Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

West Boulevard Elementary School

Public | K-4 | 489 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 24, 2012

The 2nd grade teachers are only concerned about their scores and keeping the school looking good. They are not concerned with the student's well being. The teachers would have conferences with me and make it seem like my child could not concentrate or make friends. They sent my child to the office several times for not having 2 sharpened pencils upon arrival to school. They tried to build a record on my child and had unauthorized meetings to try and get a diagnosis for ADHD. All of this was stressful on my child as well as my houshold. We moved on to another school highly ranked by great schools and the grades got better and friendships came easily.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2012

I think that West Blvd is a wonderful school. When my son was in elementary school they helped me realize that something wasn't right and he was helped early on so that it won't affect his education later in life. For that I am ever so grateful he has been on honor roll ever since. My daughter will be a 4th grader next year she very smart and gets bored very easily so they are always pushing her which i really love about that school. I am all for academics being a teacher myself. I strongly believe that studies are much more important then extra curricular activities and am very pleased with the amount of work my children bring home. Although my family does have a bit of a busy schedule's we always find time for studies. If it is something we don't understand we are able to contact our teachers any time of the day or early evening for questions or explanation of school work. They make you feel as if there is never a stupid question...I believe West fully deserves there blue ribbon. Great job!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2012

I have had 3 children in this particular school and hated it, at first. However, (yes, it is 2nd grade that is the toughest!) as I came to understand the expectations, school has actually gotten soooooo much easier for all 3 of my kids. With the first, we spent many nights crying at the table with homework. With the 2nd, it was still a struggle, but opened our eyes to needs that she had in order to be successful. With the 3rd, we had such a predictable schedule, that there was no struggle or tears. It really has translated to school being very manageable for my kids. So, it has been a blessing in disguise. I have had personality conflicts along the way, but nothing more than I would expect in everyday life and they've always tried to help!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2012

This School is so HORRIBLE. They teachers are so rude, and they make the kids go on yelllow if they talk in the cafeteria, or if they complain about their leg hurting all day, or not puting your name on the right side of paper or not putting your mail box number on your paper, they are trying to raise robots, these are kids not robots, when your kid says there stomach hurts everyday because they are scared they are going to get on yellow , and get in trouble. I would not in a million years every send your child here , they give the kids so much homework, when thay are Just in secong grade, they dont understand we have scedules tooo, we have extra curicular things we do, who wants to spend 3 hours a night on home work, i do not know why people have gave this school good reviews. im so sick of this school, the teachers if your a minute late for your teacher conference they basically yell at you acting like you are a child or something. They are trying so hard to keep their blue ribbon of best school but they kill the kids in the process, they kill their self esteem so bad!. I would not tell anybody to send their kid here they will be misrable, SO OVERALL HORRIBLE SCHOOL!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2010

West Boulevard has been a great school for my son who started in Kindergarten. The teachers and the principal have been very energetic and enthusiastic. They are readily available to handle any issue. The school is clean and has good art, science, music, and PE programs. I only wish they had a little more science.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

West Blvd. is a wonderful school, with amazing teachers. All of the staff take time to really know the students. Mr. Cervello, the principal, is a kind and loving individual. It really is a school with heart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2008

My son is currently going into third grade and I cannot say enough great things about West Blvd. From the principal to the teachers to support staff, he has gotten an outstanding education with so many people working so well together. AND he has FUN! Sherri Beitzel
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2008

Awesome school, my daughter has been there two years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2007

Both of my children, one went for all five years and the other is on her fifth year currently at this school. Not only does the school offer an excellent ciriculum, it also has helped build character and stressed kindness to one another. All of the Teachers and Staff I have dealt with have had one main goal 'Educating your child to the best of their capability'. Parent/Teacher relationship is also stressed as well at this facility. It truly is a great school for your children, I know it was and is for my two children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

Our students are well educated by the time they leave West Blvd. A very proud school to be a part of. My son requires a little more attention because of a slower learning problem and they are very up on it an give him the extra help that he needs. His twin brother is also doing very well. My thanks to all that go out of their way to give the extra help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2004

I am a former student of West Boulevard Elementary. Currently, I am a teacher, and there have been many times when I think back to my days at W.B. and think that the teachers were so ahead of their times, and they gave me such a strong foundation for my education. I hope that I am able to live up to their teaching abilities in which they have displayed when I was in school. Thank you to the wonderful staff at W.B. I hope that the tradition continues!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students99%
Female>=95%
Male>=95%
Black, non-Hispanic91%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged>=95%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabled91%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students99%
Female>=95%
Male>=95%
Black, non-Hispanic91%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged>=95%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabled91%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students96%
Female95%
Male>=95%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged>=95%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students99%
Female>=95%
Male>=95%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged>=95%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

In 2010-2011, this school received an Overall Rating of "Met Expected Growth".

Math

Reading

Grade 4AboveMet

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
110 (2011)
 
112 (2010)
 
111 (2009)
 
106 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value-added estimates from the state of Ohio.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 74%
Black 8% 16%
Hispanic 6% 4%
Two or more races 5% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 2%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 41%N/A47%
Female 45%N/A49%
Male 55%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 10%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Alphonse A. Cervello
Fax number
  • (330) 726-0397

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6125 West Blvd
Youngstown, OH 44512
Phone: (330) 726-3427

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT