Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Friend Public School

Public | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 17, 2013

My son loves his school! Is learning on an above grade level. I drive the extra miles just so he can go here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2011

Friend is a great school! My daughter enjoys her class and loves her teacher. The teachers have high expectations of the students and do what it takes to help the succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

All 3 of my kids went to Friend and now my grandson is there. Friend School is like a family and it is run by teachers and administrators with high moral character. Students who graduate from Friend are usually ahead of those from nearby schools academically. Friend goes from Pre-K-8th grade. One year there were 9 valedictorians in various high schools in our county who graduated from 8th grade at Friend. Friend School is the best school ever!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

I love Friend School! They have wonderful teachers who really care about the education of our children. And the staff is great too. My daughter is just in Pre-K but she has learned so much in just 8 months! I have friends whose children have gone to Friend School, and I have friends who have gone there themselves, and they have nothing but wonderful things to say about the school. I want my daughter to get the best education around, and she will get that, I believe, at Friend School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2009

I was a student at Friend from K-8th grade. I loved everything about it and I'm now proud to say my son is a student there. The teachers, the activities, the food, the socializing, it's all wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2009

my children have went to this school for 7 years and we love every bit of it. Great staff and students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2009

i just love the school my daughter is in the third grade and has made mostly a's since she has attended i think the teachers are excellent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2008

Great teachers. A small school with caring faculty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2005

Friend School is a wonderful school. The teachers are very involved with the kids. The communication between the teachers and parents is great. The kids are all involved with the extracurricular activities, from sports to music programs and the entire school staff supports them. My kids are above the national average on their state tests and I have no doubt it is because of the great teachers. The teachers are always available to help the kids and to help the parents help their kids. I wouldn't think of sending my kids anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2005

The academics at Friend School are wonderful the kids are well prepared for High School when it is time to go. Parent involvement is very high there.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

27 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
78%

2009

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2012.

26 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
94%

2009

 
 
90%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

17 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2012.

17 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
91%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

15 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
62%

2009

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2012.

15 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 91% in 2012.

15 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 77% in 2012.

15 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

15 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

15 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
57%

2009

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2012.

15 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
79%

2009

 
 
69%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2012.

10 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
67%

2009

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2012.

11 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
60%

2009

 
 
80%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 89% in 2012.

11 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2012.

10 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
64%

2009

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2012.

10 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2012.

10 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
100%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 77% in 2012.

10 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 95% in 2012.

11 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 54%
Hispanic 15% 13%
Two or more races 11% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 10% 17%
Black 1% 10%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1307 County Rd 1350
Chickasha, OK 73018
Phone: (405) 224-3822

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT