Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bixby High School 1

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
They hired an Elvis impersonator to teach and coach. Enough said. Elvis would probably serve jail time for his shady past, preying on young girls and doing pills. Shame on the district for hiring the distraction. He also bragged about sleeping with a younger teacher at his last job.

Bixby High School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
My 8th grader has about 1 to 2 and a half hours of home work a night. Neither one of my kids in high school have had more than 2 hours of homework in a single week this year but they get A's and B's.

Bixby High School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
To much fraternizing between students and teachers. I think any teacher that is friends with any students on social media should be terminated immediately. There are multiple staff members that socialize with students on social media and I just find it inappropriate no matter how you look at it.

Bixby High School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
Most of the students have a "I'll just deal with it to get by" attitude. I think it is that way because the teachers are too busy playing on their phones and worrying about gossiping every chance they get and only a few teachers will actually take the time to deal with students like they should.

Bixby High School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted June 29, 2015
- a parent
We transferred out of state and moved to this area because of Bixbys rating. We have found the elementary and intermediate school to be satisfactory but the middle school and high school is awful. Faculty is incompetent and does not work well with students and parents. Unfortunately my elementary kids had harder homework than my high school students. Very disappointed that in core classes they give you "participation" points and do not grade the homework.

Bixby High School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted June 29, 2015
- a parent
Usually no homework and core classes are graded on participation not quality of work. Very poor

Bixby High School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted June 29, 2015
- a parent
Some teachers try to be friends with the students and not mentors. Too many young teachers at the high school

Bixby High School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted June 29, 2015
- a parent
One daughter had surgery on voting feet and teachers would not work with her on keeping books in class, dismissing her early, or helping her get to class. She was actually knocked to the ground and had to be taken to dr. Thought we might have to redo the surgery

Bixby High School 1

Posted June 29, 2015
- a parent
We moved to this area because of Bixbys rating. The elementary and intermediate schools are satisfactory but the Middle School and High Schools are awful. Faculty is incompetent and not willing to work with parents and students. Unfortunately my elementary kids had harder homework and more accountability than my high school kids. Instead of grading their work they receive "participation" points. Very disappointed and we will be moving from this area

Bixby High School 3

Posted May 18, 2015
- a parent
Certain teachers bring the best out in their students. The three stars are for them.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bixby High School
601 South Riverview Drive, Bixby, OK  74008
(918) 366-2234
Last modified Bixby High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bixby High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top