Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Broken Arrow High School

Public | 9-12 | 1 student

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 13, 2011

I LOVE Broken Arrow High School! There's no harsh Cliques here, everyone tries to get along with each other. The education is awesome. I had to move from here my Junior year to Claremore High School and it really showed me how great BAHS is. I will be sending my kids there when I have them. The diversity of this school is what makes it great. Awesome cafeteria food selection. -2011 Graduate
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 11, 2011

It's been a while since I was a student at Broken Arrow High School but my nieces and nephews have attending. For the most part, I remember my teachers being fair. If you apply yourself, you will get the help. I was in extracurricular activities that did not include football and Pride. I felt that the community & the school stood behind my organizations and my accomplishments. My younger family members feel the same way. I wouldn't put a child in any other metro area school system!


Posted August 16, 2010

This school has no money for anything because they blow it ALL on band (pride) and football. They permanently closed one of the parking lots this year and painted yard lines on it for the football team. In a school of 2,000+ students, we need all of the parking spaces we can get. There are reasonably average teachers, but the campus is so big that it's really a stretch to be able to get from class to class in the allotted 5 minutes. Not to mention, the corridors are all outside, so it's excessively cold in the winter, hot in the summer, etc.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 29, 2010

Wow they can't afford paper but they can build a freaking new sports building? I feel sorry for the teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 22, 2010

Let's just say BA only cares about Pride and the Football team.. If you could care less about recognition for anything you might do (outside of band and football), then this school might be for you. Most teachers seem sane, all school systems seem to be set up right and flow properly (prom), they seem lenient on school activities such as bake sales, and the number of yearly fights seems extremely low for a school. One thing that really irritated me this year was the amount of money we're wasting on the 'sports building' (AKA: strictly football building), rather than spending it toward fixing up a lot of the parking lot problems...
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 12, 2010

I am an alumi of Broken Arrow. I can honestly say that the only thing that BA school seems to really care about is the pride and the football team. I was in the school choir and no one gave us any recognition for what we did. We did state competitions and won, but the football team would lose and they would get a whole speech about how they could do better. But it boils down to this question: would I go back? Honestly, yes. I got a great education, I was never bullied and I had great teachers and friendships come out of it. If your child isn't into school spirit, BA's for them.


Posted October 24, 2009

I am a parent as well as an alumni of Broken Arrow. In fact I made sure we were in the BA district when it was time for our kids to start school. Like any school you will have your students, parents and teachers who just frankly do not care. I have found that parent involvement goes a long way in the quality of education your child will find. The teachers we have had for the most part have been wonderful and caring but a teacher can only do so much. My oldest child is in the Pride and will be graduating this year. I know she has had the most amazing opportunities and I look forward to my youngest finding his path in BA. I applaud the teachers in BA, they have a hard job and one not everyone could handle with such class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2009

The Broken Arrow School System does not care about students. The only thing that matters to them is the Football Team and The Band. If your student is in any other type of activity, you might as well forget any kind of school support. Plus when they do happen to hire a teacher who really cares about the students, they don't keep them over a year. Sent your child to any other school system except BROKEN ARROW!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2009

The accelerated and AP classes here are superb and have the best teachers. On level teachers are adequate and are still very helpful. I take all accelerated/ AP classes but two: my electives. One is fine, the other is a discipline problem and frustrates me with its apathy. However, where advanced classes are concerned, the school is excellent and it may just be an isolated class I don't like. Band, contrary to another review, pays for itself (last year's cost to each student was about $2000.00).
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 4, 2008

My son is graduating next semester (2009). I honestly say, despite the enormous size of BAHS, it is the best high school in Oklahoma & would hold it's own against any high school in the nation. My son has received an extraordinary education. The AP opportunities, clubs, organizations - are 2nd to none. I can't say enough wonderful things about his teachers. Specifically, his AP Chemistry, AP Calculus, AP Statistics teacher have all went over and above for their students. The teachers are at school early and stay late everyday for these kids. These instructors hold multiple degrees and yet chose to teach our teenagers. They are real heros. The administrative staff are friendly and professional. The student body is diverse. While this opens the kids up to things that can be disruptive, it is what real life is going to throw at them. I highly recommend BA schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2008

I taught at BA last year and it is by far the lowest level of education I've ever experienced. The kids don't care and neither do their parents. Now I'm at Booker T. and it's such a relief to teach kids that actually want to learn!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 16, 2008

BAHS is a great school! The large selection of electives and honors/AP courses prepare students for just about any college environment. The school offers great opportunities for all students -- no matter what their interests may be. There are numerous athletic groups as well as countless club and social organizations, not to mention the musical options. My husband and I both graduated from BA, as did our two daughters. I would recommend it to anyone moving to this area!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2008

BAHS is welcoming and I can honestly say this is a great school. Since the campus is larger, you can meet all kinds of people. The teachers are caring and are patient with their students. I had a bad experience at SIHS, but BAHS made up for it. I love this school and would recommend it to anyone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 13, 2008

broken arrow highschool rocks i go there and i plan to send my kids there as well it's a very good enviroment and very open. It's just all around good, good teachers, good kids.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 30, 2008

As a former student I feel Broken Arrow gave me the ability to be my own person. I was the Student Council President, a member of NHS, member of the Senior Council, member of DECA, I played on the football team and the soccer team as well as multiple other clubs including the debate team... I loved BA I wish others could have as could of a time I did....
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 4, 2007

I graduated BA in 1990 and have two children there also. I would not send them anywhere else. Big school, definately. Lots of diffent types of people, absolutely but this prepares them for real life. You don't get to pick and choose who your neighbors will be but you can prepare your life so that you are ready for whatever is thrown at you and I truly believe BA schools is the place to accomplish that.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 23, 2006

This is a very large school, so it can provide challenging classes and prepare a student for college. I was able to gain admission and a scholarship to a prestigious university with the education I received there. The disadvantages are that it is so large that you can get lost in the crowd. Broken Arrow only has one high school, so all of the kids go to school together. This means that your child will be in school with every kind of person. This can be a good and a bad thing.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 15, 2005

As a parent of 3 children in the BA school system, I can not say enough good about it.As with all schools/districts, there are positive and negative aspects concerning the academics, sports, band, etc. I know for a fact that a majority of funds for the extra-curricular activities, i.e. band, cheerleading, football, come from the kids and parents themselves thru many,many hours of fundraising. A lot of the teachers take extra courses every year and give of their time and of their own money to provide what the students need in their classroom.All over the country, you are going to have 'rich' kids think they are better than the 'poor' kids. Do I think that the school system is 'perfect'? No.Broken Arrow public schools are as great as you are ever going to find.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2005

i am a senior about to graduate from Broken Arrow Senior High next year. I have received nothing but the best from this school system. Of course their are teachers who are execption to the norm and then there are teacher who go above the call of duty. Yes Broken Arrow does put a lot of focus on extra curriculars but i don't see it as a bad thing, it breaks up the monotony of day to day school work and helps students to make the most of high school. I, for one, would not want to be part of a school system that only focused on academics and nothing else, schools like that turn out graduates with excellent academic ability but they have no personal or social skills, which are equally important to academics.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 9, 2005

I attend all 13 years in a Broken Arrow School (Class of 2003). The education system is designed for average students. If you excel at any subject then you have no real chance to show it. I was placed into the gifted and talented program from 3rd grade and it was the biggest waste of time ever. Sports don t really get competitive until 10th grade and then you better be awesome or you're riding the bench, if that. Highly restrictive dress code for public schools (even flip-flops were banned). If you accidentally brought your cell phone on campus, forgot your ID, or had 3 tardies then it was an auto 3day detention. They baby students on late work. Great AP program but BA does not prepare non-AP students for college. BA may have been nationally ranked in the 80s but do not appear in Newsweek s latest 1000 Best High Schools.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 84% in 2012.

15 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
36%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 77% in 2012.

633 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
50%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 79% in 2012.

25 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
53%
English II

The state average for English II was 88% in 2012.

11 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
79%
English III

The state average for English III was 92% in 2012.

909 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
90%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 87% in 2012.

166 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2009.

1111 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2009.

1032 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
86%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 77% in 2012.

56 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests End-of-Instruction (OCCT EOI) exams to test students in high school in several subjects. The OCCT EOI is a high school graduation requirement. The OCCT EOI exams are standards-based tests, which means they measure specific skills defined for each subject by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 54%
Two or more races 8% 5%
Hispanic 7% 13%
Black 4% 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 17%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 30%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Rugby
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Rugby
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1901 East Albany
Broken Arrow, OK 74012
Phone: (918) 259-4310

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

New Covenant Academy
Broken Arrow, OK



Summit Christian Academy
Broken Arrow, OK





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT