Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
4 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Emerson Elementary School 4

Posted May 30, 2015
- a community member
From what I've experienced very good. The principal worked with the parents of our grandson as he was struggling with misbehaving on the playground. They worked until they got it solved. Yay for them.

Emerson Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 30, 2015
- a community member
Mrs. Edge & Mrs Gonzales AWESOME, caring, consistent teachers. Couldn't ask for better. Office staff is good as well.

Emerson Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 30, 2015
- a community member
I'm not the one who does homework with them. So I'd not know that really.

Emerson Elementary School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted May 30, 2015
- a community member
I hope they do. Determination is so important, persistence. Seems children can be determined & persistent when they want something.

Emerson Elementary School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted May 30, 2015
- a community member
I think they work hard to do this. Again, more support from family members to teach respect & the order of things. I'm the parent, you are the child. They are the teachers in authority of that classroom, you are the students. Their job is to teach, yours is to listen & learn. Some how we've given the children the reins before we've given them the lessons to help them make good decisions. I say again, Emerson works hard to do this.

Emerson Elementary School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted May 30, 2015
- a community member
I think they work very hard to do that. Often need more parental support to keep that uppermost in their minds

Emerson Elementary School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted May 30, 2015
- a community member
I've visited the classes & school programs. I'm very impressed with the behavior of the students.

Emerson Elementary School 4

Posted April 16, 2008
- a parent
I have two daughters in this school and I love it. The teachers are wonderful and know most if not all the kids by name. Which says alot because it is the largest elementary school in Duncan. I would prefer Emerson over the others because I believe the teachers are very dedicated to their students. I have only good things to say about Emerson Elementary! Keep up the great work Mrs. Spaulding and faculty.

Emerson Elementary School 4

Posted January 06, 2008
- a parent
I think the school is a very nice school for kids and for my childs first years it was a wonderful learning experience. However over the last 2 years 4th and 5th grade I would say they seem to be not hiring as many quality teachers as they did before. They do have computer probrams to work on but I'm not sure why they have received a 4 rating out of 10. It must be because they combined many other schools in with Emerson making it larger school. I think it was a better school before they made it so large.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Emerson Elementary School
1200 West Hickory Avenue, Duncan, OK  73533
(580) 255-7146
Last modified Emerson Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Emerson Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top