Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Indian Meridian Elementary School

Public | PK-2 | 567 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 23, 2014

I am completely satisfied with this school. Actually I'm thankful my 6 kids went/currently attend this school. The staff is awesome and very understanding. They stick to rules following safety in regards to my children. I have personally witnessed the school allow the kids time to salute the flags, practice the school creed, and time to acknowledge their own religious belief every morning. I am proud to see a school like this and wish there were more like it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2011

Beware this school and school system condones their staff and faculty to push their religious agendas on students regardless of your child's 1st amendment rights. They have teachers that allow and teach creationism in their classes. Numerous amount of school assemblies and sports events go out of their way to invoke their deity regardless of your child's religious affiliation or lack their of, when confronted with about these occurrences the school system does little to correct it. If you care about your child being taught about diversity, critical thinking skills, logic, science and facts than this school system will sorely disappoint you and leave you quite frustrated at how your taxes are being spent for nonsense.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2011

Check out the YMCA Before and After School Enrichment Program at IME and JGI. The staff has been together at this site for 2 years and will be together again for the 2011-2012 school year. It is much more than a "day care" as it includes tutoring, crafts, games, free play, theater, daily sharing time, music, dancing, healthy heart snacks, and nutrition goals. Staff to child ratio is 1 teacher for every 15 children. It accepts DHS and payments on a sliding scale. Call 323-2201 to talk with the Site Director to answer all of your questions, or call 733-9266 to talk about enrolling.


Posted April 21, 2009

My children have had a wonderful experience in this school. The leadership is superb. The teachers are top notch. They have an open door policy, which is rare these days. The principals truly put the children first. They have their priorities in line! I feel blessed to be a part of this organization!! Thank you to all of the wonderful leaders, staff, and teachers at IME!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2008

Tired, old-line school with negative teachers and little leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2008

We have been at this school for two years now, and I have been quit disappointed. They like to boast that they are a 'Great Expactations School' but they have absolutely nothing for the advanced children. The advanced children are forced to do whatever the class does since they do everything together. I really don't see anything wrong with reading groups, but they won't have them since some kids might feel bad. So, for the sake of making every one feel good about themselves, the advanced children suffer. The principals and staff are also not good at listening to parents concerns when they have already made up their minds on what they want to do. They also have overly strict rules that make no sense and the kids don't have much oportunity to be kids. I have been very disappointed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2008

While I do believe that the teachers and staff are genuine and doing their best, I have to admit I have been sorely diappointed with this school. It has many rules that I do not understand. And picking up your children is a nightmare! If you are considering sending your children here I would strongly advise visiting it first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2007

While I agree with discipline, I believe that school is also a social education where children learn to relate to others of all ages. I cannot agree with the strict social discipline as it is enforced at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2007

Pre-K was awesome last year...my daughters teachers were perfect..the principal and office staff are great too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2007

I am sad to say that we are leaving this school district. Not because we want to but because we are moving. I love this school, the location, the staff, the programs. We have been blessed to have had the opportunity to have our children attend this school. It is a wonderful place with wonderful people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2005

This is a Great Expectaion school. The principal and teachers are the BEST! They really care for the children. The school has programs in place for children who need a little exta help. IME also has a Transitional First grade. They have added a K-4 to the school which makes drop-off and picking up a nightmare, because the 4 year olds can not ride the bus and every child has to be picked up by an adult. My own children attenting here, and this is my 6th year being involved with IME.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2004

This is a wonderful School! The education here is priceless and the Principal as well as teachers have a open door. The only improvement would be separate Bus Lanes from Parents Lanes for safty purposes, as well as improved parking, but I will have to say waiting in the drop off line is worth the patience compared to the education and love children recieve here at IME. The have several programs in place so children will not fall 'thru the cracks'. I have had three children in his school as well as various nieces and nephews, they still come back and vist.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 59%
Hispanic 7% 14%
Native American 7% 16%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Black 1% 9%
Source: State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 134%N/A61%
Special education 211%N/A15%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Karri Wilson

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1865 South Indian Meridian Road
Choctaw, OK 73020
Website: Click here
Phone: (405) 390-8585

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT