Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-12|Private
385 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
38 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 62 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cornerstone Christian Academy 5

Posted December 28, 2015
- a community member
The changes in structure and administration have brought about many positive opportunities. The school culture is supportive, eveident of Christ's love, and focused on learning and individual growth. Teachers are dedicated and responsive taking a holistic approach.

Cornerstone Christian Academy 5

Posted September 30, 2015
- a parent
Christ centered education, excellent faculty and curriculum, many opportunities for students to participate and grow - all in an environment that values individuals and God's Word. Tuition is very reasonable for all of the extras throughout the year. Strongly recommend, three former/current students.


Cornerstone Christian Academy
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted September 28, 2015
- a student
Varies. Some classes are ridiculously overbearing while other give next to no homework, depends on department and teacher.

Cornerstone Christian Academy 3

Posted August 20, 2015
- a parent
My child attended for 4 years. We were overall pleased with the academics. The teachers were pleasant. The problems that we had were with bullying that was not dealt with in a way that was consistent with their handbook because the perpetrator was the child of a staff member. We finally made the decision to withdraw.

Cornerstone Christian Academy 5

Posted April 27, 2015
- a parent
We just can't say enough good thing about the school. Our kids loved their teachers and the school. Just about everyone from the students to staff that I have chance to work with have been very nice ( I'm also a teacher from other area of town so I know good and not so). We trusted the school with our children education and characters training. If you are not happy with your child education where they at! Check out CCA.


Cornerstone Christian Academy 1

Posted April 15, 2015
- a community member
The academics at CCA are average. There are no AP classes, no instruments or band, very little computer education. Especially the elementary teachers are treated as second class citizens by the office staff and administration. The relatively new principal is leaving because his hands were tied as soon as he started and he was not allowed freedom to do anything that a 'normal' principal should do. The school is actually run by the office staff, lead by the headmaster's mother who was installed as office manager, and the unerring headmaster who is an arrogant, self-serving individual, who is also leaving. The school board is solely made up of puppets for the headmaster and have no idea what really goes on at the school. Besides the obvious nepotism, there is also favoritism where a job it taken away from a well-liked elementary teacher, who is also one of the few state-certified teachers at CCA, and had been there since the elementary school began, and the job given to a young woman who happens to have a connection with the headmaster. Where is the Christ-like behavior in this "Christian" school. Attend at your peril.

Cornerstone Christian Academy 3

Posted January 31, 2015
- a student
I currently go to CCA. It's an ok school. Out of all their sports, they glorify basketball the most. A little too much if you ask me. Some of the teachers are very kind and make it easy and fun to learn, while others teach with too much disiplin and are extremely strict. Some definitely treat people differently based on your social class and grades, while others treat everybody equally. Now to the negative side. Some disiplinary actions are not very Christ-like. A person I knew received a detention for going into a bathroom to vomit. They apparently weren't supposed to use the bathroom because it was a church bathroom. Another time, a teacher almost gave the entire highschool a writing assignment. ALL 250 OF THEM! He said that someone kept bumping into his door but didn't know who it was. Back in 7th grade, people were very rude and told me about how I suck and that they were better than me. I told the teacher. I week later, the entire class had to write a 500 word essay in a week about Christian character due to the lack of it in class, includin me! This school isn't the best, but it's better than the one's I've been too.

Cornerstone Christian Academy 1

Posted December 11, 2014
- a parent
This school is an elitist sest pool. They classify and separate students by race, social class, gender, ect. Then build them up or break them down accordingly. They're so openly discriminate its illegal and they should be sued for the mental pain and anguish they've caused so many students and parents.


Cornerstone Christian Academy 1

Posted November 07, 2014
- a parent
My child attended CCA for a short time. I quickly learned how this school gives undeserving students good grades to make them feel better about themselves, and in turn, parents believe it is a great school because their child is receiving high marks. Particularly in the Math classes. Beware. Seek out a better school if you truly care about your student's education.

Cornerstone Christian Academy 1

Posted April 01, 2014
- a community member
I've attended Cornerstone several years and every year it's become more and more apparent to me that I made a big mistake attending. Its the education and student life that lack completely. The English and History departments are ran by great teachers and I have really enjoyed their classes. They've challenged me to become a better writer and literature scholar. The Math department, however, lacks greatly and is apparently 'a year ahead of the other public/private schools'. There are hardly any extracurriculars. No clubs, no student ministry, nothing. Basketball is God at this school and if you play any other sport or activity, you take a back seat. The school doesn't even own it's own facilities, yet they have enough money to fund basketball tournaments across the country and plenty of CCA basketball t-shirt sales. Students aren't living their faith, many are very clicky and unChrist-like. The majority of the students have a commute mentality, they get their classes done at CCA and then move on with their lives. No hanging out after school, no study groups, nothing. I wish I could have my freshmen and sophomore years back and had spent them at a real school instead.

Nearby schools

Cornerstone Christian Academy
2846 Som Center Rd, Willoughby, OH  44094
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 62 reviews. (440) 943-9260
Last modified Cornerstone Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Top