Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Catoosa High School

Public | 9-12 | 609 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 17, 2011

I am staying neutral right now but am upset about how many kids I have found out that have failed grades. Almost 30% of kids that I have met failed ATLEAST 1 grade. My daughter failed 2nd grade and that was after her struggling all year. The minute I noticed her falling behind I asked for help for her. They said "too bad she doesn't have funding because she is not the lowest in her class"!!! I agree with a earlier post that the teachers have a job and that's it. Catoosa needs to get more caring and compassionate teachers that treat it as a career of excelling kiddo's versus their 9-5. Just my thoughts..... My daughter is afraid to raise her hand in class because her teacher gets mad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2008

I moved my son to Catoosa from Broken Arrow where he was 'just another number'. The principal, Mr. Cypert, is wonderful! My son has made a tremendous change in everything since being at Catoosa and actually likes school now! He is so much happier now it is so nice to see him this way! THanks Mr. Cypert!!! I would recomend this school to anyone who's children seem to be having problems in the bigger school system. This is more of a 'family' setting type school, and sure, it's not perfect, but we have been extremely pleased!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2008

I really have mixed emotions. My daughter did excellent there, but I did find some of the teachers were just there for a job. Then on the other hand I found some that went the extra mile. I guess really that is all public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2008

This is a great school. I am only a Sophomore there right now, but I have learned alot of the social world. I know that doesn't mean anything, but I've had some teachers that are amazing, they teach the stuff you need to know and everything along the lines. It's a great school and I hate when people trash on it, it's just not the right thing to do. When you went to a school, you want people to be able to talk about it don't you you? That's just how I feel about this whole thing
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 24, 2008

Catoosa is going down hill. I have graduated from there and when i went off to college, I found out that I wasn't ready for it. Most of my teachers discussed things that I didn't know. They said it should of have been taught at High School. Most of the teachers I had at Catoosa didn't know their subjects. Some classes we just watched movies. When I start my family, I will not send my kids there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 14, 2008

My so graduated from this school and come to find out he was not ready for college at all. Tis school is so behind and ill prepared. I do not reccomend any Catoosa school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2007

Lack of teacher discipline. The school has had a faultering school spirit, in the past 2 years especially, and now finds itself with poor student body performance. Not a good place for an education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 25, 2007

Catoosa is the BEST thing that happened me.My family and I move here 16 or 17 years a go a year or two after the baby of the family, that me,was born I am now 17 and I loves my teachers they are so understanding.U need to give the teacher a break. They only have 45 minute to get all that they need to get done done.They have six 45 minute classes with 30 students at most,and at least 20 in each class and they work with all the students.They are there for 7:30- 3:00 even later for the students that need help.some even some a 6:30 some at 7:00.also how many school my the kids fell safe we have cameras all over the the only place there are no cameras are the bathroom and locker room. we have 3 full time police officers to help the students any time.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 28, 2006

I have been extremely disappointed in the Catoosa School District. My son transferred here from Tulsa Public Schools primarily due to academic and other issues. I thought the move to a smaller school would provide me more of an opportunity to monitor his work and grades. The exact opposite happened. I spent months trying to get teachers to return emails or communicate with me regarding my son's progress. It didn't happen. In Catoosa, they offer a website called K12Planet. However, Catoosa teachers only list grades there and not assignments. Now I can only react rather than being proactive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2006

The teachers and councelors at this school do not have the best interest of the students at heart. Try getting information on grades and/or get a logical explaination to 'anything'. It just doesn't happen. I moved to Catoosa thinking the smaller schools would be a benefit to my son, was I ever wrong. How can they expect our children to exceed if the teachers aren't willing to do their part. Maybe the administration should concider hiring teachers that really want to work with kids and parents to help them acheive what they are capable of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2006

This school is literally falling apart. The student programs other than athletics are on life support. The place is a dump. This directly effects our students which is why we chose to withdrawl our students and place them in another district. Academics also suffer as they refuse to push the student body to higher achievement. I hope the school improves soon so we can all be proud of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2005

Catoosa Public schools have shown to have great students who really focus on making the grade. I am speaking from what I have seen from being a family member to a Catoosa High Student. I also attended Catoosa Schools.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 30, 2005

The Catoosa Public Schools System is great. It is medium sized (not too small, not too large). Both of my daughters started at Catoosa in middle school, and the thing that has surprised me the most is that most of the peer pressure they have recieved is positive: the 'in-crowd' is largely Christian, and very involved in school and extra-curricular activities. Involvement in sports, choir, band, art, student council, advanced placement classes, etc. is highly encouraged by the students themselves. Parental involvement is high. Student safety is high on the school's list. The Middle School and High School share a campus, which has its own federally-funded police department which currently has 2 full-time officers. The fact that these officers are part of the school campus gives the students not only the opportunity to get to know the officers who protect them, but gives them a higher sense of security.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2005

I thank this school rocks! I have been to this school since the 1st grade.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 16, 2004

Good for students who are popular and athletic, and well academically (no less than 20 students in each class, which can make it a tad hard for those who need more help than others and those who are used to great all-the-time help and small classes).
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 84% in 2012.

118 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
62%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 77% in 2012.

124 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
38%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 79% in 2012.

120 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
77%
English II

The state average for English II was 88% in 2012.

123 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
85%
English III

The state average for English III was 92% in 2012.

106 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
81%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 87% in 2012.

112 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2009.

162 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2009.

145 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
72%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 77% in 2012.

113 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests End-of-Instruction (OCCT EOI) exams to test students in high school in several subjects. The OCCT EOI is a high school graduation requirement. The OCCT EOI exams are standards-based tests, which means they measure specific skills defined for each subject by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 55% 54%
American Indian/Alaska Native 36% 18%
Hispanic 7% 12%
Asian 1% 2%
Black 1% 10%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2000 South Cherokee St
Catoosa, OK 74015
Phone: (918) 266-8619

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Verdigris High School
Claremore, OK


Broken Arrow High School
Broken Arrow, OK


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT