Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Xenia Nazarene Christian School

Private | K-12 | 260 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Xenia

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $100,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $660.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 21, 2011

NCS is a great school! My daughter attended 2 years of preschool and Kindergarten there and it was a wonderful experience. She learned a lot both academically and spiritually. The teachers are a group of caring individuals who really love the kids and want to see them grow in every way. I would recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2011

My daughter attended this school from preschool, and recently graduated from the highschool. She scored exceptionally well on the ACT for college, and I credit her teachers at NCS for that. The teachers were always friendly and caring, they are like a family. My daughter is building her life on a good, Christian foundation in a great part because of the positive influence of this school and teachers who exemplified Christ.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2009

We just love this school Our daughter started Kindergarten there this year and she is doing great! She loves everything about going to school & the teacher is awesome. My only complaint is the lack of communication with the office staff at times but they've been wonderful to work with. I'd highly recommend the school They get their education plus spiritual education & that's what we wanted!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2009

I have attended Xenia Nazarene Christian for 3 years . I began attending in 8th grade. There are a select few teachers, and staff that i think have the qualities and leadership to work here. There are others who need to retire, or learn to communicate and get along with the students better. I am satisfied with the students that come here , but agree with the other parents that our school needs to offer more extra cirricular activities and more involvment. We have some pretty uncalled for rules , and others that are necessary. Over all , this isn't too bad of a school , but i would prefer being in a larger highschool with more to offer.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 22, 2008

My son attended school at Xenia NCS from preschool through 9th grade. I think the elementary and middle school programs are wonderful, but was disappointed with the high school level. The staff was not impressive. There were some inexperienced teachers and some that needed to retire. There is a new principal now so maybe things have changed, but I couldn't risk my childs academic career to wait and find out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2006

I feel that Nazarene Christian School has a decent elementary program. Their upper grades (especially 9-12) have made some changes in the past couple of years that have been an improvement, but they still have a ways to go. There are some concerns in the academic program of the upper grades and with the staff. If your student is involved in sports (other than football) they will have plenty of opportunities to participate. NCS doesn't have much of a music or fine arts program. The staff of the church that is affiliated with NCS is very involved. My students that attend NCS love the children's pastor and youth pastor. They look forward to chapel each week and there is a strong spiritual emphasis. Overall, I see some needs of improvement in staffing and more options for extracurricular choices, but I think it's a pretty good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2005

My son graduated from NCS this year (2005). He has attended this school since Kindergarten. I could not have asked for a better learning environment, better curriculum or better teachers. I sent him to school each day with confidence that he was in very good hands and very safe. The staff takes advantage of the small teacher child ratio in order to ensure that each student gets the best education possible in all areas of life. They have been partners with me in raising my son to be a happy and well adjusted young adult. He is on his way to college this fall and I owe his strong academic skills and love of learning to NCS. The school is lead by a principal that knows each student personally and makes every effort to ensure their school experience is the best one possible. Thank you Nazarene Christian School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2005

My daughter has been a student in this school since pre-school. She has recieved a great education scholastically, and she is surrounded by educators and staff that care about each and every student in the school. Her testing scores are always excellent and her opportunities for college are boundless. She is already getting information from national colleges wanting to offer her opportunities to continue her education at their institutions. There really is something to be said about a school where all of the teachers know all of the students, the school has a true community feel. Its wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

We are just beginning our 5th year with this school and I cannot tell you how please I have been with out learning experience here. My grandaughter has learned so much and her SAT scores are always 2 or 3 grade levels ahead of the grade levels ahead of the grade she is actually in. I have been so pleased with every teacher we have had. You just think every year that it can't get any better but then it does. I thank God for this school and wonderful staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 77%
Black 6% 19%
Hispanic 4% 3%
Asian 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Kris B. Miller
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Church of the nazarene
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (937) 372-1074

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Supports home-based learning
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1204 W 2nd St
Xenia, OH 45385
Phone: (937) 372-4362

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT