Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Central Elementary School

Public | PK-3 | 852 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 23, 2012

I have had 1 child attend here and the the 2nd is there now. I personally know many of the teachers/admins there and they are not only great educators, but people as well. Zero complaints here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2012

This school is fantastic. The principal has always had a very welcoming ear to address our concerns and compliments. My child's teachers have all been wonderful educators excelling my child beyond the minimum standards. And we have attended other schools in other states to compare it to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

It has all of the ingredients to be a perfect school. Several different cultures are represented as well as a wide range of income, from our community workers (fireman & policeman to doctors & the wealthiest in the Tulsa area). The staff is enthusiastic about what they do and it flows down to our students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2010

It is a wonderful school with a small town feel where you actually know most everyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2010

Central Elementary is an excellent school with committed teachers and great parental involvement. Our daughter is thriving there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2009

We love Central. Both of my kids have attended Central and are happy and well prepared!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2008

My child has attended Central for 4 years. It is a wonderful school. She has had superior teachers that are creative and very kind. Central offers a great education to its students. Dr. Delana McManus
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2008

We have had 2 children go to this school for a number of years. Very good overall, however, when they move to 5th grade, they are unprepared. It is not the school's fault, but the Administration's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2007

My two children have gone to Central for two years. We have really enjoyed the school. The kindergarten and first grade curriculum is very thorough! The teachers are pleasant and the atmosphere is more of a small town feel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2006

I love Central the small school system the community the teachers and the willingness of the parents involvement. I have available all my childs papers and grades at my fingertips. Any help my child or I need they are more than willing to assist.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2005

Love the Bixby School System! My son has gone to this school for the last 3yrs and I only have great things to say about his teachers,counslers and the staff that work there. They really seem to care for the children and the teachers he(my son) has had so far really keep me as a parent updated on what is going on in class. Thanks for all your hard work Brown Gray!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 59%
Hispanic 9% 14%
Native American 8% 16%
Black 2% 9%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Source: State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 133%N/A61%
Special education 215%N/A15%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Lydia Wilson

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

201 South Main Street
Bixby, OK 74008
Phone: (918) 366-2282

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT