Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Del City High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 26, 2012

I really like D.C. High. Love the Faculty! Student Council is out standing, so is Natn'l Honor Society, and the counceling dept . helps tremendously with Act/sat paperwork and college Apps. Also, the Band director and staff as well as the Coaches are great. The students appear to have respect for each other.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2010

Rules change from student to student, for example, one student may get 3 days of in school restrictions and others may sever 3 hours and get out for good behavior. As a teacher myself, I see that certain students are being used to make examples out of. The new 'leadership' is lacking....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2008

DCHS is the best school. it gives us the liberty to be who we are (there is no uniforms here) but it also teaches us how to be a family. I am in band and everyone there loves one onother. We are not seperated by cliques nor race. We are a family striving to try our best. We are Del City High's Pride.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 20, 2007

i love this i am a mother of two children @del city high this is wonderful
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2007

my son was a junior last year and he came from another school and at first he didnt like it but when I talked to the councillor and the teachers with my son things turned out to be good with him he loves it. Teachers are great, majority of all staff members are wonderful. They really seem to care about their students education. I could tell you alot more about this school but I will have to save it for some other time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2007

The school is pretty good. I think that some of students just sit around and do nothing until they realize that they are failing. Then teachers to whatever they can to help that student pass.(Which is a good thing.) I love it that the teachers teach many things that are not in the books, thus students learn more.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 7, 2006

The school is pretty good the counsalors are also really good trying to get evrybody to graduate and hopefully to go to colage. music and sprots are now part of school you will take it as a corss.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 1, 2006

In my personal opinion from having attended Mid-Del schools; Del City has the higher quality of academic programs then of the other high schools. The programs themselves seemed to be better thought-about,launched & ran, and also the level of participation from students seemed to be higher. There is no shortage of activities at Del City.There is an activity for everyone and anyone looking for their own passions or looking to start something new and maybe even meet others that share similar interests.There are varying classes and extracurricular activities that include music,art, and sports. Parental involvement is strongly encouraged at Del City .The administrators as well as the staff keep you well informed about your child's progress on their road to education.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 1, 2006

Unlike other schools you hear about how every 'clique' like the cheerleaders,athletes,geeks, and so on. At Del City everyone hangs out with everyone. There isnt groups of kids who are any diffrent then anyone else. All the teachers here are wonderful they are always willing to help you even if it means staying after school with you or going to 'encore' which means they will only have 1/2 of a lunch. Del City High is the best school ever !
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 17, 2005

Lots of opportunities for the students to get involved. The teachers usually will put in extra work to help a student bring grades up, if the student is willing. It's one of the most diverse schools in the state.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 19, 2003

This is the best school there is.


Posted April 29, 2003

This is a great school!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 84% in 2012.

275 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
56%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 77% in 2012.

201 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
63%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 79% in 2012.

307 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
73%
English II

The state average for English II was 88% in 2012.

259 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
75%
English III

The state average for English III was 92% in 2012.

206 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
80%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 87% in 2012.

275 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2009.

375 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2009.

322 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
67%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 77% in 2012.

193 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests End-of-Instruction (OCCT EOI) exams to test students in high school in several subjects. The OCCT EOI is a high school graduation requirement. The OCCT EOI exams are standards-based tests, which means they measure specific skills defined for each subject by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 42% 10%
White 38% 54%
Hispanic 8% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 7% 17%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 2%
Two or more races 3% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 60%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1900 South Sunnylane Rd
Del City, OK 73115
Phone: (405) 677-5777

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Destiny Christian School
Oklahoma City, OK


Crooked Oak High School
Oklahoma City, OK


Midwest City High School
Midwest City, OK


Douglass High School
Oklahoma City, OK


Santa Fe South High School
Oklahoma City, OK


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT