Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Westside Elementary School

Public | PK-4 | 714 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 25, 2014

Great school. We are very pleased. The teachers are awesome. The school actually encourages parent involvement. The new principal is great . She has done a wonderful job . The staff is so helpful and welcoming . They have helped my child and myself so much transitioning from a different school. Last year my child attended Westside . We moved and the school my child was assigned was not as good. I transfered her back to Westside for the rest of the year and plan on keeping her there from here on . This school has a lot of activities at the school during the year for students and their families to attend that are fun. They have family fun night , Ice cream socials and The last day of school they go above and beyond. Last year they rented a blow up water slide , played games and had special lunch and the parents were allowed to attend. I love this school because they allow kids to be kids. They do not act inconvenienced by the kids child - like behavior . They are patient and caring. Westside Rocks!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2012

Staff is composed of catty, middle-aged drama queens. This place is the perfect example that when you dare speak your mind about any concern you may have, they will not take it the way you'd expect adults to behave; they will remember your name, face, your child, and will go out of their way to be unhelpful. It's a serious red flag when you find out from your own child that he was left outside after recess on a hot day and it wasn't until someone saw him through the locked glass doors that he was able to get in; and the principal/teacher denying it, then changing their story is just disturbing. Then being served court papers because your child was 1 minute late to class more than 5 times in one month, when in fact he was on time, but had to use the bathroom, then got lost because there was no one there to make sure these children make it to their respective class. Zero open-mindedness, no leadership, no room for individual growth, favoritism between students (wrong student folder sent home showed teacher comments, stickers, smileys), ungraceful way of verbally disciplining students, and the most infantile, catty behavior within a 10-foot radius you'll ever see since high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2011

I wen't to this scool about 7yrs ago and I went there for 4years. Even now I will tell you out of the 6 six schools I've gone to and the one I'm at now, this was the best school I wish to go back and visit the best teacher soon :)


Posted November 9, 2010

My daughter went to this school for Kindergarden and First Grade. We noticed as the years progressed she had "tummy aches" and other reasons she couldn't go to school. Finally she told us she didn't like school and that the other kids were mean and the teachers wouldn't listen to her when she complained. Her Kindergarden teacher even forgot her birthday, which made her cry for an hour! This year she is in Claremont and loves it. The new school has changed her whole outlook on school and she is getting straight A's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

We love Westside! My son is a second generation Westsider with his mom (me) and two aunts attending before him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2008

We moved here a year ago, & I have been very happy with the school staff. The PTA has not made a lasting impression on me, but they do have fun things to do for the kids. The Principal is AWESOME!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2007

We moved to Claremore at the beginning of this school year, and we have been very pleased with Westside. We had a horrible pre-K experience in our hometown, and were hoping for something better. My son is in kindergarten, and I am so impressed with his reading ability. His teacher (Cummings)is remarkable. She has a way with the kids that every teacher should have. She has had quite an impact on my son's confidence as well as his behavior. He had a rough time his first day, and the office staff and principal were outstanding. We love Westside! - M. Smith
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

This is my childrens' first year at Westside but they are so happy there. They have made many friends and the teachers seem so great in every way. The office staff is very helpful and nice and the principal seems to be great as well. There does not seem to be any issue of bullying tolerated at this school and that is hard to find at most schools. We have been very happy with this school for many reasons. I would recommend this school to any parent looking for a change for the better for their child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2004

Outstanding school. Teachers and staff are very responsive to the child's need, outside of the classroom, as well as the parent's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2004

Our school is very progressive in the areas of child safety and reading programs. We also have a new program which exposes children to the performing arts. I have been impressed by the school and staff, although I feel that they may need to expand their facility in the near future to accomodate a growing area population.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

90 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2012.

89 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
93%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

63 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2012.

64 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
94%

2009

 
 
94%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 54%
American Indian/Alaska Native 35% 18%
Hispanic 5% 12%
Black 3% 10%
Asian 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 3%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2600 Holly Rd
Claremore, OK 74017
Phone: (918) 699-7301

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT