Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Indian Springs Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 17, 2013

I went there in 4th and 5th grade 15 years ago. I loved that school. Best teachers ever!!


Posted July 21, 2013

Academically the school is great as my kids have flourished and have done great learning wise. Unfortunately I don't think a lot of the teachers have any business teaching small children. They are expected to act way older than these kids are and get in trouble for very petty things and simply acting their age. This isn't only an issue with my kids as I've ha several other parents tell me the exact same thing. There are still some great teachers here but most are rather disappointing. A 4 year old just going to preschool for the first time need gentle, loving guidance. Not rude, grumpy teachers who pick on them for acting how 4 year olds act.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

Great little school serving the second generation of our family!


Posted May 29, 2009

Great school. Teachers are great and Mr Smith is an excellent principle who gets involved with the children. Chloe and Dalen had fun and they loved it!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2009

Education is okay but the school is still behind on a lot. There is no diversity in the school and the school seems to be segregated on race.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2005

Educational content is adequate but, leaves much to be desired. More important though is the fact administrators here are completely deaf to parental concerns. Responses to parental questions or concerens are patronizing at best and often border on hostile. The worst thing that has happened to our family is that our children have been treated with hostility because we expressed some concerns. We tried not to do this is a hostile way we just expressed our concern and a desire to see changes considered in the future but, our children we still treated much differently after that regardless. If we can possibly rearrange our finances to send my children to a private school or find a way to get them OUT of this school we will do it and put up with macaroni and cheese if we have to in order to GET THEM OUT of this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2005

IS is a great school. My 3 kids have gone to this school throughout their entire elementary experience, beginning in the 4 year-old program (which is now a full-day). Each of my children's teachers have been at IS for many years, which promotes a sense of stability and family, yet they truly strive to incorporate the best learning techniques by their participation in continuing education and seminars. The school facilities are dated, with many of the classes in modular buildings, but the learning environment is great. Each of my kids have excelled academically and socially in this safe and nurturing environment. I wish BA could find a way to update the campus, but don't let the curb appeal fool you...this is a great school for kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2004

Indian Springs is a great school!!! My daughter is in her 4th year at ISE and we love the teachers and staff. We couldn't ask for a better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
93%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 77% in 2012.

55 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 66% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 59%
Hispanic 8% 14%
Native American 8% 16%
Black 5% 9%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Source: State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 144%N/A61%
Special education 216%N/A15%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8800 South Fawnwood Court
Broken Arrow, OK 74011
Phone: (918) 259-4410

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT