Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Wilson Hill Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted January 01, 2016
- a parent
At the beginning of the year, my child was having a hard time with some social dynamics with best friends in another class. We had tried to give advice at home, but there were still problems at recess. After one particularly rough day, my child's third grade teacher called to tell me she and the friends' teacher had used their lunch hour to have lunch with the friends to talk about how their choices were hurtful to my child. No one asked the teachers to intervene or spend their personal time to help my kid have better friendships nor would I have expected them to, but Mrs. Hosty and Mrs. Smith did it because they are amazing child-centered teachers. Mrs. Hosty called me and also talked to my child about the lunch with the friends (again using her own time to do it) and it had a really positive impact on my child's friendships and feelings about school. Major love from us for the 3rd grade team!

Wilson Hill Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted January 01, 2016
- a parent
During our time at Wilson Hill, we had a few teachers who were just average (several of whom are no longer at the school), but the vast majority were really stellar. There are even some amazing long-term teachers (Mrs. Malley and Dr. Cordova) who retired but still come back to Wilson Hill as volunteers or substitute teachers. They love our kids and the teaching team so much, they can't stay away!


Wilson Hill Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted January 01, 2016
- a parent
I love the fact that the amount of homework is very reasonable. Most nights, homework consists of 20 minutes of free-reading and about 10 minutes of math practice in younger grades or up to about 30 minutes of math in older grades. I also loved it when teachers provided the entire weeks' homework in advance so we could do it around our various lessons through the week.

Wilson Hill Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted January 01, 2016
- a parent
There are many opportunities for older children to act as role models for younger children. My daughter still plays with and has a nice playground friendship with her Kindergarten Buddy from her 2nd grade year.

Wilson Hill Elementary School 5

Posted January 01, 2016
- a parent
I have had two children at Wilson Hill. What an amazing school! We have had experiences both with the gifted (EPP) program and with a child with an IEP and have had wonderful teachers who really helped both of them thrive and grow. Most of the teachers work as an amazing team and there is a lot of mentorship between the more experienced and newer staff members. There were several bumpy years where there were several principal changes and the lack of leadership and coincided with some changes pushed on to Wilson Hill by the district (BLC) which were hard on the teachers and kids. The new principal Mr. Girard has really been amazing and we are so grateful for his leadership. Areas I would have thought of as real problems at the school (such as the BLC) are now resources that I think really add to the school community. Any concerns I have had (academic and emotional/social) have been more than addressed in a very timely fashion and resolved in a way that left me feeling like the teachers and staff really care about my children and helping them be successful and loved at school. Wilson Hill is a school that really uses the diversity of its families to help kids learn. All kinds of families are embraced and valued members of the Wilson Hill family, whether they are English Language Learners, Gay/Lesbian families, families of color, families of various religions and non-traditional families. We will be sad when our youngest child is finally clapped out of Wilson Hill. What an amazing place it has been for our kids to spend their elementary school years!


Wilson Hill Elementary School 1

Posted January 13, 2015
- a parent
Wilson Hill is a terrible school if your child needs additional support. They do everything in their power to avoid committing to any interventions that will require their teachers to do anything extra. They smile and go through the motions but do nothing. If you can, move. Don't put your kids there.

Wilson Hill Elementary School 5

Posted August 28, 2014
- a parent
Wilson Hill has an amazing staff! The teachers are very compassionate and love what they do. They excel in their ability to juggle a class full of kids while individually helping students with specific needs. They listen to the parents and provide an environment that allows parents to be active in their children's learning.

Wilson Hill Elementary School 5

Posted June 09, 2014
- a parent
Amazing school! My son went there fr kindergarten and had Mrs K. -- she is absolutely wonderful! He has learned and developed so much this year I cant believe it. The school is well maintained, parents involved, staff is very friendly and helpful, principal is great, other teachers awesome. I couldn't be happier with this school!!!!!!!!


Wilson Hill Elementary School 5

Posted November 22, 2011
- a parent
Wonderful school! My daughter has attended since K and is in 6th grade now. Academically, a great school. There is a good amount of diversity and from what I can tell, they do a good job with bully prevention and nipping drama in the bud before it becomes a problem. The teachers are wonderful, accommodating, and from my experience, they genuinely care about the kids and love teaching. Of particular note, the teachers I know that I think are exceptional are, Mrs. Trigg (Mauer) (spelling I am not sure of), Mrs. Romeo, Mrs. Smith, and Mrs. Watkins. Dr. Cordova (4th grade) is very wonderful also! The band director, Mr. Alexis is great as well he loves music and that love for music rubs off on the kids- he loves teaching them and my daughter has really enjoyed it. In addition, the new principal, Mrs. Lesher, is just great! She knows so many, if not most, of the kids by name. The kids love her and relate well to her.

Wilson Hill Elementary School 4

Posted April 28, 2011
- a teacher
Most of the teachers in this school are excellent! If you're lucky, your child will have a chance to be taught by Ms. Barr, Mrs. McCulloch, Mr. Smith, Mrs. Malley or Mrs. Davis, all of whom have a lot of experience and common sense. Mr. Furbee the gym teacher is excellent, kids love him. Mr. Alexis the band teacher is OUTSTANDING, you'll never find a teacher so excited about music! He can encourage even the most reluctant musician. The other teachers are pretty good too, those names will just be the ones you hear when you want to know the BEST teachers are. You will want to avoid, at all costs, Mrs. Amory Marlow. She is unprofessional, uncooperative and disrespectful to parents & children. We were unfortunate enough to have two of our children stuck with her for a year, it was a nightmare. She has no concept of what is appropriate subject matter in books or movies she will expose your children to. She also makes racists comments and when called on it, she will say "I do not censor myself" (these are 3rd graders being taught the "N" word in a very multicultural school). The former principal Mrs. Reeder was top-notch. The current principal seems responsive, so we'll see.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wilson Hill Elementary School
6500 Northland Rd, Worthington, OH  43085
(614) 883-3300
Last modified Wilson Hill Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Wilson Hill Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top