Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Coweta Junior High School

Public | 7-8 | 531 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 12, 2013

As a former student in 2002-2004 I have to say that this school is just awful!! I hated it with a passion. It should be shut down. The teachers are nosy and rude. They do nothing to prevent bulling. I will never send my daughter to this WHOREable school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2010

personally those reveiws only conentrate on negative things there are many posotive things at this school and I am proud to be a tiger.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 26, 2009

I go to the school, and i think its the best school i've ever been to in coweta. There are no drugs being sold here. I love our principal, he is the bomb. If you are that disgusted with it being 'un-christianly' or whatever, put your child in a freaking private school! We aren't the only school that cusses, gets in trouble, or fights. I am proud to be a Tiger at Coweta Junior High.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 1, 2008

This school is great if your child has is an A,B, student but if your child has any handicap or learning problems they will not fit in. No special classes for most of the students that may need them and are put in classes they should not be in to make there class size come out right
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

We are so excited about the 2 new school being built in Coweta. My son has had a great time at CJH. All he can talk about is how helpful and nice are his teachers and principals are.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2007

I love CJH and so does my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2007

I agree and disagree with all the other comments. There are a handful of great teachers. I have no respect with any of the Jr. High Principal's. I disagree that this is a Christian atmosphere. My children talk about drugs actually being traded and sold in the hallways and classrooms. You see definite favoritism between the teachers and students. I know society has a lot to do with how the teachers interact with the children. They have finally gotten up-to-date with the computer system where you can go and view your children's grades. This is great; because yes, the teachers do not call you until it's too late if they are having concerns with your children. Parent's must step up and get involved with what is going on with their children in school Great school? No.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2007

This school has some very dedicated teachers. The main problems that students face are 1). The lazy attitude displayed by the principal, 2). The lack of non-athletic elective classes, and 3). The complete absence of leadership skills and professionalism by the assistant principal. The current school administration will eventually run off the good teachers due to the lack of support. I hope the superintendent will investigate just how poorly the school is being run and make the necessary changes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2007

I have two children that attend this school. They are both excellent students that have had good teachers who are all willing to work and communicate with parents who are willing to be a part of their children's education. All Junior Highs will have some fights and discipline problems. I feel that there the administration is doing a good job keeping my children safe and well educated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2005

I bought my house last year in Coweta and was excited for my children to go to this school. To my dismass last year was a disaster! My son was bullied numerous times and was held accountable for defending his self! When I received his report card this summer he had flunked all classes but football!! I never received a phone call or a letter from any teacher, principal or counselor! I called and talk to the principal and he stated it was my responsibility to contact the school and check on his grades. Again I called this year because my son was told at a scrimmage while he was playing that he now needed to go sit out that he was ineligible to play for 6 weeks because of his grades last semester. After talking to the principal it was my fault for not knowing policy! Not handled correctly!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2005

My child was held back in 8th grade,and I did not receive one single phone call or mailed letter until it was too late. This was especially upsetting when my calls to the school had gone unreturned. Most of the time the office won't even answer the phone. Under-staffed? Short on budget? Whatever the excuse,the kids are paying the price. If I had a choice,my child would not attend this school either. Currently I am looking into other options. We moved to this area from out of state. My child is an exceptional athlete,who has not been able to play because of grades.Trying to get some extra help for him has proved impossible. How can I arrange help if nobody will return a call?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2005

Emphasis on academics is so-so. Administration spends most of their time on disciplinary problems. Parental involvement is not encouraged unless their child is in sports. Bullying is rampant and administration will punish the complainer and protect the bully. Children are being withdrawn and transferred to other districts in record numbers. Many others have chosen home-schooling. Alternative school is recommended for all who complain about bullies. Out of sight, out of principle's hair. Heaven help you if your child makes a mistake, they won't be allowed back in school. Both of mine, ages 15 and 9 are begging to be home-schooled. This used to be a great school, now it's an embarrasment. Send your kids some where else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2004

I think this is a great school, the teachers are involved and have an important position in a childs life. The administration their is very good as well. Teachers motivate students and help them to reach there full potential.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 8, 2004

I think this is a very good school because the teacher are involved in a childs learning. There is a good christain environment as well. This schools administration is very good.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2003

There needs to be more supervision, security and intervention, almost every day there was a fight or a brawl of somesort either in the halls or in the parking lot waiting for busses. There needs to be more parent involvement than just a signed Progress Report for students with a 69 or lower in their class, most of these notes are forged and never seen by a parent. If I had a choice, my children would NOT attend this school.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

214 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2013.

215 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
65%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 89% in 2012.

200 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

209 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 60% in 2013.

208 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 77% in 2012.

210 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 65% in 2013.

201 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 59%
Native American 25% 16%
Black 5% 9%
Hispanic 4% 14%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Source: State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 150%N/A61%
Special education 212%N/A15%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

30080 Highway 51
Coweta, OK 74429
Phone: (918) 486-2127

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Oneta Ridge Middle School
Broken Arrow, OK


Childers Middle School
Broken Arrow, OK




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT