Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Plainview High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 8, 2014

If I was moving to the Ardmore area I would not send my child to Plainview School Distract. All they care about is the State and Fed ratings. The students are taught the test for the test. Plainview "Was" a great school the best in the Ardmore area after the latest administration took over it has become a third rate school.


Posted January 14, 2014

Awful. The material is to hard for your average students. The teachers do not care if you have trouble and do not do a good job of explaining the work. The students are very rude and look down on you if you are different. They only like you if you have tons of money and wear designer clothes. All of Plainview is awful.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 20, 2010

The 2010-2011 school year is the first year in 23 years that I will not have a child at Plainview. I have seen this school grow from a good country school to a first class, highly regarded, school system. Plainview schools achieve high rankings because of great parent involvement and excellent teachers. Rigor is a mainstay of the schools. My youngest son, who is in a national honors program in college, told me that his course work at college is easier than Plainview. Plainview prepares students to succeed.


Posted July 27, 2009

Personally I believe Plainview is all about money. If your parents make a lot of money, you will do better at Plainview schools. As in teachers will give you better grades, and you can get away with a lot more (ex. not having to follow dress code). The staff isn't alone on judging you on the amount of money you have, the students do it as well, even in elementary school. If you don't wear name brands kids will make fun of you, and I don't believe it is a good environment to be raised in.


Posted January 27, 2009

I attended Plainview Schools from pre-school through High school and graduated in 2006. I was completely prepared for college! I am currently finishing up my Junior year, and I still have a 4.0. When I get married and start a family I definitely want my children attending Plainview Schools. Teachers were great, school spirit was great, and it was just an overall good atmosphere. Other schools in the area just don't compare!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 6, 2009

This school is very good. You child will learn much more than they would at any other school. Go to school here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 18, 2006

As in most schools, you have some great teachers, many good teachers and a few that shouldn't be teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2006

My son has been a student at Plainview since kindergarten, and we have not had ONE instance of an uncaring teacher - and don't recall THAT much use of tutors. As a lifelong Ardmore resident, and an Ardmore graduate, my family and I have more than loved the Plainview school system. It is a GREAT place for a really good education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2005

Most students have tutors because the teachers at the middle school level didn't care if the kids understood the material or not. It seemed to be a 'keep up or leave the district' attitude. I also found them to be clickish and snobby. I don't like it at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2005

I am a graduate of Plainview High School and I can honestly say that I was very prepared for the rigorous class schedule and curriculum in college.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 12, 2004

This is a wonderful school they go one on one with the students i really enjoy it. It seems to be one of the better schools.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 87% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 81% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
86%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
97%
English II

The state average for English II was 91% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
English III

The state average for English III was 96% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
96%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 89% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
99%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 81% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests End-of-Instruction (OCCT EOI) exams to test students in high school in several subjects. The OCCT EOI is a high school graduation requirement. The OCCT EOI exams are standards-based tests, which means they measure specific skills defined for each subject by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 59%
Native American 9% 16%
Hispanic 5% 14%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 2%
Black 3% 9%
Source: State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 129%N/A61%
Special education 221%N/A15%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1140 South Plainview Rd
Ardmore, OK 73401
Phone: (580) 490-3111

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Lone Grove High School
Lone Grove, OK






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT