Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Northwest Elementary School

Public | PK-3

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 6, 2012

Northwest is a year behind other area schools. The teaching staff tends to do whatever they choose from allowing bullying in the classroom to texting during recess duty rather than being attentive to the children. There are some diamonds in the rough there, but there are definitely some teachers to avoid.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2009

Northwest could use a update! I have two children at Northwest and a third on her way. We love the school and the staff. Every teacher at that school cares about the children themselves, as well as their education. The new principal, Mr. Lock, is wonderful. They could not ask for a better leader. We are proud to attend this school and you would love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2006

My son came from TPS schools and since he has been at Northwest Elementary he done great he had Mrs Hamilton in 1st grade and Mrs Gilreath in 2nd and ii would not trade them for the world it is a good school and my kids will stay here
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2006

My daughter transferred here from Tahlequah schools. She has been here about 5 weeks. There is rarly student-teacher interaction. My daughter does not bore easily, but seems to be here. Please try to focus on the children, and not what everyone else might want you guys to do. It is possiable to follow regulations and have a great accademic program for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2005

My son transferred to this school from Broken Arrow. Not only is the academic program a year behind but there is not a lot of classroom 'stimulation' at all. He is bored and getting into trouble. It is not the worst school but it definately could use some major improvements.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2005

This is my daughter's first year at Northwest Elementary and on top of it she transferred in mid year. She feels comfortable and the transition worked out great, no problems at all. Her teacher is Mrs. Robertson (K). She is very excited about going to school and really enjoys her teacher and friends. The only thing I believe would be nice is all day Kindergarten. That is what my daughter is use to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2005

Good school, But needs to check into Indoor air quaility for mold.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2004

Having been a former teacher and having an elementary principal certificate,I would give Northwest Elementary an excellent rating. My son has had two extremely professional teachers, Ms. Walton and Mrs. Hamilton. They have ensured my son attained the skills he needed to succeed in the next level. I know teachers don't receive enough in pay, but the rewards are tremendous and I thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2004

Our daughter went to K & is now in 1st grade at N.W. Elementary. So far she has had two great teachers. Ms. Walton, her first year was great. Our daughter just loved her. Now in 2nd grade she has Mrs. Hamilton who is just wonderful. Our daughter loves Mrs. Hamilton and talks about her all the time. It will be hard for anyone to measure up to these two fine teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

After experiencing Coweta Public Schools from K-12 firsthand, I can honestly say that Northwest Elementary is the only good quality school in the town. The teachers are first rate and two of them really stood out all around, Ms. Gilbert and Mr. Green. Nowadays the school could stand some broader extracurricular activities and better security, but overall this is a first rate school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 59%
Native American 26% 16%
Hispanic 7% 14%
Black 2% 9%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 40%N/A61%
Special education 18%N/A15%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

26954 East 131st South
Coweta, OK 74429
Phone: (918) 486-6559

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Highland Park Elementary
Broken Arrow, OK



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT