Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Peters Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 543 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Friday, April 18, 2014

This school is clearly struggling with over crowding. The teacher herself has even stated severly disturbing news to me, as a parent. The classroom is disorganized and the student run ramped, on the desk, under the desk.... everywhere. Homework folders are confusing, and the students do not seem like they are being lead. I am looking for a way to get my child into a different organization.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2011

As with all schools in Oklahoma, funding is an issue. The school is currently struggling with classroom overcrowding. 23 kids in a kindergarten class with no teacher's assistant is ridiculous. Most of the teachers are good and care about their jobs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

I had three sons going to Peters one still attends the school. I pulled my kindergartner out because of of student teacher ratio. There are 23-25 students per class. My kindergartner is now working at a first grade level from home. My first grader(that is still attending Peters) still seems to have trouble reading despite my efforts from home. Its not the teachers its the district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2008

I love Peters it is a warm and caring school. The teachers are kind and thoughtful. The education is challenging and rewarding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2008

We are new to Peters, this being our first year. My daughter is in 3rd grade. So far it has been a wonderful experience for us. The staff and students are so polite and they are well organized. We are pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2006

I am very happy that my childs first school experience is in a place that we love. His teacher is wonderful, the drop off and pick up routine is very well organized, everyone I've talked to has been helpful and friendly, and I feel that he will be safe and encouraged and have fun after I leave. (He is in Pre-K).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2004

My daughter is now in the 3rd grade. Her experiences at school have been both good and bad. The best part of the bad experiences is she has been able to learn from the experience. She loves her teachers and her school. As a parent, I am pleased with the individual attention the teachers and principal show towards the students and the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2003

My daughter has gone to Peters since kindergarten. She has always been quite advanced. I was afraid that Peters wouldn't be able to 'meet her needs', i.e. give her work that would challenge her. I should never have doubted Peters Elementary. Every single teacher she has had so far has gone above and beyond the call of duty to give her work that's on 'her level.' She LOVES school, loves her teachers, and basically has had a GREAT experience at Peters. The school is run well -- has a principal who really cares. She's always available if you have a concern. I always feel totally comfortable around her. She is most definitely approachable. I appreciate all the hard work performed by the Peters teachers and administration. It is quite obvious that 'kids are their number one priority.'
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

59 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
61%

2009

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2012.

59 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
79%

2009

 
 
94%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

65 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
65%

2009

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2012.

66 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
63%

2009

 
 
94%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

71 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
82%

2009

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2012.

71 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
74%

2009

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 91% in 2012.

71 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 77% in 2012.

71 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

69 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 54%
American Indian/Alaska Native 9% 18%
Hispanic 8% 12%
Asian 6% 2%
Black 6% 10%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 37%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2900 West College
Broken Arrow, OK 74012
Phone: (918) 357-4338

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT