Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Townsend Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 28, 2011

My grandson goes to Townsend Elementary & I wouldn't change that for a second! This is a school with a staff of professionals who truly care about each child. They go above & beyond in order to guide each child in a positive direction. The principal is an amazing man! The students really look up to him as a positive role model. He will never compromise his integrity & he will make sure to set the record straight if a child seems to lose his/her way. He doesn't put up with nonsense & I love that! My grandsons Pre-K teacher is just incredible! She takes their learning skills to a whole new level. She expects the best & I can't believe how much my grandson has learned already. She's dedicated & does go above & beyond for her students! I have twin granddaughters who will by little Townsend Tigers soon & I we will proudly send them to school knowing they are in the best of hands. Proud to be Townsend Tigers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2011

I have two boys that goto this school one in kindergarden and one in first and we love it the teachers are awesome. And they work with the parents to make sure we are all doing whats needed for our chidren to succeed in the class room and in the world
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

great school from top to bottom. hate to have to leave next year. have loved every min at townsend and my daughter is better because of the love and attention she has recieved from the whole school . thank you all and we will miss you so much
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2009

My son went to Townsend for Kinder. and we LOVED it!! A GREAT school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

They teach phonetics. Both my kids went there and learned to read easily.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2008

I choose to remain close to Townsend because of the wonderful atmosphere and the support system the educators have created for the students. The office administrators and Mr. Holland are all amazing and helpful as well and you can see the geniune care they have for each and every student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2008

My daughter has been going here for 2 years and I couldn't be happier. Great teachers, great principal! Wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2007

My daughter went to this school and she loved it. She loved her teacher because she was nice and very concerned. When I went to go and pick up my kids I would see the principal outside before and after school. The staff and teachers are very involved with the students. I could list so many good things about this school. I only wish my daughter could stay in this school. The one thing that surprised me about her teacher was she called me at home because my daughter wasn't eating her lunch and she was concerned about her not learning because she might be hungry later. My daughter learned a lot and she has really blossomed through the school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2004

All three of my children have attended Townsend. The teachers as well as the principal place the children first. The teachers work as a team for the students. If a teacher is not reaching the student, another teacher steps in to try a new avenue. Children are blessed to be a part of Townsend Elementry.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

57 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2012.

57 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
80%

2009

 
 
91%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

52 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2012.

52 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
84%

2009

 
 
92%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

50 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
84%

2009

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2012.

50 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
78%

2009

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 91% in 2012.

50 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 77% in 2012.

50 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

47 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 46% 54%
Black 26% 10%
Hispanic 11% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 8% 17%
Two or more races 5% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 82%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

S.E. 40th and Epperly
Del City, OK 73115
Phone: (405) 671-8680

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Oakridge Elementary School
Oklahoma City, OK


Destiny Christian School
Oklahoma City, OK




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT