of the public school), he was able to catch up (with a lot of hard work!). The teachers are Christ-centered, committed, caring, and go to great lengths to engage and challenge the students. CCA requires its students to work hard and emphasizes development of their critical thinking skills, applying this approach to the "four cores": reading, writing, math, and science. This approach helped our son to score a 30 ACT. He also greatly enjoyed the ability to serve on a missions trip to Nicaragua, as well as other outreach/missions projects sponsored by the school. CCA offers varsity basketball, baseball, and soccer for boys. The coaches for these sports are outstanding, providing an example to the boys in leadership, humility, and a "Christ-first" mentality. The teams in each sport have all had legitimate runs at the state championship. Last, CCA has produced musicals or dramas for each year that our son has attended. And they were fun! As a parent, I highly recommend this school.
1 person found this helpful

Cornerstone Christian Academy 1

Posted October 21, 2013
- a parent
Cornerstone Christian Academy in Willoughby. This school is for the underpriveleged children in the area. If you are an average parent wanting to put your child in a great private school stick to the Catholic schools. Even if you aren't Catholic your child can go to the school. This school is very pricey and they like to add mysterious fees to tuition. I would not recommend this school.
6 people found this helpful

Cornerstone Christian Academy 5

Posted November 12, 2012
- a parent
Amazing school with a great curriculum and staff! My children loved going there and I'd recommend this school to anyone!
1 person found this helpful


Cornerstone Christian Academy 2

Posted September 16, 2012
- a parent
I don't think I would send my children to CCA if I had to do it again. The school says it is rooted in Christian values, but many of the students and the administration do not adhere to those values. They all know the right things to say, but their actions don't match up to true Biblical principles.
4 people found this helpful

Cornerstone Christian Academy 2

Posted August 23, 2012
- a parent
Some really good teachers, some very average teachers, minimal technology in the classroom and almost non-existent library resources, limited music and arts programs, limited athletic program and facilities, very weak leadership with no accountability
4 people found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cornerstone Christian Academy
2846 Som Center Rd, Willoughby, OH  44094
(440) 943-9260
Last modified Cornerstone Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Cornerstone Christian Academy Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. Top