Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Immanuel Lutheran Christian Academy

Private | PK-12 | 280 students

Small class sizes/ more one on one

 
 

Living in Broken Arrow

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $143,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $900.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 20, 2014

My daughter attended Immanuel the last 2 years. This school is absolutely first rate. Students receive individual attention. Teachers are Christian role models. Quality Christian school. Quality education. Quality staff. A+++
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2014

ILCA is simply amazing! They offer something for every student. Sports, Clubs, Student-Led Chapel, Advanced Art, Band, Vocal Music, Consumer Sciences, Yearbook, Economics, Chapel Band, Internships, etc. The teachers work very hard to make sure our children our learning, both academically and spiritually.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2014

Immanuel is an excellent school with quality education K-12th. Caring teachers will work extra time with your children to assure competentecy with concepts. They have done this with mine! God is honored at this school. That is why I'm pleased to recommend it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2014

Outstanding in all respects! Best teachers, best value and best kept secret too. You won't be sorry.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2013

My daughter currently attends kindergarten and absolutely loves it! She attended the pre-k program last year and my other daughter (who is 9 now) went there for their pre-k program. They are an excellent Christian school with a focus on Christ and higher education. My kindergartener, who is the youngest in her class, is on the verge of reading already! The staff is incredible and everybody knows my daughter by name. She still sees her pre-k teacher from time to time and always wants to give him a big hug. As a full time working mother of three, I fill at ease knowing that my daughter is being well taken care of. The school even offers a before and after school program with an exceptionally sweet and loving teacher who genuinely cares for my daughter. From the office staff, the police officer on staff (who also attends my church!), the teachers and the after school program teachers, I feel completely blessed to have my daughter be part of such a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2013

Very scary! They do not teach cursive to their students! Why are they following Tulsa Public Schools curriculum? Isn't this why you pay for a private school, so they are NOT followers, but leading the way. I guess they do not study the Book of Revelations??? The harm in this may not be "seen" for many, many years...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

Very disappointing...They are cutting back on many things, including, technology and qualified teachers, and still increasing tuition. Many situations have shown that things are given to those based on "likeness" instead of merit. Is this their Christian way? I would NOT recommend this learning institution any longer as I would have previously. They seem to be changing towards CONSTANT fundraisers and asking for money! Yet they don't put any attention to how many students are not re-enrolling the next school year. They need to remember "word of mouth" and how many students they are missing out on. A poor leader for a headmaster who says one thing, but does another. A school cannot shine if their leadership doesn't have ethics. Many of the teachers and staff are exceptional! However, they can only do so much when the main leader does not follow through and take care of immediate issues (some safety concerns) when a large number of parents, even go as far as to, involve the school board. NOT dealing with situations...is how they choose to DEAL with situations! Please give your monthly tuition to a institution based on merit and ethics.


Posted August 17, 2013

My children have been at ILCA for a couple of years. They both love it! They are middle and high school students, the public schools made them miserable! They actually like going to school now. There is not discrimination! Everyone is very nice, if you give of yourself and your time, you feel like part of the family. The teachers are great, however, your kid may not excel as much, depending on the advanced classes some school systems offer. For a small school they offer a lot, 5 sports, band, music, drama, various clubs, etc. The only bad thing is, if your child gets on the wrong side of a teacher, your stuck, some of the teachers have your child 4 years. ILCA has won awards for being an exceptional school. Tour it you will be glad you did.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2012

It was important to us to give our child a quality education in a Christ-centered environment and that is exactly what we have experienced at Immanuel. Our daughter started there in preschool after a very unpleasant experience with another school. My husband and I were so happy with the preschool that we decided to keep her at Immanuel for kindergarten. We were impressed by the way the Kindergarten teacher worked with our daughter's learning style instead of trying to make her fit into a mold. This was possible due to the small class size. We felt like if our child had been in a public school, without the personal attention, she would have struggled in kindergarten. We also had a great experience with 1st grade. Our daughter just started 2nd grade and we are confident her expereince in 1st gade had her well prepared for this year. That was also evident from her standardized test results, which were at or above average in all categories. Overall, we have been very pleased with ILCA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2011

This is a fantastic school! My daughter loves going here. The staff is caring & professional. I have been very impressed. We have noticed how much our daughter has been learning this year compared to attending a public school in previous years. She receives much more attention because of the small class sizes. My daughter is happy to go to school everyday!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2010

My children both attend this school. We have been impressed with the high level of Christian education they are receiving there. The teachers push the children to do their best and it shows.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2010

ICA is probably one of the best schools I've ever had the pleasure of having my children in; he's now 12 yrs. old. We skipped a year last year, but have two years there. There are small classes, 10-12, excellent teachers, great principal, Christ led prayer and teaching. An excellent band instructor and just great, friendly people everywhere. It's a great school to have your child enrolled in. Discrimination, we not experienced any what so ever. None. My child is african-american and hispanic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2010

ICA IS The worst christian school ever my children have been trough a lot they realy had bad expirence from the ica teachers and students discremation in every way we talk with some parents and we choice to take out our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2009

Man, we havent had that experience at this school at all. Our children LOVE their teachers and their classes, and everyone is so helpful and polite. We are comfortable each day, knowing that they are taken care of and loved. We would recommend this school to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2008

We had two children at this school. One infant (3 months old) and one 3 year old. We have pulled both from this school. The infant we pulled within a month of enrolling and the toddler within about 8 months. Our 3 year old really liked his classmates so we were hesitant but we just couldn't take it anymore.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 57%
American Indian/Alaska Native 13% 23%
Hispanic 6% 10%
Black 5% 9%
Two or more races 5% N/A
Asian 1% N/A
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Security personnel
Assistant principal(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Katherine McGrew
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • Infant
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Lutheran Church (Missouri Synod)
Fax number
  • (918) 251-8365

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Project-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Security personnel
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Mentoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Cub scouts
  • Girl scouts
  • National Honor Society
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

400 N Aspen Ave
Broken Arrow, OK 74012
Website: Click here
Phone: (918) 251-5422

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Peters Elementary School
Broken Arrow, OK



Legacy Christian Academy
Broken Arrow, OK



Summit Christian Academy
Broken Arrow, OK



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT