Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lake Park Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 382 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 23, 2013

Our family loves Lake Park Elementary!!! My children have gone there for a few years and have excelled. The staff is great and very helpful. I am at ease knowing that my children are well taken care of. My husband and his brothers also went to Lake Park and they recall fond memories from there more than any other school that they attended growing up. If you have new students there is no better family for them to be a part of more than Lake Park Elementary School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2013

The special ed department for kids with disabilities is amazing. We moved up from Texas and they assessed Texas iep and considered implementing the good things from it. My sons cognitive skills were about a 2 1/2 year old level at the age of 4. They transitioned him out of special ed within one year. Unfortunately we moved and he will no longer be attending this school. But I wish we could have stayed here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2012

The teachers at this school seem to enjoy teaching and try hard to teach all of their students. However, if your child has a hard time learning to read, they don't seem to have the knowledge or resources to help. Eligibility and IEP meetings become tense if you start asking too many question looking for details on their curriculum or instruction practices. I was actually told at one such meeting that we should not focus on academics right now. Needless to say, I read them the riot act.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

They have the most wonderful staff and facalty of anywhere I've been. THEY LOVE KIDS!!!! And the WORK to show it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

My granddaughter is a first grader there. I love their reading program.


Posted May 24, 2008

Great school! Mrs Taylor did such a wonderful job with the Kindergarteners. My granddaughter loved being in her class and learned so much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2007

mY daughter was a pre-kindergardener last school I fought really hard to get her there and it was well worth the fight!! I was totally pleased with this school the teacherwas wonderful and so thoughtful to the kids and the parents. they have lots of fun family things at the school through out the year! I wish my daughter could of attended this school for for the rest of her elementary school years ! I attented putnam city schools my during my school years not to long ago ;) and this is got to best one of the best!!!! Go Lions!!! AM
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2006

Our son a third grader has attended Lakepark Elementary since his first day at kindergarten. We feel our child is in a positive, fun, protective environment. He is reading above his grade level and continues to progress. Why? The teachers at Lakepark, they interact wonderfully with their students. The principle knows all the children and they respond to him in a positive manner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2005

I have 2 children attending Lake Park great teachers,principal,& kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

We love Lake Park! We had our son transferred to Lake Park because it is a smaller school, the staff are some of the most caring people we've met, and there is a huge amount of parental involvement. Everyone knows everyone and is so supportive. We love Lake Park and will continue there as long as they will have us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

My daughter has attended this school since pre-k. She is now starting 3rd grade. The teachers and staff are wonderful with the children. It is a safe environment for the students. The staff are attentive to each students needs. I would not have my daughter in any other school! Keep it up Lake Park!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2003

We have a 3yr.old granddaughter going to Lake-park for speech and she loves it. They have help her so much. The children that are in lab,the parents cames to all the school activities.We are talking about children that are not even school age yet.But there for special needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

28 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2012.

28 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
80%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

30 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
62%

2009

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2012.

30 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
65%

2009

 
 
96%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

32 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
62%

2009

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2012.

32 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
62%

2009

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 91% in 2012.

32 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
86%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 77% in 2012.

32 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

33 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 54%
Hispanic 14% 12%
Black 10% 10%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 18%
Asian 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 60%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8221 North West 30
Bethany, OK 73008
Phone: (405) 789-7068

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Children's Center
Bethany, OK


New Life Christian Academy
Oklahoma City, OK



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT