Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sequoyah Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 6, 2011

This is the Best School!! My Daughter Loves this school and has excelled at everything!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2010

I am a parent and my kids are in 1st grade and 4th. This school has bent over backwards for my daughter. She has selective mutism. She wouldn't talk to anyone, not her teachers or even her classmates and she wouldn't participate in anything. She has been going here since k-and is my 4th grader, she has made a complete turn around. They were very patient with her and they have been doing everything to make her feel comfortable. My daughter has all A's and B's and I give this school a 5 rating!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2010

My child is in Pre-K and he has came so far in developmental skills since entering this school system. Cant wait to see how he developes in the following years. My 18 yr old girlfriend is a senior and has always went there, she is a very bright girl, am very proud of her and what this school has made of her. Sincerely Brandy Barnett.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2008

What a wonderful learning environment Sequoyah Public Schools has to offer. My oldest daughter has attended Sequoyah elementary for 4 years now and my two little ones are attending Pre-K. We LOVE this school, the teachers, the principal...it is just awesome! Thanks Sequoyah Eagles!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2006

I am currently a student at sequoyah Jr. High and have been attending sequoyah since pre-k. I find the school to be an excellent place to have partially grown up. The teachers at Sequoyah great,especially my geometry teacher Chris Hansen (she is a wonderful person). The sports program is outstanding we are very competitive and play our hardest in every sport. The coaches are great they are strict but fair. The principle in the Jr. High is really great, I have known him for almost forever and you will never find a nicer person. Well, all around Sequoyah school is a great, but small school in my opinion.Go Eagles!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 26, 2004

I think Sequoyah is a very great school. I have been going there since Kindergarden to 8th grade. I have never had any complaints about it. They have great athletic teams, especially the track team. We went and did our best, and got 2nd overall. The teachers are great, and so are the students. I wish I didn't have to leave, because they have such a great educational programs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 26, 2004

I am a student of the Sepuoyah school systems, and I have been since I was in Kindergarten. Throughout the past thirteen years I have got to see the changes taking place. It truly is amazing. The Elementary take part in a program calles 'Great Expectations,' because they really do have great expectations for those children, and help them reach thier ful potintial. Mrs. Trent, the principal, is a fair, just lady and she respects and values all of her teachers. It is great to watch all of those children grow and learn respect and manners. Sequoyah is a wonderful school system, I have loved my past years in it, and I will be kindof sad to leave it. Seqyouah is also a very safe school, they are really careful when it comes to the safety of those children.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 20, 2004

My son was placed in this schoool. He only lives a mile a away. After a week they decided he need to go tofoyil stating he was in the wrong district. They gave no good rerason except to say they don't except transfers. My son is 8 years old and in the 3rd grade. He reads on the 5th grade level. Mrs tieges was very nice but insisted he couldn't go to her school. I do believe they were not taking my son's abilities and the fact he had been at school for a week already into consideration. Please take this into consideration.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 77% in 2012.

80 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 66% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 59%
Native American 41% 16%
Hispanic 3% 14%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Black 0% 9%
Source: State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 146%N/A61%
Special education 218%N/A15%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

16441 South 4180 Rd
Claremore, OK 74017
Phone: (918) 341-6111

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT