Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

James Griffith Intermediate Elementary School

Public | 3-5 | 449 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 20, 2009

Excellent school. You cannot find a more nurturing staff with such high standards. They care about each individual child, not giving up on even one. The principal or vice principal personally meets each child at the door every morning, greeting each one by name. I am honored to have my children attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2008

JGI is the best school in the district because the teachers care for the students thats why your kids should come to JGI in Choctaw,Ok.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 29, 2007

I have been teaching for 16 years and have taught in other schools in other districts. JGI is hands down the best experience I have had in teaching. The kids and parents are amazing! The teaching staff is dedicated in making a difference in the lives of children. The administrative staff is the best I have had the privilege to work with. I am so grateful to be a part of something wonderful.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 1, 2007

I consider the school to be excellent. There is a great staff that works together. The students are learning to respect themselves, each other, and the staff. The parents who parcipate in the school activities are great.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 24, 2007

MY son attends JGI and I also feel disappointed after leaving IME. I have tried to talk to the principal about some issues and she just said she would look into and did nothing to fix the problem. There is'nt much parent teacher communication and they don't seem to be there to help the students. My child loved IME and looked forward to going to school everyday but complains about attending JGI.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2007

James Griffith Intermediate School has been a wonderful experience for my child this year. This is her first year here and she loves everything about JGI from her teachers, to the administration. The administration here is impeccable. This school runs smoothly and at anytime of day, you can walk through it and hear learning taking place. My child had some bad previous school experiences down the hill but this year has restored our appreciation for good educational experiences in public schools. This school is always clean, parents are welcome to help with any projects, and the communication between school and home is phenomenal. My child has learned so much this year. James Griffith is a wonderful school from top to bottom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2007

I can not believe the ratings I've just read! JGI is awesome. Parents what are you thinking! My 5 children are getting the best education available to them anywhere. Yes, the school is strict, good, kids need direction and correction. What are you looking for, a fun daycare for your kids, or an opportunity to create members of the community that are responsible, polite, caring contributors to society. The teachers and principal (staff) are excellent examples for students and parents to follow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2004

We are only in our first year and so far we have nothing but trouble. If your child is considered an outcast then they are treated as one by all the children at the school. And the administrators and counselors at the school do not seem to do anything about it. We wished it was ran more like IME. Only a few of the teachers make it worth while. If it wasn't for our child's 4th grade teacher we would have left a long time ago.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2004

I'm glad it's over for my family, I enjoyed most of the teachers...it made it tolerable. I'm just glad our 3 years are over, it was horrible experience, we went from a great school and principal at IME that was a wonderful communicator and supportive professsional to down the hill where you were discouraged to communicate, and the lunches at JGI were stinky and again didn't do any good to talk to anyone about it. One more thing, it was a very clean school. And I do appreciate the teachers who were postive!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2003

My children attend or have attended this school. The teaching is excellent. The discipline is firm and caring simultaneously. I give the school my highest recommendation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2003

I think the tachers are a bit harsh in the way hey speak to the children(shut-up get spoke a lot). They have a lunchroom streetlight that goes off with a selected volume. The teachers tends to put it on the softest so it goes off and the kids miss out on recess most days. And if the teachers dont want to go outside because of the weather they tend to make sure the light goes off. I think this is wrong, the kids need to run & play. This is they only time they can interact with friends. On days they are inside they must do work or write the school rules. More work! Not far. Let the kids be kids. Dont you remember recess growning up? This is a big issue with me!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 77% in 2012.

114 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
87%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 66% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 59%
Hispanic 8% 14%
Native American 7% 16%
Black 1% 9%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Source: State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 140%N/A61%
Special education 217%N/A15%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1861 South Indian Meridian Road
Choctaw, OK 73020
Website: Click here
Phone: (405) 390-2153

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT