Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Southside Elementary School

Public | PK-3 | 428 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 13, 2010

This is our first year at Southside - Pre-K - and we absolutely LOVE our teacher! Mrs. Benson and her aide Ms. Debbie have been so great! Our little one has learned so much already. We look forward to our son growing up in the Coweta School District.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2010

awsome school, teachers are down to earth and really teach, not babysit. My son is reading at a 5th grade level and he will start 1st grade this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2007

This is a nice facility. The drop off/ pick up area is alot easier and less hassle than central. The teachers are all very nice to me. And the office is very patient and friendly. One of my daughters went to central last year i hated it compared to southside. The office is stroller accesible compared to central as well, and that makes a big difference to moms of little ones.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2006

This is a fantastic school, my kids do very well and the teachers are knowledgeable and very kind to parents and the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2006

If your child can get up and do their schooling on their own every day then this is the school for them. The teachers at this school is there for a pay check only they dont have time to help the kids who really need help. Just think this school gets $10,000 per child per year to keep your kids from learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2005

Newest of the school district's facilities. Current administration at school is new, but learning quickly. Nice facility and good faculty. My children did well, and the learning environment was well established.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

71 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2012.

77 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
79%

2009

 
 
84%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 54%
American Indian/Alaska Native 27% 18%
Black 4% 10%
Hispanic 3% 12%
Asian 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 45%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15289 Hwy 72
Coweta, OK 74429
Phone: (918) 279-0480

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Highland Park Elementary
Broken Arrow, OK


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT