Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Volney Rogers Junior High School

Public | 6-9 | 299 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 26, 2014

Absolutely top notch . Teachers will help those who want help . We left Poland schools when my wife lost her job. The move was a easy transition when my child took liking to there teachers. The children there unfortunately do not have the drive or will to succeed like our last school. But a child who is willing to learn can significantly do better in this school. The families here seem to not expect much of there child , we expect more and he has met the challenge . Thank you for the care and determination to make our child feel welcomed and safe. There was all kinds of people who warned us to not put our child in y/town schools. We had no choice and now even if we did we still would of made the same decision .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2014

The teachers spent a lot of time with my child helping assist with his learning disability . I moved to this area for the lower cost of living and hesitated from all the locals putting down the school systems. My child states teachers and staff are always available if needed. It seems as if the problem is that the families the children go home to could care less if there child moves on or does well in school. One student actually encouraged my child to do bad in classes so he can get free college after school !! Is that not unbelievable or what ? Parents seen to not have any involvement with schooling and then turn and blame it on every one else but themselves !! It's time we all stand up and realize teachers are not here to raise our children , it's our faults for our children failing and the sooner we all accept responsibility for our actions the sooner we as a community will prosper. You could take the students and put them in Canfield schools and they still would perform poorly if not worse. I for one feel as if Youngstown far exceeded my expectations and feel as if it's the families that failed ! Shame on us parents, it's our responsibility for our children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2012

The word school is being poorly used in this instance. More like babysitting unruly preteen is more like it. There is no disipline to be heard of, teachers are screaming at kids, throwing items across the room at them, kids are being disruptive and nothing being done. My child went from a straight A report card to D's and F's. There is no teaching being done there and heaven forbid that you be the minority there. You are now the brunt of all hazing and harrassment from the other kids. Nice building, but that is the only thing worth a positive comment there. And Parents are NOT encouraged to particiate within the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2008

you might not hear that much good news but overall the education is excellent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2004

In the 2 years my child has been a student at Volney I have found the teaching staff outstanding and willing to go the extra mile to help any student who wants help. The extracurricular activities are numerous and varied. Any child can find something that interests them. As far as the administration in this school I have had very positive experiences. Any problem has been met with a willingness to reach resolution that was satisfactory to everyone involved. I feel the environment promotes learning, respect and discipline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2004

The school has significant benefits and deficits. While most of the teachers are highly qualified, invested educators with integrity, too many of them are questionable, at best, and seem to keep thier jobs more from vestiture than from ability to teach. Administration is aggressive and unprofessional. They humiliate students and have no use for parental involvement, or interferance. The environment is violent, and very little is done to manage disciplinary issues to protect students and staff. Academic expectations are very low priority, and federal testing assesments are grossly inaccurate. Curriculum and grades are determined indiscriminately, and communication is minimal, if not non-existent. It is difficult to remove students from school, without facing 'legal' implications. My student's civil rights are commonly violated.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
24%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
26%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students40%
Female35%
Male44%
Black, non-Hispanic38%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White44%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabled36%
Non-disabled41%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students47%
Female51%
Male42%
Black, non-Hispanic44%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabled39%
Non-disabled49%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students21%
Female28%
Male16%
Black, non-Hispanic20%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White29%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabled27%
Non-disabled18%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students31%
Female39%
Male26%
Black, non-Hispanic26%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabled27%
Non-disabled33%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabledn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabledn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabledn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

In 2010-2011, this school received an Overall Rating of "Met Expected Growth".

Math

Reading

Grade 6MetMet
Grade 7MetMet
Grade 8MetAbove

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
76 (2011)
 
71 (2010)
 
69 (2009)
 
75 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value-added estimates from the state of Ohio.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 74% 16%
White 17% 74%
Hispanic 5% 4%
Two or more races 5% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 2%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 95%N/A47%
Female 44%N/A49%
Male 56%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 30%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Artemus D. Scissum
Fax number
  • (330) 480-1908

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2400 South Schenley
Youngstown, OH 44509
Phone: (330) 744-7996

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Southside Academy
Youngstown, OH




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT