Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bixby Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 23, 2016
- a parent
Thank you to the Band teachers and the art teacher at this school. You are the reason my daughter got up and wanted to be at school!

Bixby Middle School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted June 23, 2016
- a parent
It's hard to agree to this when your child is the one who was bullied by others and then concern was dismissed by Counselor.

Bixby Middle School 3

Posted June 23, 2016
- a parent
My Daughter had some teachers that really seemed to care and others didn't. I did get a lot of communication from some teachers. It's just harder when you have a child with special needs at this level.

Bixby Middle School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted May 20, 2015
- a parent
I don't know for sure, but I do know that the lower local schools did, Central Elementary school and the local intermediate school.

Bixby Middle School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted May 20, 2015
- a parent
There always seemed to be an undercurrent of non-transparency. I don't know what this was about, but it felt uncomfortable.

Bixby Middle School 3

Posted August 20, 2013
- a parent
Some teachers there really care and understand teenagers. However, a few others have dimmed the lights somewhat. This is the reason for a 3. When my child was in 8th grade, it was horrible. Example: He scored higher on the state exam than what he received on his final reposrt card. (I hired a tutor for most of the school year). While the teacher obviously knew the subject at hand, for whatever reason, she did not teach the subject in a way that my child could learn. This is not what bothered me the most however. What bothered me was that she appeared to be (along with a couple of other teachers) pretty smugged and didn't like to make eye contact. In other words, these teachers have agendas and will follow the "game" plan at any cost. They do not have a heart for teenagers and really do not belong in the field they are in if they don't care enough about their students and fail to make a solid eye contact (to confirm with their students/parents) that they are on the same page with you and your child and want your child to succeed. After all, who is paying their wages?? if not the tax payers. Thumbs up on who to beware of; please pay attention to your parental intuition. I wish I did.

Bixby Middle School 1

Posted March 06, 2012
- a parent
This school is just like it was if your a kid troubled or are in trouble, they have no time or need to keep you in the school system,they pick one and ride them ,stay on their backs knowing they will get a reaction, and they get enough, they push them out, it was done to me in the 90's here, but they tell people they have facilities to deal with these things,well that is still to get them out and make sure they mess up their record .!

Bixby Middle School 5

Posted May 20, 2011
- a parent
my kid started late in the year because of a move. they made him feel at home and he loves this school. I would give it more than 5 stars if I could.

Bixby Middle School 5

Posted November 14, 2008
- a parent
Raise your kids the Spartan Way! Values and Ethics are prime real estate in Bixby!

Bixby Middle School 5

Posted April 04, 2004
- a parent
Bixby Schools are wonderful! For being a small school district, they have much to offer the students. The teachers are excellent and the children are well behaved and interested in learning.

Nearby schools

Bixby Middle School
9401 East 161st Street, Bixby, OK  74008
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. (918) 366-2203
Last modified Bixby Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top